We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be the best value hotel in Athens”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't be too put off by this hotel being a little outside of Athens true centre - it is only two stops on the easy to understand metro or a 25 minute walk. It might not be the nicest part of town either but we always felt safe. And it is worth it as Centrotel was one of the nicest places we'd stayed at an absolutely amazing low price - only 50 euros per night. The rooms were very clean, had comfortable beds and well-stocked bathrooms. And the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. If it is value you're looking for, you can't go pass this place

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Slightly nicer than Plaka Hotel, but Plaka Hotel has a much better location. We got out and walked a bit here, this area was scarier (Im female) from my perspective. I preferred being closer to the Plaka area. We stayed here just one night before going to Mykonos island. It was a great layover room-very clean, big balconies. I'd recommend it highly for 1 or 2 nights. But to really experience the tourist areas you want to be a little closer than where this hotel is.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2012 with a group of friends. The hotel is very clean and modern. Staff was helpfull and friendly. It is close to 2 metro stations. The hotel is great value for money. Just buy a daypass with which you get access to all busses, trams and metro for 24 hours, costing €4, and you are good to go

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel in a part of town that allows you to walk/bus to most places without being in the "tourist" part of town. It's more in the immigrant part of the city, according to the taxi driver, but we enjoyed experiencing Athens from a non-Greek local's point of view.
Evi, the evening desk clerk was the most helpful staff person that went way beyond her required responsibilities to ensure a true local experience. Her recommendations of food/restaurants, knowledge of how to get us around without having to hop in a taxi were amazing. The rooms were kept very clean and it was a pleasant atmosphere. Recommend the chocolate ice cream/dessert for room service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 855journeyWme855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a great stay at Centrotel. The staff could not have been more friendly or efficient. The room was large and well furnished. It was spotlessly clean. Facilities included a jacuzzi bath, mood lighting, TV and wifi in the room, a balcony, a fridge. It is near to Victoria metro station so very convenient for sightseeing. I would not stay anywhere else in Athens on future trips.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is absolutely a hotel worth to consider.
Best priced, well-maintained hotel, excellent staff and a nice breakfast. I will recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Felt like i got my money's worth. Deserves its rank on the rating

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canonall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here on our first night before we started our cruise. I choose it for value but was so impressed with the hotel. The staff were fantastic and friendly offering lots of information. The foyer was seemingly new and spacious and resembled some 4 star hotels I've stayed in. Our room was upgraded to a suite...I have no reason why but I was grateful none the less. The bed was a little low to the floor and I have slept in more comfortable beds but nothing too major. The bathroom was clean and newly decorated. As we arrived in the evening and left early the next day I can't comment on the food or area.
A free code for WiFi was a welcome addition. A strike was due the next day but our ever resourceful and friendly receptionist could organise a private cab to the port. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TnM_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#48 of 281 in Athens
302 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 281 in Athens
1,384 reviews
Marble House
#18 of 281 in Athens
712 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#61 of 281 in Athens
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $45 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing