We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great hotel”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel only for a night. Even though, the immediate area is not looking good the hotel itself is fantastic. Very clean, large room, friendly staff, and value for money. It's very easy to get to, as Victoria station is just down the road.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank liverpoolCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    407
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
171
662
87
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 40 Euro/night in October for great ultra-modern double with jacuzzi and balcony, no breakfast. Service was fantastic, they allowed us to store luggage and leave for a night for Meteora, despite a non-refundable rate. 500 meters from Larissa train station and near archeological museum. Good wi-fi, laptops in lobby.
Have stayed in Athens before; nieghborhood looks seedy but is perfectly safe. Bit of a walk (2 km) to Monastiraki and between metro stations, but fantastc value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelindave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Québec
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Location is not perfect as you are mostly in the business part of town but you are still just a 20 minutes’ walk away from a metro station that will lead you anywhere you want to go. Our room was great (spacious, comfortable beds, nice bathroom) and people at the front desk were nice and helpful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in mid Sept 2012 based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel was always clean and all the staff were helpful, this was great value for money. As far as we were concerned the location was fine, 5 mins walk to the Metro and only 1 or 2 stops to tourist areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was really positively surprised by this hotel. We had booked single rooms but were offered a free upgrade to double rooms on arrival, the check-in was quick and simple. The room was great with a balcony, massive comfortable bed, fridge, spa bath, safe. It was all very clean with a couple of english channels on the TV in the evening.

A number of reviews have commented on the surrounding area- it is a busy multicultural area, with many people hanging out in the streets and local square by Victoria station in the evening. To start i did feel a little intimadated but got used to the area and the locals got used to us- we were there 7nights and had no problem at all.

Victoria metro station is within 5minutes walk which is convieniant for all main areas and attractions within Athens - you can be more or less anywhere within 15/20minutes.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and helped us out in navigating our way through Athens - even phoning our places of work for us and making sure we would find them. Thank you!

I would stay at the Centrotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Centrotel Athens for 1 night in October pre-cruise. The hotel was excellent value for money - extremely clean, friendly staff and the rooms were spacious. We were upgraded to a better room with a balcony on the 5th floor which was nice. The front desk staff could not have been nicer - always welcoming us into the hotel and providing advice on where to go for dinner, lunch, providing walking directions, and even telling us areas to avoid due to the ongoing protests in the city. The room and bathroom was spotless, shower had amazing water pressure (very nice after a long interational flight and spending a whole day roaming Athens!). The only downside to the hotel was the beds - a bit hard for my liking. They would be fine for a few nights, but maybe not if you were staying for a week or longer. This is the only reason I rated the hotel 4 stars instead of 5.

As for the area - the hotel is NOT located in the main tourist hubs, but we never felt unsafe in the area. There were lots of locals out and about in the evening, including children playing in the nearby square. I probably wouldn't feel 100% comfortable wandering the streets very late at night by myself, but with my husband in the evening it was totally fine. It is close to 2 subway stations, but if you don't mind a walk (we love walking around cities, find it is the best way to really see them) it took us about 30 minutes to walk to the Acropolis from the hotel. Nearby to the hotel, there is a nice square (Victoria Square) which is where Victoria Subway Station is located. In the square there are a bunch of nice cafe's - we ended up having breakfast at a bakery near the square and some evening snacks at a restaurant that had an open grill where they would grill you either pork or chicken souvlaki.

We took the subway from the Airport to the hotel - we had to change subway lines once and got off at Larissa Subway Station and walked to the hotel from there. I do not recommend doing this if you have multiple suitcases - we only had one between the two of us and my husband struggled to drag it through the very cramped streets (cramped meaning cars parked even on the corners of intersections). Not great, but not that big of a deal with one suitcase, but I wouldn't try it with two. After our stay at the hotel, we dragged our suitcase to Victoria Station (Green Line) to Piraeus to embark the ship. I would recommend taking a cab if possible, as the walk from Piraeus Station to where our ship was docked was very long, especially with a heavy suitcase.

To summarize the location issue, if you want to be in the hub of the tourist district (like Plaka), do not stay at this hotel. If you are OK with a bit of a walk or a quick subway ride and want to save some cash - this is an excellent, clean option in a less toursity and more local area of central Athens. I would definitely stay at the Centrotel Hotel again next time I am in Athens!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with spacious rooms. Good service - they serve breakfast in the room which I find rare in European hotels. Only drawback is the location. While its 2-3 stations away from the 'touristy' spots, the neighborhood doesn't feel safe. Nothing untoward happened but didnt feel entirely safe especially post 1030-11 pm. If the neighborhood could somehow be improved, the hotel would have no drawbacks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KapilSharma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#46 of 326 in Athens
299 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,345 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#64 of 326 in Athens
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing