We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money, and best staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best value for money, and best staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Centrotel and we really enjoyed our stay!
The staff is very welcoming, available and helpful, rooms are great and clean, bathrooms are wonderful, and we enjoyed a balcony.
Even if the surrounding does not provide much touristic interest, it is quite and with easy access to most interesting places in Athens.
We could not expect more from this hotel, it was really above our expectations, and the value for money can’t be better.
If you’re looking for a wonderful and affordable hotel, do not hesitate, you found it!
Clémence from France

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clémence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    394
    83
    17
    10
See reviews for
162
645
83
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I am a current customer sraying at this hotel. The condition of the hotel is in excellent shape. The staff is very cheerful and helpful. WiFi is very good and free. I have been coming staying in Athens for years. This hotel is a real find. As with staying a any city you need to be aware of your surroundings. Keep in mind that once you enter the hotel you feel you are in a little urban oasis. I cannot comment on the breakfast or food. I have not tried.

Room Tip: back rooms are very quiet, but keep window closed, no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT1_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Clean, very spacious and comfortable room with balcony, we even got an upgrade to a room that has got a bubble bath.

Reception staff is genuinely friendly and very helpful - great experience with the female night receptionist who was so friendly when we arrived yesterday in the middle of the night after a long journey.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joepeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I live in and travel Europe every week and I absolutely loved this hotel! The staff is super nice and accommodating. The hotel looks brand new like it's been renovated lately. Very nice lobby, sitting area, and dining area. The room was nice with a balcony and jacuzzi tub. Big bathroom! The bed was a bit hard, that's my only complaint. Our lower backs hurt each morning. The breakfast is excellent and well worth the 7 euro!

The neighborhood is a tad seedy. Lots of graffiti all over Athens, like in Rome, but there was some true artistic talent near the hotel! The people in general are very nice. Sure, some stare if you look different. I did notice a lot staring at my Coach bag so I didn't carry it after that and it was fine...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here with friends in April, but had pre-booked accomodation elsewhere in a more convenient location in Athens for two further visits in May. After seeing how poorly the accomodation we had booked compared with centrotel we quickly cancelled and returned to Centrotel, considering that it quite likely represents the best value for money in Athens.

The area around the hotel is pretty ordinary, but once you step through the door the facilities and service are first class. All reception staff were very friendly and helpful, for example following up on the current opening hours of some museums we wanted to visit and then promptly ringing us to pass the info on. Extra luggage was securely stored for us free of charge for the week that we spent out on the islands. Our standard room was spacious and very comfortable, with balcony and hydro-jet bath. We enjoyed the breakfast that was available for €7, considering it tasty, filling and further excellent value for money.

Larissa station is only a 5-10 minute walk away for cheap travel around Athens on the Metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel was absolutely brilliant value - it was a beautiful hotel. Whilst the rooms weren't the size of a typical 4 star standard hotel, they were still quite large. But this was made up for with a room that had mood changing lights inbuilt into the roof, a hydro massage bath, a large balcony, free waters in room, free dressing gowns, toothbrushes and toothpastes. The location is less than five mins walk from Larissis metro which goes to Syntagma square. The area around the hotel is quite run down but the hotel itself is wonderful. We didn't have breakfast but it's only 7.50 and we were told it was a huge breakfast that could feed two. Reasonable priced roomservice. Overall amazing value hotel that is very understated at 2 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tag1984_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Though I haven't stayed in any other Athens hotels, this one would seem to be one of the best deals out there. Three of us stayed here for four nights, and the room was quite spacious, very clean, extremely quiet (up here on the 6th floor) and beautiful to boot. Free wifi and a swish bathroom made it even harder to move on to our next destination. And not located too near the Plaka or Acropolis - though easy enough to walk to or take the metro (2 stops) - so much less touristy and cheaper meals can be found closeby. Relatively close to the can't miss Archaeology Muesum, which even my 11 year old appreciated. Would stay here again without a doubt if chance or soft winds brings us back again. Oh, and the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Marble House
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#37 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing