We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I rarely meet so kind and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Pergamos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Pergamos
Ranked #148 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Pergamos few days ago, and I was impressed how friendly and helpful was the staff:they are speaking good English , they explained me on the map everything was interesting me in Athena,historic places, where to do shopping.A big thank you again! I left at 6.30 in the morning ,before the breakfast timetable but they could offer a cafe or a tea. The room was clean,-excepting one small carpet-, also the bathroom was very very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pergamos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Pergamos for 2 nights in July 2012. We arrived at 6am in the morning after an overnight ferry from Ios.. feeling exhausted and dirty we were so thankful when they allowed us to check into our room as soon as the cleaner attended to it which was at 9am! I have never been to a hotel that has allowed you to check in that early! The service was fantastic the whole stay.
The rooms weren't too big but the cleanliness, comfy bed & good working fridge made up for it.
Breakfast was included... Was very minimal but just enough to get you started for the day.
The only let down for this hotel is its dodgy location. It's around the Omonia Square area... Lots of prostitutes, drug users, and intimidating people. I would recommend that unless you are traveling as a group, avoid the streets after dark. And I wouldn't recommend families to stay here. It's about a 20min walk to the Akropolis.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qld1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chose Pergamos for its price and location close to Larissa Train Station as we had a late arrival there. We read reviews saying the area wasn't the best so were fully aware of that before we booked it. Despite this knowledge I was surprised at just how bad the area was, I would never of stayed there had I been a solo female or even a few girls travelling alone. On a brighter note the hotel was excellent value for money with very nice clean rooms. (Very noisy lift though!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Me and my partner stopped two nights. The location is a little disturbing but not too bad, the staff were very friendly and helpful, answering any questions we had and speaking good English. The hotel was very clean and tidy apart from 3 little Beatles that had took refuge in our room. The breakfast was basic but nice all the same. Hot shower, decent size room with safe and fridge. 5 min walk from Omonia square. Excellent value for money for any body on a low budget journey. The directions are good but the hotel is a short walk to your right at the end of the road, its not on the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently returned from a trip to Greece and Turkey and could not have been more pleased with the staff at this hotel. The airline had lost my son's luggage with all of his cloths. We did not have a phone that worked outside the US to contact the airlines to track it down. Manelos (spelling?), Jona(again, not sure how to spell it), and Nick made repeated efforts to call the airports, airlines, and lost luggage departments to help us track it down. They we're just as upset about as we were. Manelos was awesome! Jona and Nick were concerned for us and caring and all three helped make a stressful situation less frustrating with their kindness.

The room was small and serviceable. The shower was indeed small but we really did not have a problem with it. The neighborhood did seem to put other reviewers off but aside from graffiti on some of the nearby buildings, it seemed fine. Our room had a small balcony that overlooked a very small park across the street and at night there were all sorts of people around the area. Pleaple walked their dogs, men in suits and ties caught the bus, people stopped and had a short rest. If there were shady things going on, we did not see anything.

The location was good because even with my arthritis, it was a five minute walk from the metro and there were several buses that stop right outside the hotel (though we did not us them). There were small stores nearby to get soda or snacks and a sandwich place 2 doors down (not really sandwiches, sufflocky- a shaved meat pita).

We were blown away with the kindness of the staff and would highly recommend this hotel. Manelos, if you are reading this, monkey says Hello. Allen and I would like to thank you all for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Not so much about a good room, but bring a washcloth. Most European hotels don't have them,but h...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

we were at low-budjet trip in athens 8 days. we decided to stay at pergamos hotel, because the small price and fair good reviews. We decide to take taxi at airport to pergamos hotel, it costed about 30euros and the time to get there was about 30mins. You can see clearly that the place at Omonia isnt the best, but hey, do you really stay at your hotel all the time? We left at morning to watch places and came back before the evening came. about after 9pm the area gets bit creepy (prostitutes, drug dealers etc.) but never nothing happened to us. Just act cool and walk the straightest way to hotel before it gets too dark and you'll be fine.
The breakfast was very good to think the price, it was buffet breakfast included tea,coffee, orange juice, two types of cereals, cold and hot milk, toast, white bread, boiled eggs, two types of marmelade, ham, cheese.
The room was very good again to think the hotels price, very good beds, a small balcony, new tv, fridge, safety box, hair dryer, air -conditioning small toilet and shower. ( we read the other rewiews, why everyone complains about small shower and toilets, c'mon!!!) but yeah, room was small but the idea wasnt to stay at hotel on holiday..... Rooms are cleaned every day, new sheets and new towels. :) you can hear at night voices of the other rooms etc. but then you can buy earplugs if it bothers you, it didnt bother us.
The hotels staff was the NICEST PERSONS WE HAVE EWER KNOWN. <3 many many thanks to them when they helped us lot of things, they let us watch hockey games at computers, ordered us a taxi, helped us to get metrostation, recomended us foodplaces, everything! my boyfriend got very sick at last days, they were very worried about him so they helped to find pharmacy witch was opened at night and called us to room that is everything okay. Not many hotels wouldnt do that!
So, after all, we loved this hotel. It is very good to people who isnt bother so many "small things" like us. If you are very scared of real life what happens at night, then dont go out at night. If you dont like this hotels buffet breakfast then dont eat. If you cant stand small price hotels rooms/people etc. then go to expensive hotel, but then dont complain about a price.Live, love, laugh! :)

Room Tip: we slept at room 603, its far from elevator and the balcony is at the "back street" so i t...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A cheap, budget hotel that (as many have mentioned) is in an 'interesting' part the city, but we quickly learned to stick to the main streets when walking to and from the hotel and therefore avoided any problems. We never used the metro (fairly close) but chose to walk to all the sights we wanted to see, for example the Acropolis was an easy 15-20 minute walk away and we only paid 5 euro for a taxi to take us to the intercity bus terminal for our onward travels through Greece.

Room was clean overall but the shower floods the bathroom and the bed was quite hard. As we were on the top floor we could easily hear the loud noises of the elevator motors running all night which kept us awake, so avoid the 7th floor if possible. Breakfast was very average, processed cheese, bread, jam, hard boiled eggs, cordial type juice - overall it wasn't very nice. But for less than 30 Euros a night including breakfast and WiFi one can't complain too much.

Staff were helpful and friendly, offering to call the bus terminal to confirm times for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cros033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Moka
#125 of 282 in Athens
172 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#113 of 282 in Athens
323 reviews
Hotel Neos Olympos
#191 of 282 in Athens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#141 of 282 in Athens
194 reviews
Hotel Aristoteles
#203 of 282 in Athens
612 reviews
Hotel Semeli
#103 of 282 in Athens
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pergamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pergamos

Address: 14 Acharnon | Vathis Square, Athens 104 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $32 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pergamos 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pergamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergamos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing