We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Minoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Minoa
Ranked #131 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Totally Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We walked into this hotel without a reservation and were able to get a room right away for 2 nights. They do not have non-smoking rooms, but our room didn't smell too bad. There was a tiny balcony onto a busy street, and even with the window closed, there was street noise. The A/C was noisy too. Breakfast was good, in a non-air-conditioned room in the adjacent coffee bar. Laundry is 1 Euro per item. The staff was friendly. Overall, the hotel was acceptable... not bad, but not exceptional. The neighborhood was so-so. There is a metro stop a few blocks away to take you to the nicer areas.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    84
    68
    13
    9
See reviews for
36
81
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

The rooms were a bit cheaply furnished considering the prize they were asking, bathroom was quite small, the safe in the room was not functioning (battery was dead) and all the goathangers were missing. The recectionist and all the others were very friendly and doing their best but the problem is the area towards the Omonia square since the streets are crowded with drug addicts and dealers. If you choose to stay in this hotel, use the Metaxourgio subwaystation (red line) which is closer than Omonia and lies in a safer area

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

thought the night desk man was great - we arrived past 1am, and when looking for a night cap - he got us beer, and didn't charge us the rate from cafe... he was helpful the 2nd night as well when we were booking ferries to greek islands - offering us lots of information and contacts. the area isn't the best - we saw an attempted robbery thwarted. i wouldn't stay here if i were solo, or with a group of younger women... but for the price, it was good value. AC worked, the beds were clean, fridge in room, WIFI in the lobby...

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank two_canadians_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

Very friendly, nice hotel, perfect reseption service

  • Liked — very friendly family hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frank35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.0 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#37 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#114 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nafsika
Hotel Nafsika
#235 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#223 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#103 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minoa

Property: Hotel Minoa
Address: 12 Karolou | Corner of Karolou & Akrominatou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minoa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Minoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing