We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a massage chair in the lobby.”
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #131 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed January 9, 2011

All you need to know about the Apollo hotel is that there is a massage chair in the lobby. This massage chair is free, and hardly used. It is new, and spectacular.

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Apollo while sightseeing in Athens, and enjoyed the hotel thoroughly.

It is located a block away from Metaxiourgio (or something) Metro station. The area outside of a 2 block radius is not ideal, but we had no trouble and felt very safe around this hotel and walking to and from the metro. We had friends staying at a hotel about 4 blocks away and it was an extremely rough area, but Apollo is fine don't worry. Over one block is a restaurant called Alexander the Great. It's decent, but the best food can be bought from the Gyro stand place next door, and for far far less money. Also, you can order any restaurant favourites you have from the stand as they both share the same kitchen.

Our room was on the top floor and had a balcony with a partial view of the acropolis and a full view of an intersection. I thought it would be loud but it was quite serene with the doors closed. There is a heater in the room and while the shower takes a while to heat up it gets warm enough. The room was of moderate size, had a safe, was clean and had the standard "European Double" (two single beds pushed together). There was a TV also.

The breakfast was odd but fine. Peaches and yogurt was my favourite, however if meat, cheese, buns, cereal, or toast is more your fancy then you are in luck my friend. Also they had some juice but the coffee was...eccentric. Be warned: the breakfast is slated until 9.30 which means the food is removed, all the food, at 9.30 sharp. Also the coffee was removed but I saw that as a plus.

The front desk staff are very helpful and speak excellent English. There is no secure luggage storage. There is apparently a rooftop patio but the door was always locked. There is wireless internet for free, and a computer with a printer.

However, in spite of all these points the most important factor you should consider when choosing the Apollo hotel is there is a massage chair in the lobby. This means each time you return from dinner, sightseeing, breakfast, an elevator ride, you can have an awesome massage. Yes it is that good.

Definitely recommend for the budget conscious traveller to Athens.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grrraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 669 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

I had 10 days of dream in Athens. The hotel is close to the Metro, Supermarket, coffee, bus and the staff was great helping me to find the best places to visit.
The View to the Acroplis at nigth was Great.
I left the hotel happy and ready to return with my son.
Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimosa528758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Found the staff friendly, courteous and helpful, the room clean and equipped
with everything required. Indeed this hotel was much better than some of the more
expensive ones I stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We were at this hotel for four days in October and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is a classic one, not too fancy, but the people were fantastic, always willing to help you, giving maps and advice , the food for breakfast was alost perfect, lacking only some salad bar,
The room was small, clean, but the view was fantastic, from our balcony we could for hours sit and watch the partenon not so far away.
also. the otel is situated very near to the metro sation, so we could either walk to syntagma square, in 15 miutes, or take metro in 5 , litterally 5 minutes to the center of Athens.
One has to be rather careful when entering mtero, for there are everywher not only at Omonia square, people who steel, but , if you are carefull everything is easy and well.
At the hotel, at the terrace on the last floor one can for hours sit and watch the sunset and the Parthenon in front of you. It wasa really nice and pleasant stay there
The room was cleaned every day, the bathroom was not stylish , but ev erything as quite nice
At the reception area there is a PC for use for free and that was really nice to let your people at home that everything was all right
I would recommand yhis otel for budget ttraveller, ot for the people who are looking for expencive hotels, for ths hotel may be is not like GRANDE bRETAGNE BUT IT WAS FOR ME A HIDDEN GEM

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamarakanarev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The Apollo Hotel is in an easy location to find, about a minutes walk from the metro station. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful with maps, directions, booking tours and any other things we needed. There is even a massage chair in the lobby to help you relax after a long day of sight seeing!
The sound proof windows really kept the street noise out, which was very impressive because Athens is noisy. We were very impressed with the breakfast spread, which had a great variety every morning. The rooms are very basic and beds have firm mattresses, but considering how cheap it was to stay there, it didn't matter to us. We always had hot water and there is an empty fridge in each room in case you want to buy food or bring home left overs.
If you are traveling on a tight budget then we would highly recommend the Apollo Hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The Apollo Hotel has two main attributes; the views from the rooftop terrace bar and the staff. Rooms are adequate and have all the amenities. Showers will supposedly be updated soon. Breakfast could use some variety, but at least the coffee was hot (unlike other places I stayed in Greece). Atop the hotel is a terrace bar, and some of the best views of the Acropolis can be found whilst sipping your favorite cocktail or having a snack. Joanna was a superb bartender/chef! Downstairs at the main desk, Marian and Effie take very good care of the guests. They are knowledgable tour guides, really pleasant to chat with, and they made my stay at the Apollo Hotel very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordyJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Quite old hotel, in need of renovation. Staff was okay. Room was spacious but the bed was uncomfortable, good air conditioning. Breakfast was okay.
There was a little restaurant called The Cave nearby this hotel on Psaron street. It was great! =) The food was good and very simple, restaurant was constantly full of locals and some tourists. Funny, charming little place.
Location was bad because the staff warned us not to walk the small streets but even the street leading to Omonia (Agiou Konstantinou) was crowded by drug users even during the day!!! They were doing drugs right there on the street! Use metro to go to the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Katerina Hotel
#34 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#84 of 282 in Athens
721 reviews
Achillion Hotel
#108 of 282 in Athens
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#74 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Victory Inn
#54 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: 10 Achilleos Street | Metaxourghio Square, Athens 104 36, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $41 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing