We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Descent hotel, poor sound isolation, no wi-fi”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #145 of 325 Hotels in Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Descent hotel, poor sound isolation, no wi-fi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed one week in May 2014. The hotel was neat and the breakfast ok. She staff was very friendly and helpful. Long minus must be given for the poor wi-fi connections in everywhere at hotel, in spite of it was advertised that wi-fi should be available at hotel. The location near Acropolis and metro station was handy, and the Hop On -Hop off -bus stop was around the corner,

Room Tip: Higher floors are near to the Sky Bar to see the view to Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Päivi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    247
    195
    55
    51
See reviews for
110
266
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

+ close to the underground station and main attractions, good view from our room, breakfast ok.
- wifi works only at the ground level and connection isn't great, strong noise from the street and bad sound isolation,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel_PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome hotel. Some staff are brilliant lady in reception ordered me am pizza takeaway. Breakfast ia good. The location is superb. I walked most places from hotel and everything only 10/15 minutes away. The hop on hop off bus is brilliant 18 euro for 2 days and only round corner from hotel. Would recommend this hotel. The only downside was rooftop bar and restaurant wasn't open yet but you can still go up in the evening view of the acropolis is amazing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank abrenda942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Based on the reviews and pictures it looks like a normal hotel to stay at, but it isn't. The first floor looks okay, but when you get to the room it looks like you are back in 1950's. After arriving there our first thought was that "No way we can stay here for a week".

We booked a triple room, but actually it was a double room with an extra bed that was meant for a child, not for an adult. The bed was super uncomfortable and bed sheets weren't soft. There wasn't even a blanket in the bed! There was some kind of built in wardrobe, where were some blankets that were just thrown in there, not folded nicely.

Bathroom was small and there were little bugs running on the floor! Also, the shower head was broken.

Moreover, the whole room was super dark and one light bulb was missing. Room smelled like smoke, because you can smoke everywhere. Even the receptionist smoked behind the table. There was a burn mark in the phone, made with a cigarette.

There was said that there will be an espresso machine in the room, but there wasn't!

Room had a balcony, but it opened to the street, that was very, very noisy. There was no chance to get some sleep, because other visitors were running around the hotel, knocking on the doors and screaming!

The location was okay, because the metro station was very close, but other than that it was crazy! People looked very scary there and this part of the city didn't look safe.

The breakfast was okay, but nothing very special. Only good thing they had was WIFI, nothing else was good.

We ended up leaving this hotel the next morning and it was a good decision.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, you can get much better and newer place for the same price!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just returned from a city break in Athens. We stayed at this city hotel whitch was centrally located and near the metro station, indeed all the major attractions were all but a tube journey away. Round the corner from the hotel you could also find the hop on/off city sightseeing tour bus stop.
The hotel itself was nothing special to look at and is situated on a busy road so expect some traffic noise. The rooms were in reasonable condition a bit on the small side but clean. Towels were changed daily.
Breakfast was included and consisted of tea/coffee, juice ,cereals scrambled or boiled eggs neat and cheese and bread and cake, there was also some lovely greek yogurt with fruit and honey.
The staff were all friendly and welcoming and always had a smile for you.]
Wifi is available free of charge but was appaulingly slow and sometimes ypu couldn't connect at all. We did not use the air con so cant comment.
Would recommend this hotel for a cheap city break in Athens

Room Tip: We stayed in room 607 which had a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed there before in 2011, and returned in March , 2014 for 4 nights.
It is affordable which lots of place in Athens are not, alas...it is basic, but clean and comfortable, elevator, breakfast room, lobby with sitting area...they have a rooftop with Acropolis views but alas it is only open in summer and was closed in my 2 visits in Nov. 2011, and March 2014.
The staff was friendly, they even mailed us a package we forgot in a drawer after our trip.
I'm not a fan of the modern art on their walls, but the one in our room this time was not nearly as bad as the one in the room I stayed in in 2011, LOL.
The location is pretty good as well with a small fast food like deli right across the street and an ATM also nearby as well as a couple of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empressginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina, Greece
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Apollo for 5 nights.It was a guite good experience overall. The room was nice and clean enough as well as the room service and amenities. The breakfast was ok.Located near the center of Athens and metro station of Metaxourgeio!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ioanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#223 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#114 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#103 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 10 Achilleos Street | Metaxourghio Square, Athens 104 36, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing