We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent for a day or two”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Hotel
Ranked #143 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent for a day or two”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on the 10th & 11th Oct with a friend. We picked this hotel based on price & location.....and if these are you 2 main drivers, then you cant really go wrong! Just 2 mins walk from an underground station and it was only about £20 each a night for a twin room.

The hotel itself is ok, it is a bit 'tired' but it is clean, with fresh towels delivered every morning. All the reception staff are very nice, friendly & were able to answer all my questions. They actually looked happy in their jobs & actually treated folk as paying guests and not someone who gets in the way of their daily routine, which was a pleasant novelty these days!

Across the road is nice 24hr Snack Bar that has local hot dishes and makes sandwiches & baguettes to order. In the wee street that is behind the hotel is an excellent wee bar that sells about 50 types of bottles beer!

If I was going back for more than 2 nights, I would probably stay in a 4* Hotel, as Athens is so cheap once you get there.....but for a night or two, it is fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, as the front is on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    247
    195
    55
    51
See reviews for
110
266
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

A long WE spent in Athens early november with friends.
Good ratio quality/price.
Very good location 200 m from a metro station (very nice metro by the way).
Some rooms having a view on the Acropole.
The price being quite low,don't expect a 4 stars hotel.
The hotel is quite old but clean.
Breakfast quite "basic"
Good reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the Acropole
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Smaller scale hotel. It wasn't bad actually. Booked a double room. Room was a good size. Mattress was a bit hard though. AC seemed to work but didn't use it really as it was in November. The staff there were really nice. Breakfast was OK; your traditional, cereal, eggs, coffee, bread, etc. Enough to do the job and get you the energy you need to explore Athens. I stayed two nights in November 2013, for about $36USD per night. There are a few street vendors near the hotel selling water, snacks, etc. Right across the street is a 24/7 fast food joint. The Metaxourgio Metro is about 1 minutes walk or so and that'll take you pretty much every where within Athens. Make sure you take the "...Square" exit. Once you reached the top of the stairs, just keep heading straight and then turn right at the street.. walk for maybe 1 minute and the hotel will be on your right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingguy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recommend this small hotel - very friendly and helpful receptionists, clean room, good buffet breakfast. Wifi not always available in our room but free access in reception area. Very convenient for the metro, trolley buses and suburban rail (who needs taxis in a city with such good public transport at low prices?). Fridge in the room and a Spar supermarket 2' walk (turn right outside the hotel). Not many restaurants close-by but the Alexander is excellent (2 minutes walk). No roof-top barbecue when we were staying but we were out of high season. We asked for a quiet room so were at the back of the hotel - no balcony but very quiet. Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (the rooms with balconies are noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellAS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Athens. It really is very hard to fault this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is free internet access in the reception area. The rooms are clean and tidy. A very nice breakfast buffet is available from 7 am to 9.30 am. The hotel is conveniently located 2 min walk from the metro system and coach station's, and 8 min walk from Athens main train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked a triple room for a short stopover in Athens on our way to Santorini. The price was right at £33 per night with breakfast. Hotel in good, central location and within easy walking distance of the metro and hop on hop off tour bus. There were also lots of taxis about and on our second night we discovered just how cheap those taxis were! Lady at Reception (can't remember her name!) was lovely and helped us book tours and gave us maps and directions. Hotel is a little bit dated but very clean. Triple room was reasonably sized and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and modern, although the shower was a little on the small size! The only thing I could fault with the room was the air conditioning...which seemed to take a long time to cool down. There was also a balcony which we didn't really use as it over looked a very busy, noisy main road. The balcony was quite dirty and dusty but I suspect that has a lot to do with its location! As other reviewers have mentioned one of the best things about this hotel is the roof top bar/restaurant! The view is spectacular and watching the acropolis light up at night was a special treat... The food and drinks are reasonably priced. The food was all cooked on a bbq fresh to order and was delicious!! A little bit disappointed by breakfast, which is quite basic but still reasonable for the price. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We are two couples travelling Europe and stayed here for three nights in October. We had previously stayed here in 2008 and enjoyed our stay so returned to the hotel which we knew was close to everything that we wanted to see in Athens. We were not disappointed either, the hotel is very good. Reasonable rate, with a good hearty breakfast in the morning, good size rooms, and very friendly staff. The little bistro on the roof is great after a long day seeing Athens, to sit back with a drink, and food, and look at the Acropolis lit up in the distance. Great place to enjoy the sights of Athens.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#223 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#113 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
0.1 mi away
Katerina Hotel
Katerina Hotel
#39 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achillion Hotel
Achillion Hotel
#102 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Property: Apollo Hotel
Address: 10 Achilleos Street | Metaxourghio Square, Athens 104 36, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing