We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent location!”
Review of Pan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Hotel
Ranked #51 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the heart of the city then look no further. Pan Hotel is a smart, comfortable hotel just a minutes walk away from Sytagama Square. The staff are very friendly and speak good english. There's free wifi and reception is open 24 hour which is good if you're on a late flight like we were. Our room was a very spacious twin room, which wasn't a problem as we jsut pushed the beds together. The only faults I could find with the hotel are niggly, such as the top of our balcony table not being attached properly and that the breakfast is not very varied but these should not put you off. I would absolutely stay here again.

Also, the free aircon was fabulous and much needed!

Room Tip: If you can, choose one of the rooms on the 8th floor as it should gives you decent views of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna P, Director of Sales at Pan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Lawsbloke,

It was a real pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel during your stay in Athens and also to take the time to leave your good reviews. On behalf of the management and staff of Pan Hotel a great thank you and we will all be more than happy to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Mediterra Tours booked me this hotel so I looked at other reviews to see what I was getting into.
I was pleasantly surprised. Even though some of the other reviews were correct, such as ones that said the rooms were small, the rooms were clean and great for one person. May be a little cramped with 2 people. I LOVED the staff and the location. I arrived at the hotel and after 5 minutes to change my clothes was off to the Acropolis. It was close enough to walk to that and other sites such as the Temple of Zeus and in a nice part of town. The food near the hotel was good. I recommend a restaurant directly across the street which was open at 12:45 am so I could have dinner after arriving there on my return trip from Santorini. There are other restaurants within walking distance as well. The breakfast at the hotel was pretty good...no hardcore meat or eggs, but great croissants and good coffee and more (finally--the coffee on Santorini left a LOT to be desired. I was very happy that I brought some of my own coffee on my trip--I should have brought more.)

Room Tip: The 2 rooms I stayed in had no view, but i was just there to sleep so I didn't care. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeachDancePlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna P, Director of Sales at Pan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear TeachDancePlay,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Athens and for taking the time to share your comments. Regarding the breakfast, the reason for which we do not provide hardcore meat or eggs is simply due to the fact that there is no kitchen in our hotel.
We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Ioanna Panagiotopoulou
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed in Athens last September, and the travel agency made a reservation for this hotel.
It's a really small, quaint hotel for travelers on budget, I should say.
The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, so I was really satisfied.
However, the room (or rooms, since they changed the room during my stay) were very small and dim. Bathroom was really small, and I had no view from my window, so I felt slightly claustrophobic.
It was still nice. Just lower your expectations if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulduwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was a last minute reservation as I had to stay in Athens one night.
As I like to stay in Plaka, the other hotels I have stayed in the past were full and some others on Syntagma square were very expensive, I decided to stay at Pan Hotel.
The location was excellent. Again, the welcome at the reception was really very friendly.
The hotel looked ok, but as soon as I got in the room, I was really disappointed.
The room was very small the furniture old and the bathroom apart from small it really needed
to redo-it. I needed to wait 1 minute for the hot water for my shower, Anyway, I slept but around 06:30 am I woke up and I could not sleep as there was a smell of cigaret. I was wondering from were the smell was coming from and well the smell was coming from the bed cover. I immediately woke up as I felt gross, took a shower and I went to take my breakfast.
The breakfast was poor, but it is better than nothing.
Even though the staff were very nice, I did not tell them anything as it was not their fault.

Room Tip: Stay away if possible unless there are better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioanna P, Director of Sales at Pan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mixalakh,

On behalf of our hotel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. We always take into serious consideration our guests' comments and for that reason I would like to invite you to stay again in our hotel so that we can make it right to you. We have proceeded to certain renovations therefore, please revisit and try us again.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to stay with us in the future.

Thank you,
Ioanna P
Sales Manager
Pan Hotel
T: (0030) 2103237816
pansales@panhotel.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked this hotel just for a night on our way back from a trip.
We had a friendly check in.
Friendly staff and very helpful.
Very good location ,close to everything .
The only thing i did nit find in the room was a safety box.
I suggest this hotel for your stay in the centre of Athens !!

Room Tip: ask a room at the back side of the hotel ,is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chalrie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Simple clean place with very friendly and flexible staff. Excellent location, easy access to everything. If you are fine with basic amenities, i would strongly recommend this place. Needless to say i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhava4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the Pan Hotel in 2009. Went back in 2011 and 2012. Christos Karagiannis and the rest of the staff are always polite, helpful and make you feel welcome. I would not stay anywhere else on my next visit to Athens.
Location in Mitropoleos Street is ideal for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 281 in Athens
979 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#75 of 281 in Athens
884 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#55 of 281 in Athens
638 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#72 of 281 in Athens
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Hotel

Address: 11 Mitropoleos | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $73 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pan Hotel! So, what is the element that has made this 3 star city hotel of Athens operating for more than 50 years? The fact that is operated from the 3rd generation, something that effortlessly proves that tourism and hospitality run within the family, together with our friendly staff, are two of the most important aspects of our hotel that have made guests prefer us over and over again when visiting Athens. Our unique location (Syntagma Square), only adds to help you make the choice whether you are a family, a couple or a solo traveler, whether travelling for business or pleasure. The Parliament, National Garden, Panathinaic Stadium, Zappion, Plaka (old city of Athens), Monastiraki, Greek taverns, restaurants of national cuisines, Lycabetus Hill, churches of different religions, The Acropolis and Parthenon, numerous museums such as The Acropolis Museum, Archaeological Museum, The Benaki Museum, etc., central shopping areas, department stores, banks and embassies, etc. are all within walking distances from our hotel. Enjoy a walk or a swim at the beach by taking the Tram where its terminal is only 100m. from our hotel. Easily reached from the airport (El. Venizelos) or Piraeus port, as the Metro and the Airport Express Bus stop within 5 minutes walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing