We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, tiny bathroom”
Review of Pan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pan Hotel
Ranked #59 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The location is very good, close to the Plaka, Acropolis and many restaurants.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room was fine, comfortable and clean, but the bathroom, and shower specifically, was tiny. Water went everywhere and I couldn't move without hitting the sink or tap.

Wifi costs, bit not too much.

Breakfast is simple but adequate.

All in all a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgunzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 559 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

If we were to stay to the initial room which they gave us then I would definitely rate this hotel much worse (I uploaded pictures from both 8th and 2nd floor rooms, for you to see and compare yourselves). They gave us a room on the 8th floor, tiny,tiny, with a problem in the bathroom. At first we thought that we can survive with it and overlook all the rest, like the size and how old it looked and the view from the window which was the back of an old building. The reason was that it was the only floor that had double bed rooms instead of twin beds. But then we tried to open the A/C it made such a massive noise that you could hear it from the corridor outside (not kidding, we tried closing the door and went outside and could still hear it like someone was digging in there). We were very lucky and they had a triple room on the 2nd floor and they had no problem to move us there. Well, no comparison. Ask for a room on that floor only if you choose this hotel. It is far more spacious, has a nice view of the street, not noisy at all and has nice wooden floor. The mini bar has very good prices, theTV set is old CRT and small 14" and they charge you for Wi-Fi in the rooms. Not that it was expensive but I find it bad policy, since for them it costs nothing to have wi-fi all over the hotel (trust me, I'm Greek, I know how much I pay for internet at home and at work, and the cost is close to nothing for a 24MB connection). Breakfast was very basic but we didn't need more anyways. The location beats everything. Central and very good value for money if you look for this hotel in the right online booking sites. We paid 140euros for 3 nights. Everything is 5 minute walk and the Syntagma square/metro/bus to airport is 4 minutes walk. Food 24/7 just on the corner (McDonalds, Everest etc) and a very nice tavern just across the hotel. Tavern is a bit pricey for Greece but they have the best spinach salad I ever ate in my life. It's a must eat place. We loved it!

Room Tip: 201 if you are a couple and 202 for triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaliaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Close to the bus stop that takes you to the airport! Clean, tasty simple breakfast. You have to pay for internet, but it is reasonable. 5 Euros for 10 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nnmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in October. The staff were all lovely and helpful and breakfast was limited but fine. The room was below standard. We had to rearrange the furniture to fit our suitcases and the powerpoints seemed to be hanging out of the wall and our converters kept falling out too. The location was great but I doubt I would stay here again. There is a cute little restaurant across the road which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireMc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

perfect location for a tourist in athens. can not be better! Good value for price. Rooms are not too nice, but all you need is a bed when you are a tourist.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The pan hotel is near to the main square in athens and offers a perfect location for all of the sights and nightlife. The hotel is small but clean , the lift is small and you can only get one person in it at anyone time with a suitcase. Upon entering the room it was clean and fresh the bed was comfatable and had a mini bar which wasnt really to much of a rip off. all the rooms have a tv as well. a good touch was the airconditioning it was free which going in august was so essential. We asked for a safe which you can hire for 5 euros deposit which is given back to you. They are safety deposit boxes in front of the hotel reception. You are given one key and the hotel have another key so when you want to open it you have to ask reception. the only fault i could find with the rooms was my shower head was loose and would not stay above my head so i had to have it midway down my body which was a pain also some of the rooms have balconys and others dont just a window.
The hotel reception staff cannot do enough for you and help you to get anywhere you want but just be prepared to have to double check things. The breakfast is typical continental , crossiants , cereal and tinned fruit with cold meat and cheese aswell. Not really my thing so ended up going elsewhere for breakfast.
Heres a little about athens in general, Athens doesnt many bars there are a couple of irish bars and we only found 1 nightclub. The food in the restaurants is very good but be very carefull check prices, also the restuarant owners have a bad habit of bringing you out bread and watemelon for desert even though you havn't ordered them and charging you for the privilage. if you see them bringing any thing out to youwhich you havn't ordered send it straight back otherwise you will be charged. one night we order a fish platter fo 2 which we stupidly didn't check the price of as the owner just sold it to us and starters we got caught out with the bread and melon and the bill came to 125euros without the tip whe we came to pay the bill the owner stood over us and virtually demanded a good tip aswell.
Athens beaches are well worth a visit and you can catch a tram which costs 50cent its about 45 mins away but well worth it . you can go to free beaches but you will get hasssled by beach sellers my advise is to go the the ones where you pay a 5 euro entrance fee and you dont get any hassle
seeing the sites in athens is essential and the is a hop on hop off bus which goes round all the site and goes from sitagma square its only 15 euros for 2 days and is an ideal way of visiting them.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and ejoyed combining both a city break and a beach holiday . The staff are really nice and the room are clean and well kept

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westhammatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We booked two different hotels for our two stays in Athens, before / after going to the islands. The Pan Hotel was ok, but for the same cost I'd definately recommend you go and stay at the Airotel Parthenon instead because it was way better.

Rooms - size was really small and we could only get two single beds. The door to the room couldn't open all the way because it hit the end of one of the beds. The bathroom door was an old sliding door that was noisy and didn't offer a lot of privacy. The bathroom was a good size, although not really any vanity space to put your toilet bag. OK cleanliness, but the general impression of the bathroom / room/ hotel is that it is tired and needs to be done up. Our room looked out on to another building and the room was noisy because of the air conditioning units from other rooms outside the window.

Staff - nice enough. When we checked in we weren't told that the window had to be shut to make the air con work. We didn't realise that housekeeping kept opening the window slightly, so although it looked shut, the aircon wouldn't work. Was a horrible first night until we worked out what was happening. We also had them come and fix the light which wouldn't work and even after it was 'fixed' it worked only occasionally.

Breakfast is pretty ordinary. Very little on offer. It's ok if you just want bread, corn flakes, coffee or juice.

Location was good. Right in the heart of the shopping section and beside Syn Square. We walked everyone, including to the sites, which was all easy to find and not too far away but..... quite noisy. Location of the Airotel Parthenon much better and much quieter area.

All in all - it is an OK hotel but for the same price you can get something much better at the Airotel Parthenon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robward61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#43 of 282 in Athens
999 reviews
Syntagma
Arethusa Hotel
Arethusa Hotel
#75 of 282 in Athens
907 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#70 of 282 in Athens
329 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#48 of 282 in Athens
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Hotel

Address: 11 Mitropoleos | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $68 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pan Hotel! So, what is the element that has made this 3 star city hotel of Athens operating for more than 50 years? The fact that is operated from the 3rd generation, something that effortlessly proves that tourism and hospitality run within the family, together with our friendly staff, are two of the most important aspects of our hotel that have made guests prefer us over and over again when visiting Athens. Our unique location (Syntagma Square), only adds to help you make the choice whether you are a family, a couple or a solo traveler, whether travelling for business or pleasure. The Parliament, National Garden, Panathinaic Stadium, Zappion, Plaka (old city of Athens), Monastiraki, Greek taverns, restaurants of national cuisines, Lycabetus Hill, churches of different religions, The Acropolis and Parthenon, numerous museums such as The Acropolis Museum, Archaeological Museum, The Benaki Museum, etc., central shopping areas, department stores, banks and embassies, etc. are all within walking distances from our hotel. Enjoy a walk or a swim at the beach by taking the Tram where its terminal is only 100m. from our hotel. Easily reached from the airport (El. Venizelos) or Piraeus port, as the Metro and the Airport Express Bus stop within 5 minutes walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing