We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solomou Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Solomou Athens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Solomou Street, Athens 104 32, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 336 Hotels in Athens
MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We could not have been happier with this hotel, especially for the money (about $50 USD/night). The desk clerk was very helpful in getting us information about the sights to see, and calling us a cab to the cruise ship port (the Metro was on strike that day). The included breakfast was very good. As mentioned elsewhere, there are some seedy-looking cafes with some seedy-looking folks hanging around, but only in the daytime - we never saw them at night, and were not bothered during the day. It's just north of the Omonia Metro station, so within relatively easy walking distance of the Acropolis and Plaka district.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better, and be sure to request a balcony. If you get it, you'll have a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCDaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    51
    21
    18
See reviews for
33
56
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Having lived and worked in youth hostels in Athens back in the early 90's, I am aware that when booking hotels there, websites doesn't always reflect the hotel 100%, so I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel rooms are as shown in the pictures online. The rooms are large and the hotel has high cleanliness standards. The bonus was the little fridge in the room and there are few supermarkets around, so you can stock up on your essentials.

The staff are great and the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast is good (for a budget hotel). The only disappointment was that the lovely roof garden was not open. However, if you ask the staff nicely, they do allow you access the view of Lycabettus Hill at night time from there is beautiful.

Also, a lot of online reviews say that Omonia Square is not a good area... which is technically true, but it is roughly the same as staying around the Earl's Court area of London, so please do not let this put you off this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thequeenbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We booked this hotel for one night based on it's close proximity to an office we needed to visit the following day. The area it's in is very rough - we went out for dinner and had to weave our way through drug addicts and prostitutes. However, more research may have warned us of this.
The bigger issue for me though was the hotel itself. Our room looked nothing like the photos on the website - it was dirty and tired. It looked like it had not been redecorated since the building went up. It certainly was not refurbished (at least our room wasn't) as some reviews suggest. I was very glad to check out the next day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Last weekend we spent with 7 people 1 night in hotel solomou in Athens. It was a very nice hotel for not much money!!
The owner was very friendly and so was its entire staff!
even breakfast was ok and included in the price. On Sunday morning we were sitting on the roof terrace with a view on Lycabettes Hill that we had visited the day before.
It was a very enjoyable stay and we can highly recommend this hotel which is nearby a metro and also on walking distance to plaka and other interesting sites. Neighbourhood is not so nice!!! But we took that for granted for the one night we stayed in this friendly clean and really cheap hotel!!

Helpful?
1 Thank happyhollllliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

SO-So. Bathroom pretty trashy. Close to station though.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tashie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

The hotel solomou is a refurbished hotel 5 blocks from Omonia Square via September 3rd Street.

It is a family run hotel with decent breakfast, bar and all rooms have air conditioning.

The bathrooms are spotless, as is the bedding - an excellent feature.

Curiously the cleaners collect the tv remote controls in each day which becoms very irritating if you actually manage to get any of the cable channels on the wall mounted portable tv's.

This is a hotel for the bargain traveller. If it was in a better location you would pay a lot more than the 50 EUR per night I did.

What sadly lets this hotel down extremely badly is it's location. 5 blocks above Omonia Square, Solomou Street is littered with rubbish, abandoned cars and distasteful smells. It is basically a slum street which is a real shame as the family who run the hotel have clearly tried so hard to make the place attractive.

The nearest pick up point for day trips around Athens is the Novotel and taxi drivers have never heard of the hotel so it's important to always quote Omonia Square and then point down September 3rd street!

Around the corner are a couple of half decent bars with food so you can at least come and go as you please.

If you can get over the scruffy unpleasant street, you have a very nice little hotel and I didn't find any of the surrounding streets as bad or uninviting so do balance a decision before discarding this as an option for the budget traveller.

Helpful?
19 Thank spectrafashions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristoteles
Hotel Aristoteles
#164 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#112 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moka
Hotel Moka
#124 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pergamos
Hotel Pergamos
#139 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Athens
Marina Hotel Athens
#83 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Epidavros Hotel
Epidavros Hotel
#95 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solomou Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solomou Athens

Property: Hotel Solomou Athens
Address: 72 Solomou Street, Athens 104 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solomou Athens 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Solomou Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solomou Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing