We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“plesent and nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden City Hotel
Ranked #246 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“plesent and nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in that hotel with a friend. Everything was very good. The location is perfect, within short walking distance to all attractions and city center. We heard that that area is considered to be as not the best and safe because of immigrants and so on, but we really have not noticed anything like that while we we walking to and from city center even during the night. The service at the hotel has perfect. Very nice and clean rooms. Nice reception area with nice stuff working there. There is a cafe in lobbi where people can drink coffee or something else. I definetely recommend this hotel to all my friends and would like to go back there again. i really dont have nothing to complain about. The only minor things I would like to point are: the rooms were not very big the size is sufficient, another thing the brakfast had not a very wide choice but was ok. Excellent value for money. We got a very positive impression from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyusine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    87
    51
    36
    24
See reviews for
34
72
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The number of positive reviews this hotel has seems incongruous with how I found it. This is a smoky, dingy, cramped, and located in a very dangerous neighborhood. “Free Internet” = in lobby only, and there is a ridiculously expensive charge for internet in the room. Our tour had planned on the Acropolis Hill Hotel, and then the hotel for the night was inexplicable changed to this one! I can't help but suspect our tour company found a way to make a last minute profit by changing our itinerary. The hotel is full of young travelers who are up late, making lots of noise, and the staff seems overwhelmed. These are all signs of a hotel that does not want to upgrade its services for return customers, and tour companies that are too willing to shop for cut-rate hotels that travelers have no way of rejecting once they’re on the trip. This is not a hotel that is a nice place to return to after a day of walking around the city of Athens. The surrounding neighborhood did not feel very safe, either, esp. at night. I wouldn't never stay in the hotel again, would rather stay up all night on a bus. Disappointed.

Room Tip: Not much to say about this one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Kotor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel itself was not bad.It was three of us staying there, our room was OK, spacious and comfortable,though, could be a bit cleaner. But, some of the hotel stuff wasn't very polite.Of course,we had many questions, but if you work at the reception it is your duty to be polite.
In addition,one morning, the man working in the restaurant where we had breakfast, literally forced us to finish and leave the restaurant and then shut the door loudly behind us!
But, putting that aside, the area where this hotel is situated is the worst part of Athens, you cannot go out alone in the night, many homeless people, drug addicts, prostitutes, not safe at all!
Wouldn't reccommend it for those who want to stay longer and explore the city, because this is your first impression, and believe me, you would be surprised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra_Montenegro_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night the room was basic but very clean and warm. The tv was broken when i arrived but i phoned reception and it was sorted quickly. Breakfast was very good with a big choice of warm and cold foods and plenty of juice and coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 144loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komotini, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The service was great, the price even better and the breakfast served quite decent. Daily room service, a nice environment, friendly staff and a more-than-decent room. I've got to note that due to high traffic there was some noise and the bathroom had a bad odour potentially from the pipes. There was a bath (sort of) in the bathroom, but almost half the regular size. Still better than just a shower though. The location is great for easy access to the city, although not in one of the best locations, some people would feel insecure moving around alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manos_Som
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodos
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Service is good. The hotel rooms are very clean, breakfast is good (not excellent), the location is very central about 300m from Metaksourgeio Metro Station and at walking distance (20min) from Monastiraki. Although the area is central I wouldn't recommend it to families because of the high number of (illegal?) immigrants that make an unsafe feeling to the area. Although Athens is still one of the safest capitals in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thíra, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

i stayed almost 2 weeks and is a very nice hotel very clean and the stuff ALL are very kind helpfull and professionals.... anytime i will be in Athens i will never change it.... very good value for money and breakfast was also nice .... the stuff is always help and make your stay as easy and comfortable is possible......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drosos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#232 of 335 in Athens
3.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Crystal City Hotel
#130 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Achillion Hotel
#90 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#207 of 335 in Athens
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#249 of 335 in Athens
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#81 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden City Hotel

Property: Golden City Hotel
Address: 46 Marni, Athens 104 38, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Athens
Hotel Golden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing