We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much of it great, some of it lousy.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hellinis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hellinis Hotel
Ranked #243 of 333 Hotels in Athens
mexico city
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Much of it great, some of it lousy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

We are here now, at the Hellinis, and having a computer with internet right in the room is definitely nice. connection is fast, hardware is modern.
Staff is really friendly and helpful in every way; rooms are small and not recently renovated but fine for the price of 60 for a double. air conditioning & room refrig work great. bed is fine but able to feel the springs.
Bathrooms: horrible. can't take bath because drain overflfows into the bathroom; can't take shower because there's no curtain and only a hand-held shower head with no place to hang it or prop it. so you have to do sponge bath. or stand in tub and use hand-held shower and get the entire bathroom soaked, including towels and your stuff and tissue etc. Not a good arrangement.
despite this, we still enjoy staying here. restaurant is good; breakfast is fine; lobby and bar and outdoor lounge is very nice. it is convenient because bus outside the door takes you to downtown in ten minutes, or tram is 10 min away, as is the metro. its on a noisy street, but the general neighborhood is upscale and has very nice huge plaza nearby with dozens of restaurants and stores etc. all of them modern suburban style.
If they only did something about the terrible showering situation, they'd have an excellent place here and rate a four star.
Btw, I checked and all the bathrooms are like this.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    33
    20
    28
See reviews for
17
31
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

We stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in May 2006 and found it a good base from which to explore Greece, although we were initially a bit concerned as the hotel is located on a main road in a slightly dodgy area. The town centre is not really within walking distance, but there is a bus-stop outside the hotel and the frequent bus service only costs 0.5 Euro each way. Be wary that the last buses back from the city centre are around 11.30 each night and on the one night we missed the buses we found it hard to get a taxi driver who knew where the hotel was. The hotel room itself was quite spacious, and had air-conditioning, plus the bonus of a fridge and a digital safety deposit box. The bathroom did also have a jacuzzi but was rather cramped. The hotel staff were excellent, speaking good English and having a good knowledge of tourist requirements, and the maid service was also of a high standard. Great hotel for the money we paid, had a vey relaxing time, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2006

The hotel room was clean and tidy. The great thing about the room is that I had computer and DSL connection so I was able to stay in touch with my family. There is no speakers and mic with the computer you should get your own. Also, you logon to the windows XP as use so you can't install any software. But it was really helpful to have internet connection. The breakfast was basic but nice. Tea, Coffe, eggs, cheese and fruits.
Everthing was nice at the hotel except that its not in the touristic area. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the center of Athens (Syntagma) by bus. The room has double glassed window as there is traffic in Sygrou avenue almost 24 hours. Generally I enjoyed my stay in the hotel and it was not expensive compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

The hotel is situated on a busy street, so it was difficult to sleep with all of the traffic noise. Also the beds were very uncomfortable, full of coils. The location of the hotel to the centre was not too bad, it's about a 15 bus ride. I would not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2006

As a regular traveler to Athens, this hotel was by far one of the better choices. My husband and I stayed there for a week visiting the many sites Athens has to offer.

Our room had Internet access, TV, refrigerator, AC (to cool down from the crazy heat!), full bed, room service and a typical bathroom. Our room was very clean! I loved the fact that my sheets were changed daily, which you may not always find….

The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and extremely helpful; especially with showing us how convenient the hotel was to the center of town and the big Tourist areas like the Parthenon, and Plaka. I would like to thank them greatly for all the useful info and for the wonderful hospitality. They were available 24 hours a day for us, and answered all our questions! Room service was excellent!

Special Thanks to the Hellinis Hotel Staff!!! I will definitely be going back there!

James & Kathy

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2005

Cockroaches. Loads of 'em. Thankfully they mainly stayed in the bathroom but I was not pleased to see one running across the bedside table a few inches fom my head at 4am.

We stayed one night in the Hellinis hotel before catching a ferry to the islands. The area around the hotel is extremely seedy (strip clubs, casinos etc), but it's convienent enough for Athens city centre, buses run every 10 minutes or less from right outside the hotel to the Sygrou-Fix metro station, which will get you to wherever you need to go. Watch out for the big sex shop with the big yellow sign - that's when you get off for Sygrou-Fix!

Our room was on the first floor. The window opens to show a view of ... the windows into an office block (but is probably preferable to the view of the Sygrou area). The room contained a reasonable TV, two poor beds, and a normal household refrigerator - which was not just extremely noisy (it got unplugged) but also completely empty. At first glance the bathroom seemed fine, apart from an extremely small bathtub, and there was no sign of roaches. I'm guessing this is because the cleaners had left the lights on.

Once the lights had been left off for a few hours, the roaches returned in force. If we were staying for any real length of time, we would have left straight away, but we had arrived late and we were getting an early ferry the next day, so I just closed the bathroom door and didn't go back in except for a brief visit when I was in extreme duress.

We paid sixty euros to the receptionist about 5 am next morning and left. She had poor english and to be honest we just wanted to get the hell out of hotel Hellinis, so we left without saying a word. Never to return.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank scsa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#187 of 333 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Lacoba Hotel
#231 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Apollo Hotel
#137 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aristoteles
#204 of 333 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#190 of 333 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Hotel Solomou Athens
#173 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellinis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellinis Hotel

Property: Hellinis Hotel
Address: 177 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 17121, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hellinis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HELLINIS hotel has undergone a total renovation and it appeals to the demanding guest who looks a subtle luxury and a high level of services. Centrally located close to Acropolis , Constitution Square, next to the business, shopping and entertainment area of Athens.The 86 modern rooms are all equipped with air-conditioning, sound proof double glazing windows, electronic door locks, direct dial phone, satellite TV, hairdryer, mini fridge, electronic safe, PC free access to internet services and WiFi.The Hotel offers an elegant Restaurant, a Cocktail Bar, Cafeteria, room service, a comfortable TV lounge, internet corner, dancing club that make your stay more pleasant. Profile:Hellinis Hotel is known for the comfort and services that offers to the guests. It is easily accessible by all means of transportation but also provides fast access to all city attractions.Our location, our rooms, our low prices, the free internet services are some of the reasons that you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hellinis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellinis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing