We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
306
288
101
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
306
288
101
24
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews syntagma square cathedral bells great location light sleeper acropolis view roof terrace rooftop breakfast where breakfast is served within walking distance airport bus rooms are small stay there again central location budget hotel shopping street staff was very friendly and helpful flea market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’m glad we choose this hotel, it’s location is perfect for sightseeing and to sit on the top floor terrace and have breakfast whilst enjoying the views over to the Acropolis is a truly memorable experience. For 6euros the breakfast is outstanding for such a freshly made meal, it’s a pity they don’t serve dinner as well. From arriving to leaving the hotel staff were helpful with maps and advice. It’s a 10 minute walk to the express airport bus or 10 minutes to the metro. This hotel warrants a third star. As for all of the negative reviews regarding noise you are staying in the city centre of Athens and experiencing the hustle and bustle of the city is all part of the experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BillNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This place looks great online and it is very well located but unless you are a very heavy sleeper or completely deaf, don’t stay here. The orthodox cathedral is right next door and they ring their bells EVERY. 30. MINUTES. One ring for the half hour and hourly rings according to the time, 24/7. So yes, at 11pm, that’s 11 extremely loud rings. The windows are not sound proof at all so that won’t help you.

It does have amazingly good views of the Acropolis which is nice.

The bathroom wasn’t great but it is a two star hotel so I guess that comes with the territory and despite leaving our windows locked every day, it seems housekeeping prefers them open. So none of our luggage was safe if someone from the next room decided to make their way over the verandah partition while we were out.

I’ve read reviews from others on this place and quite a few have said they had to pay in cash instead of via eftpos/card. I didn’t have any trouble with that myself.

I wouldn’t stay here again as we slept terribly and being tired while traveling really ruins things.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank bellatriix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Small and over priced. Well located in the monasteriki area. Good eats all around. Other spots kick butt on this 2Star place. Yes it's clean inside. No it's not worth the price.
People screwed up my reservation with one bed for two men that are not Lovers or close buddies. No recourse. No remorse.
Short simple and to the point.
Best
Nicholas

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank NicholasVarzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

This is a perfect little hotel to serve as your base in Athens. We were three females (mom, daughter, aunt) and the location was safe in a busy area with plenty of shopping and restaurants. Some have commented on the noise. It didn't phase us much. While there is a restaurant directly below and the church bell does ring quite often, we were too exhausted from our daily activities to be bothered much. If you are a light sleeper, it might be an issue. This hotel is an excellent price for what you get. The location is the biggest plus, as it is in the heart of Plaka and steps away from Syntagma Square. The space is small though, so if you need a lot of room to move around, you should be aware of this fact. We weren't spending much time in our room, so it wasn't an issue for us. The room was clean and the maid service great. The balcony was excellent with a view of the Acropolis which was wonderful for people watching or just reflection. We found the church to be an added bonus, and we were there during Orthodox Easter when many activities were occurring at the church that we could easily take part in (a definite must). There was a fridge in the room but no water boiler. The bathroom was small but updated and the shower good. We didn't have any issues with the Internet. There's a small elevator for those who need it. We especially needed this at the beginning as we packed too much. The staff was always friendly. We appreciated how small and personalized this hotel was, as we tend to shy away from larger properties. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but if you are interested in the offerings, it is definitely cheaper than what you will get at an outside restaurant. The metro is nearby. Overall, the property was exactly what we needed. We will definitely stay again when in Athens.

Room tip: Pick a higher floor for a better view.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

Perfect location, walk to all the museums, the Acropolis, Plaka, Syntigma, Monistiraki. Very accommodating staff. Friendly, warm and plenty of good advise. This was our second stay and we will stay again
We spent 3 nights on the islands but we kept the room as a home base. The convenience was worth the price! Reserve a room with an Acropolis view and hit the local market for meze on the balcony! The church bells signal the hour and half-hour 24-7. My wife and I found it to be wonderfully charming so it's only an issue if you're a light sleeper and sleeping is your priority.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thrmisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews