We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling in love with Athenas!”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #50 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2014

If you have plans to visit Athens and are short of time and need a budget hotel, this is the place to stay. You will be in short walking distance to every must see in the city. Kostas will make your stay perfect by giviving you all the tips you may need.
Try to get a room with a city view.
Thank you so much for your hospitality!
Hope to come back soon!
Monica

Room Tip: If you have money, try to get a room with a city view. Visit the terrace that has an astonishing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

Perfect hotel, the staff was amazing! I didn't remember the name of the guy that welcomed us around midnight but he was so sweet, we were so surprised of such kindness. The breakfast lady was so nice and helpful. I will recommend it to everyone I know. Rooms are very clean, AC, towels, slippers, magnificent roof top with an amazing view of the Acropolis, breakfast so good and very well located. A+++++

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumieredevida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile


Overall rating: 4.5/5 (considering both value for money and comparative prices).

Ok, it's not a fancy place but any reasonable traveler would not expect anything more for prices around €80 per night for a double room (August; we got it via Booking.com): Clean rooms, super helpful and friendly staff, excellent location (we had a car, we returned it in advance since it was really not needed for sightseeing - on top: parking opportunities in the area are really limited; some pay parkings are accessible though).
Metropolis is the best option for a no-frills choice in the heart of Athens: 3 minutes from Syntagma, 5 from Monistiraki, 7 from the Agora (and the Acropolis).
The building itself has seen many springs but everything which is needed is working perfectly: elevator (don't take it for granted in European capitals' old towns!), hot water, AC, WiFi (super signal everywhere).
The location and the view from the terrace might be considered as the main assets of the place but I'd like to underline once more the effort of the staff to make your staying cheap and confortable.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank DjIceN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Hotel Metropolis was like heaven on earth after we went to the hostel we had initially booked, and discovered that it was, in brief, inhabitable. When we rang the Hotel Metropolis in a panicked attempt to find elsewhere to stay, the owner told us he could try his best to accommodate us and welcomed us over. Upon arriving at the hotel, we heaved a huge sigh of relief as we were greeted by the very amiable owner. He could only spare us one night stay as the hotel was fully booked but he arranged for us to stay with another hotel just a couple minutes away. We were so thankful for his help, and realised after exploring Athens that the Hotel had an excellent location and was very safe, and after our experience in a dodgy hostel in a rough area of the city, we discovered that Hotel Metropolis was indeed a gem in Athens. Very thankful to the lovely owners! The room was quite small but it was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsuperstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

It is really hard to beat the location of the Metropolis. Right in between Syntogma and Monastiraki. We had the family room on the top floor and the view is just spectacular. The hotel is really small so the guys at the front will remember you and are very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gistmarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Good hotel perfect ,in the hart of the city near by acropolis ,and verry nice area plaka ,5 min walk to metro for boot to ilands ,verry clean ,breakfast at the rooftop .frendly people at the desk,help you whit al your questions

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank carl q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in June and had a lovely light room with super comfy bed. Slept soundly and enjoyed balcony view of the Acropolis and drinks on the roof terrace. The owner very kindly let us leave our baggage for a day while we explored the city....even though we had checked out a week beforehand.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank jennywomersley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,818 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,413 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
995 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $54 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing