We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #53 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located in Plaka and offers a fantastic view on the Acropolis for breakfast or drinks at night on the rooftop.
The hotel is right by Ermou street where you can go shopping, and it will take you just 10/15 min to go to Monastiraki, the flea market, Hadrian's Library etc. It is also close to Syntagma where you will see the guards, to the national gardens, and to the Cycladic museum (15 min walk) where you'll discover what inspired Modigliani, Picasso and Brancusi!

The staff is very helpful and extremely kind. Inder, at the reception will give you great tips on what to do in Athens day time and night time!

A 5 min walk takes you to the Hop on Hop off bus, and a 10min walk to the metro or to the airport bus.

The only dowside in my opinion is the overnight price for thin walls and an old shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EleonoreAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    215
    76
    18
    16
See reviews for
96
276
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman MT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We got off the plane, took X95 bus all the way to Syntagma Square and walked two blocks to this hotel. This was our second visit, and the rooms have been updated beautifully since our visit three years ago. We arrived on Easter Sunday, and we walked across the street to the plaka area and had a wonderful meal, shopping, music, next to the the beautiful cathedral. Everything is close, (restaurants, bakeries, shopping) and it is in a safe area. Breakfast is served on the rooftop where you enjoy a view of the parthenon. This family is very accommodating and knowledgeable, and provided great assistance and suggestions for our trip. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjhBozemanMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonnagumpy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel could not be better located. The area is lively, but surprisingly peaceful for a city this size. The rooms, while small by most American standards, are larger than most in Paris or New York and are nicely appointed. The mattresses are very comfortable and the pillows high quality. Nice sheets ( not a polyester as in many small hotels) and fluffy towels. The crowning glory is the rooftop breakfast terrace with panoramic view of the Acropolis, so even if you don't score a room with a view, you will have it there. Our room, #51, is a triple. I booked it for the fantastic bougainvillea covered huge balcony facing the Acropolis, and a bit extra room to move around, and we were delighted. A large mirror over the desk reflects the vista so you can even see it from the bed. We expect to return to Athens, and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnagumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was my first stay in Athens in 9 years and I was unsure about which hotel to book and where, but the Metropolis Hotel was absolutely perfect. The staff were all very friendly, hospitable, accommodating and patient with us, and were incredibly helpful in providing us with whatever information and guidance we needed to find our way around the area.

The location is superb - close to many restaurants, the Plaka with its many tourist shops, and the hotel is only a comfortable and picturesque walk away from the Acropolis and the other ancient sites.

We stayed in room 31 which had a beautiful view of the Parthenon (particularly spectacular by night). It was perfectly sized for a couple or two people, with a television (though we didn't watch very much of it and it would be a sin to, with so many incredible things to see in the area), fast wifi, a beautiful bathroom and a lovely balcony bordered by the gorgeous Bougainvillea's branches. The bed was also probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, and it was a joy to climb into it at the end of a busy, tiring day. The church bells ring every hour and half-hour, and although I was worried that I'd find them irritating at first, I actually didn't mind the sound at all. All part of the Athenian charm.

I'm the kind of person that sticks to something they've tried and enjoyed, so I'll definitely be back to the Metropolis in the near future. It has everything a tourist could want or need, and if you're unsure about which hotel to book in the area, I'd strongly recommend this one.

Room Tip: Book a room with an Acropolis view - even though you shouldn't be spending too much time indoors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FloraGiannakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Super convenient to see the sights, get in and out of Athens (metro or bus) and sample nice restaurants and nightlife.
The hotel is clean, well organised. The rooms are tiny but super comfortable and for a couple of nights in Greece you couldn't beat the location and the view! Our balcony had direct view to the Acropolis. The service was good.
Only problem is that it can be a bit noisy - probably more if you are on the lower floors next to the street.
Breakfast was average so might be better to sit in a nearby cafe.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Island, Chile
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 days in this perfect located hotel just 3 block from tgr Parlament, the subway ststion and the bus stop to the airport, in front of the cathedral and a short walk distance from the Monastiraki market and the Agora, 15 minutes walk from the Zeus temple, the Acrópolis and the Acrópolis museum. Plaka and Monastiraki are plenty of taverns, bar and restaurants modern and traditional. The hotel has lift and free wifi in all rooms. Helpful owners and stuff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay for two nights after a cruise waiting for a flight home. A friend recommended this hotel as it was half the price of the one I had chosen. I did it, but then worried about what I would find. It was actually okay. It was clean but small. The bathroom was tiny, with a shower curtain to separate the toilet and sink from the shower head. Entertaining. The room was small, not tiny, and seriously clean. The staff consisted of the owner, his son, and another young man taking turns manning the 'front desk'. If they stepped out for a minute, they locked the front door, so we were locked out of the hotel for 5 minutes once, but I realized it was for our safety and appreciated it. There were plenty of restaurants on the street, a fancy bakery, a department store, and it was just a block from the changing of the guard at the tomb of the unknown soldier. Don't miss that. If you go up on the roof, there is a nice view of the acropolis - especially at night. I recommend taking the silly little tourist train around town and getting off to climb up to the acropolis for a close up view. I thought it was worth the climb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiehmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Athens
#40 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing