We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #55 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
223 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The room was very formula one style clean and efficient . Was very easy to find and close to everything you want to see and do in Athens. Could see the acropolis from the balcony. We stayed on a weekend and the street noise and church bells were quite bothersome if you left the window open. The fix was to shut the windows and turn on the air. Much better sleep then. Helpful staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vancouvermtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    198
    75
    18
    15
See reviews for
93
268
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our room was just big enough for the bed and the bathroom matched and it was very new and spotlessly clean. Staff were super helpful and friendly. We had a good view of the Acropolis (3rd floor). Bed soft, new and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 22, 32 and 42 probably have the best balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
306 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a small hotel in the heart of Athens, this is the right place for you. The hotel is located just next to Ermou. Our room was small, bed was comfortable enough and bathroom was OK. I guess other rooms have renewed bathrooms but ours had not which was not a big deal for us. Our beddings and towels were not changed during three nights stay but what else you can expect from 50 Euros per night. At least our room was a no smoking one and we enjoyed smoke free stay. We had no breakfast, but it was available for 5 euros in the roof terrace. There were nice bakeries around, so it is also possible to try greek pies with spinach and cheese together with tea around 3 euros. Staff was friendly and wanted to help us for going to the airport since there was a strike on the Syntagma Square. Our value/price ratio is 6/10 for this hotel. With the same price per night, we would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank polly_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Got off the bus at Syntagma Square, walked five minutes down the road and arrived at the hotel. Fantastic friendly welcome by the owner - clean, spacious room with an amazing view of the Acropolis. Super helpful reception staff.. Couldn't fault at all, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

So centrally located, everything was easily accessible, Metro, open top tour buses, restaurants, shopping, Syntagma Sq. Great view of Acropolis from our balcony. Go up onto roof for better view. All staff were super friendly and helpful, many thanks guys! Rooms are fine and good value for money. Felt very safe there.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony view of Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights early March. We couldn't have asked for a better time. The location was excellent & the staff were amazing. The rooms as stated in other reviews are very basic, but what else do you need when you're visiting a city like Athens(you spend all your time roaming). The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, there's a shower and storage for your items, what else is required?? Any help we needed, the staff were always ready and willing to help out.
On arrival our bags were brought up to our rooms for us, and because we arrived very late evening we didn't want to head out to eat(just wanted to get unpacked and sorted) so Inder ordered us some take out and hand delivered it himself.
This Hotel is the perfect place to stay, and very good value for money. Thomas and Kostas the owners were brilliant throughout our stay, and Inder(who works the nights) is a true asset to the Hotel. 100% we will be returning again and staying at The Hotel Metropolis.
Thank you all for a great stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

5 minute walk from Syntagma Square where the x95 airport bus stops. We had room 51 (Acropolis View) which did give a fantastic view from the large pretty balcony. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The room is next to the lift though so there is some infrequent noise from the lift and from the eager early morning cleaner! Our room was immaculate, cleaned everyday. It is worth noting for those who like a lay-an that there is a regular church bell that sounds throughout this district. All in all we were delighted with the accommodation and it's proximity to everything we wanted to see. The Plaka district is touristy which means it is busy, buzzing and safe to stroll around. ONE request to the owners - a Kettle in the room would have been such a plus, so that we could have enjoyed a coffee on the balcony in the morning. That said, thanks for a great stay! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gonecarbooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Athens
#40 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing