We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #53 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in october 2013. Helpful and friendly staff. In our trip we rented a car and we needed a parking place near the hotel for one night, but to find in in center of Athens is very difficult (really), the hotel's staff helped us with this problem without a pre-order (great thanks).
You should visit the hotel's roof and enjoy perfect view to Acropolis where you can have a breakfast. We had a great room where we could feast our eyes upon Acropolis and the Athends Cathedral every morning.
The Metropolis is in a great location 5 min walk from metro and bus to airport, 15 min walk to Acropolis.
Our room was small but comfortable. There was a long balcony with table and chairs. Also there was air condition, it's good because it was very hot (+30C in october). But we lacked refrigerator.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olka_Pav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmet, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Olka_Pav,


Thank you for your comments.
Making your stay enjoyable is what please us the most.
We hope we have succeeded and look forward to having you with us again.
Sincerely,
K.Tsiaktanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    223
    79
    20
    16
See reviews for
102
283
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good hotel to spend few days in Athens. Perfect location, clean rooms, good staff, nice breackfast with Parphenon view. Highly recommend!!!
We have economy room at 4th floor.
If you want to have great meal you should go to cafe next to the hotel. Moussaka for 8 euro is great!!! Also near the hotel there is great wine bar Heroclito.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmet, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ms. Valerya,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us.

We are very happy to hear you liked the hotel and that you have enjoyed your stay.

It is a big deal for us to hear from guests that were satisfied.

Благодарю вас и надеемся увидеть вас снова скоро.

Sincerely,

Konstantinos Tsiaktanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I chose Hotel Metropolis based on it's great location and excellent reviews and I am very happy that I did. Kostas, Thomas, and Inder were great hosts. Kostas was especially helpful. Every question we asked Kostas, he was immediately able to answer. Kostas speaks fluent English, Romanian, Greek, and Italian, and speaks a little of everything else. He was amazing.

The room was small, but adequate and very clean. We didn't have a balcony, but I don't know when we would have had a chance to use it anyway. The roof, which you can visit at any time, has great views of the Acropolis, and is a great spot to take some photos from. The shower was great--with very hot water and plenty of water pressure. The A/C worked perfectly when we wanted to cool off or dehumidify the room after a shower. There was a TV in the room, but we never used it.

I have no complaints about our stay at Hotel Metropolis. The restaurant downstairs is decent. There is a small grocery store right around the back side of the building. We had our laundry done (washed, dried, and folded) at National, just two blocks over, for 4 euro per kilo. My husband also had a shave at the barber shop near National for just 10 euro.

The Hotel is across the street from the cathedral. The bells ring. I like it--doesn't bother me a bit, but if bells bother you, look elsewhere (fair warning--there are churches everywhere). The cathedral is under construction, so we heard construction noise a couple times too.

Apparently sometimes reservations get lost. It isn't the hotel's fault. This is because some of the booking websites only send reservations by fax, not also by email, and we all know faxing isn't reliable. I honestly can't remember what booking site it was.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a great value for the money, with exceptional staff and location. I'm not sure when I will be able to return to Greece, but if I do, I'll make sure to stay at Hotel Metropolis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathlyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmet, Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Kathlyne,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I cannot thank you enough for your kind words.
Reviews like yours are most rewarding to our efforts.
Thank you again and we really hope we get to see you and your husband again.
Sincerely,

Konstantinos Tsiaktanis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had booked this hotel almost a month in advance via booking.com and had a confirmed reservation. We had a terrible experience upon arriving at this hotel after a really long day of sightseeing in Crete. We checked in late in the night only to be later informed that they had to move our booking to another hotel property which was 10 minutes walking distance. To make matters worse, we were not informed apriori and the front desk attendant outright lied to us about being contacted via email. I showed him proof that I had not received any prior notification. The last thing you want after a long day of traveling is a non co-operative hotel staff member. Upon asking him to arrange for a taxi to the other property, he did not even offer the courtesy of paying for it. Instead he told us that we were upgraded to a superior room with a view of acropolis at a lesser cost which could pay for the taxi fare. I am pretty sure that this hotel was overbooked which was a mistake on the part of the hotel. We were given a lame excuse that they could not honor our request for a room on a higher floor. When customers make specific requests during booking, it is completely upto the discretion of the hotel to honor those requests but I fail to fathom the logic behind a hotel not granting a room to the customer with a confirmed reservation on these grounds. Finally after some convincing he agreed to pay the taxi fare. When we arrived at the sister property, neither did we get an acropolis view nor did the room resemble anything on the lines of a superior room. The accommodation was pretty basic and the property was completely dated. The front desk staff at this hotel was much more co-operative and we did not really bother much since we were simply crashing for the night to catch an early morning flight back home. Please double check with the hotel pro-actively if you plan to stay here since they can flip on you without prior notice. Better yet, stay somewhere else to avoid last minute surprises.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmet, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mr. A.P.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused but let us assure you that it is not the hotels fault like you are suggesting.
As I have said in another occassion you are a client of an Online Travel Agency that still uses fax to forward reservations, not that this is any of your fault, fax is not the best way to forward information that is why we check daily our expected arrivals with this OTA and when we see a reservation that we do not have on record, rare occassions, we first contact the guest himself by e-mail, as we did with you, please check your spam or junk folder, in my sent folder it shows sent and then we call the customer service and ask them to contact you and inform you of the situation and the alternatives we have made with directions and all the details, I also have the correspondence with the C.S. Departement.
Evening receptionist arranged for a taxi to take you to the other hotel, which is 300 meters from us, and also paid for it.
Please also note that we only own one property and we do not have a sister hotel as you claim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The best part is the location. It couldn't be better to explore the main sight of Athens. Plaka is simply opposite, Acropolis is within easy walking distance. syntagma square is 5mjns walk, metro and bus station conveniently located.

It is a small 2 star hotel afterall, if you expect Hilton you will sure be disappointed. there is no lobby, simply a reception. I booked a quad room, it's small and crowded for 4, even with a balcony. Although facing a road, it wasn't noisy at all. Bed is comfortable, air conditioning worked well. There is no kettle and drink making facility, there is hair dryer.

Breakfast served at rooftop. It was very simple and basic. For EUR5 per person, it is adequate the start the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerryMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

For a FANTASTIC location at a VERY good price, look no further than the Hotel Metropolis. The view from the breakfast roof terrace across the Plaka to the Acropolis is truly breathtaking. The rooms are simple yet spotlessly clean, and the staff very very nice...!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris2421356707655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked the 'family room' suite for our group of 4 as wanted a central location and decent price for a one night stay in Athens before leaving for the island of Lesvos. The Hotel Metroplolis did not disappoint as it was my second time in Athens and I wanted to be in the heart of the Plaka...we were within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, Plaka, Monistiraki Square and Acropolis. We wandered the streets with ease and comfort and made our way to the Acropolis and also enjoyed a night time view of the Acropolis from the rooftop patio. The staff were charming and helpful and took care of co-ordinating our taxi ride for our early morning flight on the Saturday morning. Would highly recommend this hotel as part of your stay in Athens! Well done and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaggie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,843 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,525 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 326 in Athens
948 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#58 of 326 in Athens
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Property: Hotel Metropolis
Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Athens
#40 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing