We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropolis
Ranked #50 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Location, Location, Location. I stayed in the Metropolis hotel in Athens at Easter and had a wonderful time. Right in the middle of everything and in front of all the celebrating. I stayed in room 51 and had indeed a fantastic view to the Acropolis and a big terrace. Room was clean and maintained clean daily, free wireless internet access and parking. I was skeptic at the begging because the price of 60 euro seemed cheap for this area. I would recommend this place for a great stay with second thought.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank julio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a few days with a group of friends. Let me start off by saying the location is EXCELLENT. 5 minute walk from the Syntagma square metro. Right next to night life, shopping and tourist shops. We literally walked to Acropolis from it. The staff were extremely helpful and answered all our touristy questions. They also helped us rent a car. On the 5th floor there is a roof deck with a GREAT VIEW of ACROPOLIS. Perfect for pre-partying before heading out into town, nice breakfast or an afternoon magazine/newspaper. Contrary to a previous review, I have not seen any hair anywhere. The rooms are pretty basic but clean. Ours had a little balcony. While this hotel may not satisfy some travelers that require absolute luxury, those that want a budget place to sleep just to go out again the next day will be more than pleased. Definitely recommend this to young singles or couples and backpackers (we are in our late 20s/early 30s), although other demographics will also be quite comfortable there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank dimchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My friends and I moved to the Metropolis after 3 nights at another hotel in Athens (a higher rated one which left us without loo roll, towels and WATER). We were desperate to find somewhere and we worried as we were looking for Sat night accommodation on a Friday afternoon so were just walking down the road asking for rooms in every hotel we passed.

The metropolis had one, for a cheap rate which was worrying but they offered us the key to take a look on the Friday to see if we wanted to take it. It was fine, so we set off on the sat morning to check in. The room was absolutely fine - not great but a lot cleaner than we were expecting for the price. We did find the odd hair in the beds, the duvets did not smell good at all, and the night porter was not happy at our requests for extra blankets but we learned that he was just very grumpy in general. The shower curtain only goes 3/4's of the way to the ground so you flood the bathroom but the water was hot,
The staff are generally very nice and accommodating – there’s a left luggage room and a WC for if you want to clean up before you head to the airport.constant and a great pressure.

The best was the view - ask for room 52. You have an enormous balcony with chairs and can just sit staring at the acropolis for hours on end. And it's QUIET, which is hard to come by in Athens.

For the price of this hotel you really can't complain. All it would need was a quick freshen up and this would be a great hotel. As it was, we wished we had stayed there for our whole trip rather than pay double elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncletravellingmatt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badgertraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mcnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Stayed: September 2007
Thank CambridgeVactioner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Irina_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,818 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,413 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
995 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropolis

Address: 46 Mitropoleos Str. | Plaka, Athens, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
#36 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $54 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Metropolis 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropolis Hotel is a small intimate hotel with an Acropolis view in the prime central location of the Plaka district and 2 blocks off Syntagma Square. The Metropolis provides all amenities and comforts that a traveler has come to expect. Warm hospitality and attentive service will help make your business or leisure stay in Athens extremely pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing