We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room ok - awful Breakfast for 4*”
Review of Hotel Mati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mati
Ranked #106 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed at Mati Hotel for one night with my wife. Rooms were ok, quite recently painted with new tiles on the bathroom and nice old furniture... Quite Large rooms with very soft beds (not very good for some people). Pool looked nice, did not use it. there was a Lifeguard at the working hours. The real problem with this 4* (?) Hotel was the very Basic and low quality breakfast and poor service from the breakfast stuff. Front desk was friendly and fast.
If you don't mind breakfast, for 70euros per night on mid June, this could be a nice hotel to stay for a couple of nighs if you travel from Rafina port, on your way or returning from the Islands.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Mati in mid June 2010 - and what a lovely experience it was. Our room was delightful - a corner room on the 5th floor overlooking the sea (lit at night by lights from the tavernas), the balcony was sunny in the morning and the evening which is always welcome, the balcony was furnished with a table and chairs. Our bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is large and aired with an opening window. The bedroom window opens to a fabulous view of the sea with insect screens so it can stay open all night, but the air conditioning unit is very easy to use, and very welcome. The pool, well what you can say about the pool except that it is a seawater pool and is a fabulous place to start your day, and end your day - oh and have a swim in the middle of the day too - lovely place to sit and while away some time with friendly bar service included. The food is good too, breakfast was good - not formal but taken by the pool if you wished, or in the restaurant. The staff at the hotel make your visit very special, they are friendly - speak good English and other languages too. This hotel is less than an hours drive from the airport, but there is no disturbance from the flight path, so all in the all this lovely hotel is something for the Mati hotel staff to be proud of.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplysixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the place. If your are looking for charming authenic "greek" accomodations this is the place! Mati is a quiet family community, with quiet resturants, a great bakery etc..... This is where the greeks go to get away. Swimming, food, relaxation, and quiet rejuvination. A wonderful place to escape the big city and pollution, and enjoy the wonderful smell of the evergreens, the ocean breeze and good food in a upper class community. Close to Athens for sightseeing, and shopping at Nea Makri. Rent a car though to get around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicothegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Awful hotel.

Room is utterly basic. Double room had two beds pushed together. Only plus side is that we had a corner room so the view was fairly good. We had to stay there for a wedding - we certainly wouldn't have ever chosen or booked to go there otherwise.

Pool is poxy. Breakfast was awful - restaurant was dirty with flies everywhere and filthy cutlery. Ended up only drinking half a glass of juice and passing on food.

Location is depressing. Feels like it's stuck in the seventies. Only half decent thing is the taverna opposite with lovely fresh Greek food.

No facilities near by - everything is a pricey cab ride away. Had we been there for any longer than two days we would have been completely bored.

I have no desire to ever go there again and certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MichaelaCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

this hotel was booked through olympic airways due to a cancelation of flight. We only stayed one night. The experience was pleasant. Has nice view of the small beach on the balcony. This is basically three star accom. Air conditioning comes with too. The evening meal was very tasty and worth a look. Nice greek food. I wouldnt recommend this for a holiday mind. its 20 minutes from athens airport. So is a cheap option for an over night stay. breakfast wasnt too good. But overall i've seen much worse.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank soul-sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

When we arrived the family room we ordered was not available due to "a change in reservations" so we had to stay in a noramal room for 1 night which was quite squashed for 3 of us. The elevator was small really, really small. Overall we had apleasent stay. Though the breakfast left a lot to be desired and the service around the pool wasn't great at times. Though the hotel has stunning views there is nothin gto do around the area so it would be advisable to hire a car. At the weekend the locals came in and took over the pool and the sunloungers.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Francey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim253802015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Myrto Hotel
#5 of 8 in Nea Makri
158 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#99 of 282 in Athens
835 reviews
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 8 in Nea Makri
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novus City Hotel
#33 of 282 in Athens
764 reviews
Hotel Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
474 reviews
Attica Beach Hotel
#7 of 8 in Nea Makri
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mati

Address: 33 Posidonos Ave | Mati, Athens 190 09, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $67 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mati Hotel Attica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing