We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review only”
Review of Hotel Mati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mati
Ranked #137 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Restaurant review only”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Cabo Verde hotel but came to the Mati hotel for our evening meals. The young waitress that served us was happy and fun. We tried numerous items on the menu on the three evenings we ate here and were never disappointed. The pannacotta was superb.

Room Tip: Can not comment on rooms but the staff at both the hotel and restaurant can not be faulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    28
    21
    11
See reviews for
40
64
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

While the coastline Mati is built up, the location is ideal as a final stopover prior to flying out. The airport is 30 mins drive away. you do need a car.
The hotel is a fairly typical seaside hotel. It was very clean. Service was excellent . Breakfast was a good buffet.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timbo49sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We needed a 'don't bother me' type of vacation, searching for the place to escape from city, crowds of people, cars, shopping, etc. The hotel and Mati itself meet our needs exactly! Great view from everywhere (room and restaurant), few people in the sea or at the beach, friendly staff who speaks English. Nice (although rather small) pool, restaurant terrace overlooking the sea is great.
However I need to mention that the beach is very small with little amenities (three umbrellas and ten or so chairs) and not too clean (it is not a problem for us, as we never stay on the beach). The breakfast is still very basic and breakfast coffee is awful.
Still I beleive Mati hotel is the best choice in the neighbourhood. :)

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great sea view and additional window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

i stayed with my family for a long weekend, 4 nigths. The staff was very, very nice and helpful (including warming up a bottle of milk for our baby at 6 am!!!). It is true that the breakfast is not very diversified and the coffee can be much improved, but it provides good value for money! Rooms are clean and spacious and the balcony is great especially if you have sea view. Restaurant has nice greek food at reasonable prices.but again the heart of the place is the staff which is very helpful in any problem you might have! It's a nice quiet location to spend quality time with your family! On the down side is a little isolated and you will not find endless streets with restaurants our shops, but you can quickly reach Athens for that.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malex1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I stayed at Mati Hotel for one night with my wife. Rooms were ok, quite recently painted with new tiles on the bathroom and nice old furniture... Quite Large rooms with very soft beds (not very good for some people). Pool looked nice, did not use it. there was a Lifeguard at the working hours. The real problem with this 4* (?) Hotel was the very Basic and low quality breakfast and poor service from the breakfast stuff. Front desk was friendly and fast.
If you don't mind breakfast, for 70euros per night on mid June, this could be a nice hotel to stay for a couple of nighs if you travel from Rafina port, on your way or returning from the Islands.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wowos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Mati in mid June 2010 - and what a lovely experience it was. Our room was delightful - a corner room on the 5th floor overlooking the sea (lit at night by lights from the tavernas), the balcony was sunny in the morning and the evening which is always welcome, the balcony was furnished with a table and chairs. Our bed was very comfortable, the bathroom is large and aired with an opening window. The bedroom window opens to a fabulous view of the sea with insect screens so it can stay open all night, but the air conditioning unit is very easy to use, and very welcome. The pool, well what you can say about the pool except that it is a seawater pool and is a fabulous place to start your day, and end your day - oh and have a swim in the middle of the day too - lovely place to sit and while away some time with friendly bar service included. The food is good too, breakfast was good - not formal but taken by the pool if you wished, or in the restaurant. The staff at the hotel make your visit very special, they are friendly - speak good English and other languages too. This hotel is less than an hours drive from the airport, but there is no disturbance from the flight path, so all in the all this lovely hotel is something for the Mati hotel staff to be proud of.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplysixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2009

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the place. If your are looking for charming authenic "greek" accomodations this is the place! Mati is a quiet family community, with quiet resturants, a great bakery etc..... This is where the greeks go to get away. Swimming, food, relaxation, and quiet rejuvination. A wonderful place to escape the big city and pollution, and enjoy the wonderful smell of the evergreens, the ocean breeze and good food in a upper class community. Close to Athens for sightseeing, and shopping at Nea Makri. Rent a car though to get around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicothegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
0.2 mi away
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Nea Makri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Attica Beach Hotel
Attica Beach Hotel
#6 of 7 in Nea Makri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avra Rafina
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Myrto Hotel
Myrto Hotel
#5 of 7 in Nea Makri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#7 of 7 in Nea Makri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nea Makri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mati

Property: Hotel Mati
Address: 33 Posidonos Ave | Mati, Athens 190 09, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mati Hotel Attica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing