We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, questionable value”
Review of Athos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athos Hotel
Ranked #101 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 25, 2007

The Athos is in a great, central location between Syndagma square and Monastiraki. Within walking distance to many sites. Hotel staff were very friendly...every staff member quickly matched our faces to our room number so we felt that they "knew" us. First we had a standard room on a lower floor, which was tiny but very clean. On the later half of our stay we had an Acropolis View room on an upper floor. This room was much bigger and nicer, particularly the bathroom, which was worlds bigger than the first. The balcony with acropolis view was very nice. We had no specific complaints about the hotel, everything was in working order and as we booked. What is questionable is whether the Athos is "worth" the price. The standard room was 115E which comes to 135E with taxes. The Acropolis View room was 135E which comes to about 150E with tax. This did NOT include breakfast, which was 8E and didn't seem at all worth it considering there are many pastry shops in the area that offer much better value. I have not stayed anywhere else in Athens so do not have anything to compare with, but I imagine one could find a better deal.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaeldra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 193 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2007

We booked the Athos hotel on the recommendation of a travel guide we were using for the Greek Isles.
I checked the rates and location on the internet. (though I will admit I still didn't know where it was)
After booking through Expedia, I emailed the hotel directly and got a prompt courteous response confirming my reservation. The hotel has some age, but is very clean and the rooms very adequate.
I was a little disappointed in our advertised "Acropolis view," which was limited, but very pleased when we were advised to go to the roof top garden for a more unobstructed view.
The location is great, close to a central square and on one end of a wonderful shopping and eating area.
Nikkos, at the front desk, went out of his way to be accomodating and I felt very welcome.
We left before the scheduled breakfast so have no idea how it is.
I would not heisitate to recommend this hotel and would use it if I return to Athens. I consider it good value.

Stayed: June 2007
7  Thank travellingcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

The hotel is tucked away down a back alley and the map offered is of very limited use. Reception very helpful and friendly. Room clean and nicely decorated but small - the bathroom was tiny! But great view to the Acroplolis - if you can ignore the ugly rooftops between you and it. All that said the price - at 130 euro without breakfast simply did not reflect value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

The Athos Hotel is well-located, clean, and has very comfortable beds. It is a modern small hotel, very convenient to the Plaka, but far enough away that it is quiet.

Hotel staff were very helpful to us during our stay, describing walks we could take in Athens, and talking us through how to get to Syntagma Square (just 5 min away), where we were to catch a very early morning bus to the airport for our flight.

It was a fine place for us to stay, and friends we were travelling with who had requested a room higher up and with a view of the Acropolis also said they were pleased. Expectations are an interesting thing, however: I heard one woman at the Athens airport complain about how terrible her hotel was, the smallness of the room, the rudeness of the staff, and it turned out to be the same hotel, and on the same night! We had a lovely stay, and loved Athens. I would be happy to stay at the Athos again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WA_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

We stayed 7 nights al the Athos Hotel the staff was very helpfull, professional and also friendly. This is not a upscale hotel, but it was way better than the others for the same price, big kingsize bed and the bathroom is huge, not the "closet/acrobat tipe" bath you ussually get in Europe...we have a bathtube!! The AC worked perfectly too. The location is superb, we have a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs to see the Acropolis by night , drinking frozen ouzo. The street is very little and quiet. And the location is perfect!! I was in a mission, 1 see the Acropilis, 2 drink ouzo and 3 buy carpets for my home. And if you are interested, I found the perfect place Gallery Manolakis in 4 KALOGRIONI STREET, Mr. Isidoros Manolakis send us to Mexico 3 big carpets, took some time to arrive but the price was so right, that we have to take the risk.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank chilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

It was our first visit to Athens and we were advised to use this hotel by our local friend.

Location : Great.. you can even see the Acropolis from your bedroom. Its in the walking distance to heart of athens. in 5mins time, you would find a metro station, a taxi rank, shopping opportunities or great restaurants

Staff : They were great. Interested in giving advices and cheerful.

Room: Very nice, clean, bright and large twin room we had. Try staying in the higher floors as we did to utilize the evening breeze, otherwise you might feel hot. Ours even had a large terrace to enjoy the evening.

I will definetly recommend to anyone and will use it again.

Stayed: June 2005
7  Thank kordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed at the Athos Hotel in May 2006 and stayed in the Acropolis view room on the top floor. The room was big enough for 4 adults (2 in queen size bed and 2 in twin beds). The view of the Acropolis was really great (especially at night when the whole hill is lit up) and from our room the view was un-obscured (previous poster must have been on lower floor). The hotel was clean and the morning staff was friendly and helpful (unlike the evening desk clerk who was friendly but rather useless when it came to knowing info about restaurants, theaters, etc). The breakfast was by no means an American breakfast but was typical for a European hotel. The hotel was centrally located to things near the Acropolis including the Plaka and the Monastiraki Market. We would definitely stay at the Athos again.

Stayed: May 2006
8  Thank Wekiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,830 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Achilleas Hotel
Achilleas Hotel
#104 of 282 in Athens
341 reviews
Syntagma
Astor Hotel Athens
Astor Hotel Athens
#103 of 282 in Athens
735 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#68 of 282 in Athens
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Hotel

Address: 3 Patroou, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $65 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athos Hotel is located in the gorgeous historic neighbourhood of Plaka and is open throughout the year. Recently refurbished and converted into a beautiful boutique hotel, Athos Hotel offers a unique opportunity to relax and enjoy your stay in Athens in a very friendly and tranquil environment, while being in the very heart of Athens. The elegant interior of Athos Hotel, the provision of faultless professional services and the friendly attitude of the hotel staff would satisfy even the most demanding guest. Because of its location in Plaka, in the very heart of old Athens, and its excellent connection with all means of transportation, Athos Hotel is the ideal place to stay in order to visit the main Athenian attractions and get familiar with Athens. ATHOS Hotel has been renovated in November 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing