We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation and a good clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Myrto Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Myrto Athens
Ranked #28 of 68 Athens B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs renovation and a good clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a stop over on route to the islands. Location is great but that is all. The room as a good size but very run down. There was a huge crack about a meter long over the bed, the shower rail was held together with duck tape that looked like it had been there for a long time and there was lots of mould on the shower curtain. If you are looking for a budget hostel to put your head down in a nice location stay here. If you want a clean bedroom and bathroom don't.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank myrsoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    82
    49
    28
    33
See reviews for
49
101
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was very happy with my stay at the Myrto, which is excellently situated a short walk to Plaka, and also an equally short walk from Syntagma Square. I arrived on the airport bus which goes to Syntagma Square, and it was an easy walk to the Myrto from there. The staff are very friendly, and were always available to advise on transportation conditions for those who were planning to continue their journey in Greece. I also appreciated all of the suggestions of what to do in Athens, how to get there, and when is the best time to go. The breakfast was good enough to get one going, and included eggs, breads, all manner of cereals, fruits, yogurt, etc. My room was very clean, and though I have read complaints on the worn down aspect of the hotel, I did not feel this to be a drawback. Everything worked fine, and for the price, the important things to me are cleanliness, good food, and friendly, helpful staff. To say nothing of the location! I'll definitely go back to the Myrto on my next trip to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in sep 2011 for two nights. Think it costed about eur 80 per might. we were thinking to save a bit in Athens and stay in nicer hotels when we go to the islands. The minute we walked in the hotel, we regretted very much. The rooms looked horrible, the door felt like anyone could push through, there is absolutely no view, the window is actually blocked. The small elevator was quite an experience. And we didn't feel safe there with a door like that and hearing sounds from Dont know Where. We got there late that night, or else we would really check out the hotel around the corner which looked a lot more modern and decent. However, given the condition, the room is clean. Everything is worn down but at least it looked clean. The staff there are nice. We need to leave the airport early at 6am, and he made breakfast for us early. The yogurt is also super. There is only a few blow dryer in the hotel, but the women did help us to find one eventually.

Understand this is budget hotel, but we weren't prepared for this. So suggest if paying 30-50 eur more isn't too much of an issue to you after all, don't try this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eatpraylove999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kiruna, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had one family room and one double room during our stay in the middle of June 2012. Both rooms were very worn down as the whole hotel and in desperate need of remodelling.

Everything was kept very clean which must be a constant struggle for the cleaners.

The staff is very nice and helpful and the location is good, near Syntagma and Plaka.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chania_Endaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here in Sept. 2011 for 1 week. As stated in the title the interior of the room ex. rugs very worn, paint worn, hotel not modernized for many years. BUT the workers were wonderful, breakfast was good, location was excellent and the place was very clean. During a transportation strike the girl at the desk helped us rearrange our day very easily and workers were able to help at all times. Most spoke english pretty well. As stated by someone elses review, the small elevator is quite an experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrenkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed at the Myrto Hotel in September 2011. Great location, walking distance to the Plaka and all major attractions. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. We had an amazing view of the Acropolis, but not sure if all the rooms have the view. We asked for a room with a view when we booked. The rooms are OK, we would definitely stay here again, but it's not a 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StandingOnTheBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

What this hotel has going for it is location very close to the Plaka and a congenial staff ... and that's about it. It's possible that we got the worst room in the hotel. I can certainly believe it. Both the door frame and the door were rotting and crooked so that anyone could have just leaned on the door and pushed through, thus making the lock pointless. The bathroom was hideous. It smelled badly of obvious mildew. The shower wall was peeling away in a dozen places and tiles were crumbling - not just cracking but crumbling - all over. After taking a shower, I felt like I needed another shower somewhere clean. You expect to make concessions at a budget hotel, but this was too much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#125 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#121 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#122 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#75 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Plaka
Omiros Hotel
Omiros Hotel
#108 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#62 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Myrto Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Myrto Athens

Property: Hotel Myrto Athens
Address: 40 Nikis | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Myrto Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Myrto is centrally located and is within walking distance of the Akropolis and Plaka as well as Syntagma Square. An affordable place to stay with friendly staff and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Myrto Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing