We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Polis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Polis Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is nestled on a side street near a main square and metro stop. The staff, especially Vassilis and Statis took excellent care of us. They were both most helpful with directions and historical information. Our room was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibokonatwiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We traveled to Athens with business purposes. We chose for Polis Grand hotel first because of the perfect location, only 2 minutes from the metro station, and 5-10 minutes walking distance to the centre of Athens. There is a direct metro from the Hotel to the airport and also to each part of the city (30 min to the airport, 10 minutes to the city centre and the Port).
The rooms are clean and very good. Space enough. Breakfast is good too. The area is perfect for few days in Athens, shops, restaurants in the area + perfect view to the Acropolis.
The personal is so nice and kind. They are very polite. We had a late flight, so the hotel allowed us to check out at 17:00, instead of 12:00. Fantastic! For sure next time we will choose the same hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilenaKrumova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We always look to stay at this hotel when we are in Athens, normally in between our trips out to Syros. The staff are always exceptionally friendly, helpful and supportive. When we were stuck in Athens 2 years ago due to the ferry strikes, they helped us to find something on the main land. Value for money, this hotel we feel is exceptional. They have an excellent memory for faces and welcomed us with open arms. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Vassilis on reception goes out of his way to help others who need it and always has a smile on his face whatever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: executive suites on the eighth floor are worth the extra money for the view of the acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

had mixed views prior to my arrival due to adverse comment regarding location!<the same happened when i visited napoli>.i neither saw nor heard anything untoward about this 'area' .no mention was made by other guests in the bar or over breakfast.maybe,as i live in the centre of a big city,i am innured to various sights.i repeat no drug addictsno obviously unsavoury types,no hassle whatsoever night or day!hotels location suited me ideally as i could walk everywhere.perfect weather<pure luck>enabled me to 'stroll' to the acropolis in about 30 mins,diverting down side streets ,if anything caught my eye.plaka and acropolis ,obviously aimed very much at tourists with appropriate prices.here i was approached by two obvious touts who accepted my 'no's' and went off.hotel staff really are good,helpful and aim to please.the roof bar prices are no longer 'enhanced'<as previous reviewer stated>.maybe its 'off season'.the 'barmaid',kristina,was truly a gem with a great sense of humour.'upstairs' food closed at 10ish,although the bar stayed open much later.
the rooms were fine.,lean and traffic noise was not a problem.everything worked.good selection of international tv channels.i am glad i stayed here as i saw nothing better in any of the other hotels i went to for a drink etc.<4 star hotel opposite charged double price for a beer>,3 enjoyable nights,recommended for long w/e tourists like myself at a 'bargain' price

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I have always been very happy with my stay. The reception staff, Mr Vasilis and Stathis are delightful, very nice, professional and always helpful. The location of the hotel is central, just a short walk from public transport and the business centre and within easy reach of all attractions. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel and once again we were impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the reception staff. Even prior to our visit we were given information about some local store that we needed to locate but couldn't. Throughout our two night stay a receptionist was always there, always courteous and eager to help, and Mr Vasilis was very pleasant to chat with. always armed with a smile.
Our executive room on the 8th floor (no.806) had fabulous views of Lycabettus Hill out of the window and from our spacious balcony an amazing clear view of the Acropolis. The shower was possibly the most powerful one in Greece, and the room had a TV., safe, a/c, minibar, fridge, coffee and tea facilities and free WiFi.
Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice.
The hotel location is great for Omonia metro and the square, infact we walked easily everywhere from there. We never felt unsafe or threatened in any way, and we walked late at night without seeing anything untoward. We've been to Athens many times and we love the lively and friendly atmosphere.
We wouldn't hesitate to recomend Polis Grand, it's everything you need for a great stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Higher up = less traffic noise. If you can pay a little extra and take a room with a balcony on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenelopevanSchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As soon as I arrive at the hotel the receptionist Mr. Vasilis was very helpful and friendly. He was smilling at me all the time. When I asked him for some directions around the hotel he was very helpful.
The rooms were very clean. The location wasn't so perfect, let's say it was good because metro station was around the corner.
Excelle staff!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athanasia2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polisgrand, Director of Sales at Polis Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Athanasia2507, Thank you for choosing the Polis Grand Hotel for your recent stay in Athens and for your excellent review. We are glad when we see that our guests feel our hotel as their home away from their home and leave the hotel with best impressions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 285 in Athens
2,194 reviews
Omonia
Athens Tiare Hotel
Athens Tiare Hotel
#25 of 285 in Athens
287 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 285 in Athens
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 285 in Athens
630 reviews
Stratos Vassilikos
#27 of 285 in Athens
633 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#56 of 285 in Athens
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polis Grand Hotel

Address: 19 Patission | 10 Veranzerou, Athens 10432, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $84 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Polis Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Polis Grand Hotel, a fine 4- star hotel in the heart of the historical and commercial center of Athens. Since 1974 we have been personally taking care of our guests in our 100 renovated rooms, combining modern high-standard services with the tradition of genuine hospitality.The hotel's central location offers easy access to the public transportation means, the Eleftherios Venizelos international airport and the Piraeus and Rafina ports, the major exposition centers, public services and organizations, the downtown theater stages, the museums and art galleries, the best commercial shops and malls, the entertainment scene, the sports events venues and the most important tourist attractions of Athens. Thus, Polis Grand Hotel in Athens, makes an ideal accommodation choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Polis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polis Grand Athens
Hotel Polis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing