We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Diethnes
Nearby Hotels
$573
$472
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$176
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$303
$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
$257
$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Athens(Athens)
$199
$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
$269
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
16
32
29
16
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
32
29
16
30
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 123 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good:
+The front desk was very helpful in answering all our questions regarding ferry schedules and how to purchase tickets early.
+Nice big non scratchy towels.
+Near the metro.
+Wifi (user name/pw given for each device).
+Very clean

Bad:
-Didn't get to experience the breakfast because we had to leave at 5:30am to catch a ferry.
-AC was weak.
-The power that's activated by the room key was broken and held together by a thin piece that wouldn't stay in place.
-The handyman never came to fix the broken power activator. We had to sacrifice a bandaid to keep the power/AC in the room.
-Drainage. The soap bubbles from my shower came up from the middle of the drain and the sink was backed up. Probably could use some Drain-o to unclog whatever it was in the pipes.

We spent one night before we had to catch a ferry to Mykonos. It was so hot in Athens when we arrived, we were super sticky and a cold shower was in order.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank power_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

C1 ( 2013.08.22 )
Hotel per price was very good. The staff was very kind, and they want to help us everytime. Room was good, and everything was good for me. But hotel surroundings was not good. The market was so far from hotel, and was very different atmosphere from in the middle of city. Except surrounding, all was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanisHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here 8 nights in August. As a solo woman traveler I felt completely cared for, safe and comfortable. The place is quirky with a selection of nic-nacs lining the stairs and hallways. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. I was greeted everyday with a smile by everyone including the cleaning ladies. The 2 ladies on reception are extremely nice and went out of their way to chat with me every time I passed by, which is lovely when you're on your own. Their English is very good.
It's definitely worthwhile taking the breakfast option. The buffet is laid out well with a generous selection of cheese, meat, egg, bread, olives, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, sweet croissants, several different juices to choose from, tea & coffee. Everything was fresh.
My room was cleaned satisfactorily everyday with fresh towels, toilet paper & soap ... everything a traveler needs.
I found the location good. A Carrefour supermarket is a couple of minutes walk from the front door as is Larissa Metro station. The street is quiet so a good night sleep is assured.
Only negative is there is not much around the hotel in the way of eateries or cafes.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are sunny and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br0nJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had mixed feelings towards this hotel. The building itself is lovely and the location is convenient as there is free parking and also it is very close to a metro stop and only around 10 minutes to the centre of Athens.

We booked a four person room and upon arrival found ourselves in a room that seemed to originally have been a two person room with two extra beds squashed in. It was difficult to move around the beds and only two of them had plug sockets and lights by them.

Our air conditioning was also broken and we were made to feel very silly by the man on reception who told us it was working, we just needed to turn it on. The next day we spoke to another lady who told us that she knew the air con was broken and it had been logged. We asked if we could switch as we had paid for AC and it was very hot. We stayed another night in the room and then went to ask if we could switch again. This time a very kind lady helped us to find a new 4 person room which was much bigger and nicer than the room we had originally been in.

The end of our stay was fantastic, we had a great room and were very comfortable and were just unlucky for the first two nights which has coloured our judgement somewhat.

On the whole the area seemed relatively ok. We saw a few people looking into car windows with crow bars but otherwise the area seemed to be quite safe. For the price it is a great place, and lovely old building.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located in a quiet street, just off Larissa Station square, so getting there and subsequently around Athens is easy: metro and loads of buses are a minute away. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful (although the night staff seems to enjoy wine a bit too much). The room we stayed in (family and child) had a double bed and a bunk - but the room and washroom really were too small to accomodate three. The little balcony had two seats, but again, was too small for comfort. The breakfast is being served on the roof terrace, which has basically been closed and can't be called a terrace no more. What is served does the job but is sort of Spartan in terms of choice. And since smoking is still quite okay in Greece, don't be susprised if you have your breakfast with a smoker next to you. All in all very good vakue for money and perfectly located in terms of city accesability, but don't expect any serious comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickKempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews