We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop bar!”
Review of Athens Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Backpackers
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooftop bar!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights recently and had a great time.
The rooms are clean and the rooftop bar is awesome.
You look straight up at the acropolis and at night it is a great spot to chill out.
The only area I think could be improved is the staff's ability to give directions. We went on a couple of wild goose chases through the town after getting directions. It was always humorous though!
A great place to stay, friendly staff and an amazing bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusBen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    218
    61
    17
    14
See reviews for
21
57
188
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked a 3 night stay in a 3 bed ensuite dorm but after the first shower it wouldn't work again. We were offered to stay in the room(?) or be upgraded to the studios which we took. The dorm had everything that we needed. The studio was very nice, with a kitchen and utensils. Also had tea and coffee which was a bonus. Walking tour is a great way to meet people here as we did and the tour guide was really knowledgeable. Negatives would be the breakfast at the studio - two small rolls, 2 hard boiled eggs and 1 hot drink was a joke compared to the help yourself toast, eggs, coffee and jam at the backpackers. When our shower broke as well the lady on reception seemed so uninterested in the issue which was rude. Every other staff member encountered though we're lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abergz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Amazing location, just 2 min away from every place you need to see in Athens, really nice and helpful staff that is ready to answer to any questions that you may have. The walking tour provided by the hostel for only 6 euros was a great experience, the guide George, seemed to know everything about the city of Athens. The roof top bar had an awesome view to akropolis and I really enjoyed the karaoke night at sports bar. They even had a laundry, perfect for people who are travelling for some time. I would definitely stay there again and I really recommend it to anyone who wants to have a great experience in Athens!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guan_C_Yin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am living in Athens the past 2 years and lately i cannot accommodate friends that are visiting. After searching for stay in the areas around Acropolis for them i discovered the Athens Backpackers and Studios, family run place that takes so good care of my guests every time and it has never failed. I've stayed here with my friends and some of the rooms are bigger than my apartment, the family studios are amazing rooms, with a full kitchen inside, huge balconies, the apartments with the lounge are so pretty. Plus the fish cafe which has become local's favorite dining place, serves free breakfast for the guests, the bar next door keeps you there every night with an event, and of course staying at Athens Studios or Backpackers makes sightseeing and getting to know the city very easy. Reception desk has so many suggestions about things you can do out of the beaten bath and they have always been meeting the requests of my crazy friends, all with a smile, i always try to have a chat with them...A couple of my friends with lower budget have stayed in the dormitories and they were really happy as well... the walking tour seems to be a good one, my friends new more staff about the city than me after that, i am thinking of taking it myself. ..

Room Tip: Check out the website and see pictures of the room before you book, they are real pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome - it is located right near the acropolis and has a really nice rooftop bar which is great for socializing. The rooms are really nice, new and clean. The staff are also very friendly and staying here really made our experience in athens!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were supposed to stay a night at this place and were very excited. It wasn't the cheapest hostel but they seem to run a tight operation from the description with 24 hour customer service and attention to backpackers needs. Or so we thought! Our ferry was cancelled due to a storm and we had to change all of our travel plans in quite a hurry. We tried calling them, emailing them to let them know what happened, but no one was there. The 24 hour desk was a myth. They never responded to our emails, but charged us a full price for no show. Most places in Greece make allowances for ferry disruption but these people couldn't give a [--]. their whole backpacking ethos is a joke and they couldn't care less about helping people who travel on a budget. Truly, this place left the worst impression. Stay away unless u absolutely have to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athensstudios, Owner at Athens Backpackers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Olga,
It seems very unfair that we should receive a damming report from you about our customer service when you never even stayed with us. Our reception is open 24hrs should you need anything. And our phones are answered 100% of the time. We are constantly praised by guests as to the high levels of professionalism shown by all our staff.

Our booking cancellation policy is very forgiving compared to most accommodation providers. But we do need 24hrs in writing for cancellations as per the terms and conditions when you book. This is to protect you as much as us. Unfortunately when you cancel for what ever reason ( and we did check with the Greek Ferry Authorities) all ferry's where running that day. Our policy is to not charge for cancelled ferry's as its no fault of yours. But on this particular day they where running. And we need to be fair in our treatment of everyone. We love freestyle travelers its what we have built our business on. Come back and actually stay with us for free and we can show you how good our customer service. Kind Regards Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After making a last minute decision to stay in Athens for 1 week for business trip. I stayed at the Athens backpackers studios. it is very important to me the when I stay somewhere I feel very comfortable. Athens back packers may not sound the most ideal place to stay when you have high expectations, Or are used to 5 star treatment. I followed my friends advice who stayed there a few months ago and booked into the privet apartment. Rm 19. A spacious apartment , very clean, well equipped with all the basic needs that one may require when renting a Short let apartment comes also With A great balcony. Fast internet connection. And cleaned on a daily basis.
The location of the studios is perfect. I min away from the acropolis, the museum and the metro for you at access any part of Athens. The studios are located in the district of plaka. Which is a must see when in Athens. It's the ancient town. With good shops, beautiful restaurants and easy access to go for long quite walks.
The studios are above the sports bar where you can meet like minded people from all over the world all ages and even families older generation and couples. Over the week that I stayed there was a quiz night a karaoke and sports and games night. Very fun. I met loads of new people. There's is also a laundrette where you can do your quick washes and drying if need be. Everything was clean and functional.
There was also a fish cafe. It has to be the best place in Athens to eat burgers. It's a glorified fish and chips restaurants. You will not regret going there and trust me you will get addicted to there food. Great value. Defiantly goes in my top 3 places to eat when in Athens.
All round I was surprised at the service quality and what they offer for what I paid compared. To staying in a 5 star hotel. Defiantly return and most. Defiantly recommend this place to everyone I meet who mentions their going to Athens.11 out of 10 well do e to the masterminds of this joint.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank vishalpp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,238 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,758 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,015 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#49 of 326 in Athens
1,470 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 326 in Athens
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Backpackers

Property: Athens Backpackers
Address: 12 Makri Str. | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athens Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A never-to-be-forgotten experience.This non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travelers like you! Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhere' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.Join us for a few nights or as long as you want as the seasons change. Its the best time to see the ancient sites, explore the cobblestone laneways or eat your self silly with world class cuisine. You can do amazing day trips to places like the Temple of Posideon and Medieval Nemea which are only 2 hours a way on the bus. Its hard not to love Athens as much us we do, and we promise to look after you every step of the way. We hope to see you soon! No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Athens Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Backpackers Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing