We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Position”
Review of Athens Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Position”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Dont worry about the photos. They dont do this place justice. Its clean, the people running it are great, its cheap and its in the best location you can get. There is also a milkbar about 30sec walk that sells beer...awesome. I stayed here with my mate and our girlfriends and we had a blast, met heaps of people while sitting around having a drink and they ended up coming to the greek islands with us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    219
    61
    17
    15
See reviews for
22
57
189
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The website booking was a little unclear, so I ended up staying in the backpackers rather than the studios as I intended, but for a single night this was fine.

I was in a 4-bed ensuite room on the first floor which was clean, spacious and had two balconies with orange trees outside. Beds were reasonably comfortable but the room was very hot. It didn't seem to make any difference having the windows closed for the aircon, so we left the windows open for a little ventilation.

Breakfast was simple (eggs, toast, tea, coffee) but there are plenty of cafes nearby. The surrounding area is great, lots of restaurants, good atmosphere, right by Acropolis metro.

The staff were welcoming and very helpful for booking a reliable taxi to the bus station in the morning. Other people staying were friendly and considerate, so it felt like a safe place to stay. There was free wifi throughout, free bag storage, open plan lounge area as well as the rooftop with a great view across the city.

Room Tip: Check if the aircon is working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Can't believe how perfect this location is. It could not be more convenient for your time in Athens, right on the metro stop for the Acropolis and ancient ruins. There's a rooftop bar with Parthenon views, free and fast wifi, free breakfast, and everything is totally secure and safe. One of the best hostels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a 4-bed ensuite room and stayed there for three nights. The aircon was working but it continuously leaked drops of water. We immediately told this to the staff but they didn't act on this until the third night. We placed the trash can over the AC leak and half the trash can was filled in the morning.

When were back for another night, we were still assigned to the same room, and the AC was wonky - turned on and off - even if we closed all the windows (AC won't work when windows are open). Booo.

Breakfast is so-so. There's free coffee and tea in the kitchen.

This hostel was saved by its great location. It is just a short walk from the Acropolis and the side streets may look a bit uninteresting but we found some really good restaurants nearby. Lots of souvenir shops, and we were able to walk to Syntagma Square and Plaka as well.

Room Tip: The AC in room 1-1 during our stay sucked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodymedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Couldn't believe how friendly, comfortable and cheap this place is. Right next to the Acropolis and the metro underground system and a really interesting area. What more could you ask for. They have opened a new section called Studios which is even better, with the city's only laundrette underneath. Everyone working there is totally geared up to be friendly and helpful. Do it.

Room Tip: "Sharing a room is cool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The crew that runs this place is great, its right down the street from the Acropolis and the Metro, and there's a rooftop bar overlooking the Parthenon and old town. What else could you possibly be looking for in a hostel in Athens?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

You really can't beat the location of athens backpackers, right next to the Akropoli metro stop and within walking distance of almost all the main sites. The rooms are really nice compared to most other hostels i've stayed in - very clean, en suite bathroom, little kitchen and a balcony. The restaurant and bar downstairs make the atmosphere really fun. I would definitely recommend! Had a great time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CarolineC354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,268 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,028 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#50 of 326 in Athens
1,488 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Backpackers

Property: Athens Backpackers
Address: 12 Makri Str. | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athens Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A never-to-be-forgotten experience.This non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travelers like you! Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhere' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.Join us for a few nights or as long as you want as the seasons change. Its the best time to see the ancient sites, explore the cobblestone laneways or eat your self silly with world class cuisine. You can do amazing day trips to places like the Temple of Posideon and Medieval Nemea which are only 2 hours a way on the bus. Its hard not to love Athens as much us we do, and we promise to look after you every step of the way. We hope to see you soon! No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Athens Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Backpackers Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing