We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in a Great City”
Review of Athens Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Backpackers
Ranked #4 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Great City”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Couldn't believe how friendly, comfortable and cheap this place is. Right next to the Acropolis and the metro underground system and a really interesting area. What more could you ask for. They have opened a new section called Studios which is even better, with the city's only laundrette underneath. Everyone working there is totally geared up to be friendly and helpful. Do it.

Room Tip: "Sharing a room is cool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    219
    61
    17
    15
See reviews for
22
57
189
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The crew that runs this place is great, its right down the street from the Acropolis and the Metro, and there's a rooftop bar overlooking the Parthenon and old town. What else could you possibly be looking for in a hostel in Athens?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

You really can't beat the location of athens backpackers, right next to the Akropoli metro stop and within walking distance of almost all the main sites. The rooms are really nice compared to most other hostels i've stayed in - very clean, en suite bathroom, little kitchen and a balcony. The restaurant and bar downstairs make the atmosphere really fun. I would definitely recommend! Had a great time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CarolineC354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great find in a fantastic location. It wasn't particularly cheap but for the quality of room and location it is good value. They do have cheaper rooms available so it is an excellent choice for those on a budget. It is noisy at night around the hotel but the double glazing worked well and we could shut the noise out easily.
We stayed with our two boys in the couple + room on the fourth floor. It was very well equipped (with a great shower) but we couldn't make the telly work which was great but a disappointment for the boys! Be careful when booking this room online - if you have children with you you must ring so that they can set the two small foldaway beds up. We didn't do that but the lady on reception was very kind and helped us get that sorted out in no time. All staff were very warm and welcoming.
The breakfast included was basic but could easily (and not too expensively) be supplemented with fruit, juice and bacon/egg butties. They had even anticipated that guests would have overslept following the hour change and kept serving breakfast for an extra hour!
Checkout time is early but with a good luggage storage facility this was not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked the Athens Backpackers Hostel, but we got moved to the suites, free of charge due to renovations in the building. We stayed in a six bed dorm with en suite bathroom. The rooms were very clean and modern, with a maid coming in daily to clean the bathroom and floors and everything, and also had a small kitchen. There are lockers available, which we used our own locks on. The room was more than big enough for six! There was a nice terrace. All the staff were more than helpful with giving us directions, and letting us use the telephone. The breakfast consisted of two hard boiled eggs, a couple buns with jam and butter available, and coffee & tea. The location is perfect, very short walk to the acropolis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rroossaaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

it is located right next to the acropolis metro station, so it is easy to get there.
All staffs were kind, room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

First off: this hostel is ok to stay at but very average....

I stayed in a 6 bed all female dorm with an ensuite bathroom.
The room was very tiny for 6 people.. And the heater............ And the air conditioner......... Both running at the same time!!!!!!!!!!!! WTF?!?!?!
You could turn the AC off, which I did (despite nagging room mates, I didn't give a efffff about!!). You could also" turn the heater off"... But it was still running!!! Not heating but the water was running!! Maybe it had to go through every heater to go upstairs... I don't know. But it was HELL!!!!
Soooo loud!! If you are a light sleeper you won't get any sleep! I could only sleep because I was very tired from all the walking.

A maid comes in every day and cleans the bathroom, which is really nice.

Staff is nice but nothing special. This was one of the least active hostels I have ever stayed in. Maybe because it wasn't high season?!

The breakfast is very very plain. Toast, jam, instant coffee and boiled eggs.

I pretty much had a second breakfast outside :D


They have another building with studios around the corner. There is a cafe and also a laundromat which is really handy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,275 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,030 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#50 of 326 in Athens
1,490 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Backpackers

Property: Athens Backpackers
Address: 12 Makri Str. | Makrigianni, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athens Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A never-to-be-forgotten experience.This non-smoking, English speaking joint - great opportunity to meet free-style travelers like you! Free WiFi all day, everyday, everywhere' famous Australian-owned and run hostel, right in the heart of classical Athens, an up-market area (98% rated best location) that is safe, central and door-to-door from the airport by metro. You'll have an amazing time at AB's, there is always something on from Quiz nights, Karaoke Nights, Walking tours and Happy Hour 7 days a week.Join us for a few nights or as long as you want as the seasons change. Its the best time to see the ancient sites, explore the cobblestone laneways or eat your self silly with world class cuisine. You can do amazing day trips to places like the Temple of Posideon and Medieval Nemea which are only 2 hours a way on the bus. Its hard not to love Athens as much us we do, and we promise to look after you every step of the way. We hope to see you soon! No hidden charges (no penalties for using credit cards) free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day and luggage storage.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Athens Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Backpackers Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing