We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hostel”
Review of Hostel Zeus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Zeus
Ranked #50 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Okay hostel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hostel Zeus is one of the cheapest hostels in Athens and for the price, it really is okay. The toilets and showers weren't the best, but nothing too bad to complain about. Wifi is available on the bottom floors. You have to pay extra for AC and sheets, but not a lot. Do the free walking tour, the guide George was awesome. In four hours you really get to see all the important sites of Athens and learn a lot of history. Bring money as you'll want to leave a good tip!
Also - ask for their sister hostel. It's not far and has a much better rooftop bar, overlooking the Acropolis, a view that you won't forget!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank berlinizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    49
    34
    24
See reviews for
4
25
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Amazing location - only 6 min walking distance from Monastiraki station, and Acropolis. Very friendly staff - in fact I made friends with them all: Alex and Gerald. Free walking tour guide (this is a +)! The guide, George, is such a nice guy I highly recommend going on a walking tour with him! Music can be laud at night as the hostel has a bar on the roof. So if you want a silent room try the first floors. Overall, I will come back to Zeus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I always start with a review of the directions that the hostel give to find the place, and this hostel needs to change their description of how to find it. You will get to the main city square no problem, but from here they become vague. They say 'walk a few minutes' down the main street, turn right, then walk a few more minutes before you arrive' In essence,these directions are correct. However, the talk is a lot more than a few minutes, probably 20 minutes, and stressfull enough to find if its your first time in the city and carrying a lot of bags etc

We arrived at the hostel anyway, sweaty and tired after a long flight. We had booked a double private room, but when they arrived they told us there was none, but there as a room with 2 single beds in it. We said we would take it, no bother. It was up on the top floor,they said. Be grand,they said. We took to the steps like a sherpa to Mt. Everest, and after about 100 steps we arrived in the room. Small enough, but ok. But as soon as we closed the door, the music from the rooftop bar started. Non stop, Nickleback, on repeat,and very loud. Not even good music blaring! We went back down and asked if the bar was open late, the we were told it would be open till 4am at least. We asked to be changed rooms but this was not possible till the following day.

Anyway,we went out for a Giro and came back at one, with the bar in full flow. We went in and i chatted to the barman, the Jiggaman (nice guy), and asked when the bar was closed. He laughed and asked if we were the ones in room 23, across from the bar. He said it would be closing soon anyway, and was true to his word.

However, this was when the noise started. There is literally no rules around noise at night, people were literally running around outside our room screaming up to about 5am, with no staff in sight to regulate things. Was the same the next night. Very,very bad sleep. To say i was seething would be an understatement.

The shower on our floor was an absolute joke too, it was a toilet, shower combination. Basically a hose attached to the sink, right beside the toilet. Disgusting. Even worse than the showers in 11a.

The staff at the hostel were all sound in fairness.Needs a night porter. I know hostels are party places at the best of times, and despite being drunk both night i still couldn't get to sleep with the noise.

Was glad to get out of it, wont reccomend it, and will never return. Good day sir.

Room Tip: Dont go anywhere near the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hostel is very nice, clean bathrooms, clean and comfortable rooms/beds, great bar from the terrace and a fantastic walking tour. We learned so much to this tour.. also the have a sailing boat and the give for cheap price a voyage to the Aegean sea near to Athens sea side..i wanna go there again if i can someday.. See ya, soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Price is really competitive.
Position is also good: close to the tube and far 10 minutes walk from the Acropoli.
I would suggest to walk down to the Acropoli instead of going with the tube. there is a very nice and local market on the way, just few meters from the hostel.

hostel has two PCs to navigate and wifi as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janLu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It s really nice, even if, we came in the low season, it s a little bit noisy but the guy are really nice and open minded.
We are very close to the center and the most important, close to the acropole.
Decent price.
The bathroom are a little bit small but it s really okay!!!!!!
Everything is clean: toilets, bathroom, beds.
Moreover, the metro station is very close!!!!!!!!1

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salamesh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice place for having vacations to Athens. The rooms were very clean and the showers also. The guys at the reception desk were extremely helpful and gave us good advises and informations about the city. Also they offer for free a walking tour to learn more about the history, was great! Acropolis, is only 10 minutes from the hostel and the city center.. u really feel like local there.I definitely recommend this hostel, had so much fun there..

Room Tip: private room 22 with big double bed with a/c is excellent, also room 11 is dormitory with 4 single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demetries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Pangrati
Pagration Youth Hostel
Pagration Youth Hostel
#212 of 326 in Athens
66 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#165 of 326 in Athens
253 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#76 of 326 in Athens
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chameleon Youth Hostel
#12 of 67 in Athens
43 reviews
Plaka
Small Funny World
Small Funny World
#42 of 67 in Athens
14 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
AthenStyle Hostel
AthenStyle Hostel
#10 of 67 in Athens
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Zeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Zeus

Property: Hostel Zeus
Address: 27 Sofokleous Street, Athens 10559, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Zeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Zeus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing