We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,040)
Filter reviews
2,040 results
Traveler rating
729
978
262
57
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
978
262
57
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar syntagma square great location acropolis view central athens small elevator an amazing view quiet street walking distance bathroom door rooms are small restaurants and shops yogurt roof garden the air conditioning tourist attractions double bed
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,040 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The hotel name says it all: a centrally located hotel in the Plaka district of Athens.
Three other couples and ourselves stayed for three days and all agreed it met our travel needs. We could walk to most any place we wanted to see.This is important because traffic in Athens is heavy and the streets are narrow and not well marked. The rooms were small and clean with comfortable beds.The hotel staff was helpful and were ready to answer our questions The daily breakfast was generous and had Greek and American choices. The views from the roof top bar looked great but because of high winds and rain, we were not able to spend much time there .I recommend this great hotel for its location, breakfast and comfort.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendation on Central Athens Hotel. Unfortunately you visited us the weekend that extreme weather conditions were hitting Greece. We will be happy to welcome you back in another trip to Athens to enjoy our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Best location! You can combine EVERYTHING! Sightseeing, leisure, great food either Greek or international, shopping! This hotel is the right choice for your accommodation and your convenience!!! All the places you want to visit like Monastiraki, Plaka, Parthenonas are just nearby. The famous shopping area located in the center, Ermou and Mitripoleos street just a breath away. Some steps further up is the Syntagma square, Kolonaki, Voukourestiou.
All the streets nearby are full of cozy cafes, restaurants, bars. A city that never sleeps!
Hotel Staff was very helpful and polite! Amenities of the hotel were enough, room and beds comfortable, the hotel was clean and well reserved! Strongly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thank you for your enthusiastic comments and recommendation on Central Athens Hotel. We will be happy to welcome you back to enjoy Athens and our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We only spent one night here but as soon as we arrived we were very happy with our experience. First off, our room was ready early which was such a nice treat after being on a flight for 10 hours. We were also very surprised to find that our room had a view of the Acropolis which we were definitely not expecting. The location is perfect for exploring the major sites in Athens by foot with lots of restaurants and shops close-by. The rooftop bar is a definite must, we watched the sunset while enjoying drinks here and it was just wonderful. One thing to note is that there is only one elevator and it is very small so we usually took the stairs to avoid waiting forever. Aside from that, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendation on Central Athens Hotel. It is nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back for another pleasant vacation in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to the Plaka district and the Acropolis. Breakfast was good, was traveling with Gluten Free guest and their selection was great also.
Rooms were clean and a good size. Great view from the rooftop bar. Overall nice and pleasant stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank carz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you had a nice and pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We didn't stay here on our recent visit*, but the rooftop bar is always where we start our evenings. We've always been lucky to get a table with an amazing view, but try to arrive before the sunset to pick your spot. Order an appetizer and a glass of wine, then watch the Acropolis magically light up in slow motion as the twilight fades. You're high above the noise of the city with box seats for the dramatic light show.

*We stayed in the hotel several years ago and I remember the rooms being very tidy and efficient with a wonderful breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank PNWShutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Thank you for your review on Thea Terrace Bar and your comments on Central Athens Hotel. We will be happy to welcome you back in a future trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews