We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View from Rooftop Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great View from Rooftop Bar”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel was in a great location. All the common spaces were nicely done and the room, although small, was comfortable and and well kept. The roof top bar had a great view of the Acropolis and the breakfast in the morning was the best we have had in a long time. The staff was friendly, helpful and even kept our luggage when we were staying with them. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you can afford the higher price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrWildf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is important for us to have recommendations from satisfied customers. We hope that you will be back soon in a nice trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    810
    209
    38
    12
See reviews for
258
873
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Central Hotel offers a wonderful location in center Athens, where you want to be able to stroll away every day.

Now, the hotel is ok. Rooms are ok as well. Bathrooms do need an update and cleanliness could be improved. But the best value of the hotel is the amazing view from the terrace bar on the upper floor: the Acropolis. This view on its own definitely makes Central Hotel a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uniquenessfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. Our location is ideal for the ones who want to visit all major points of attraction within the city. We are usually praised for our cleanliness so in your case must have been a bad moment. We look forward to see you back soon to enjoy the view to Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very good location near everything to see in Athens. Nice and helpful staff. We had a room at the 6th floor with a little view on the Acropolis. It was calm. Bathroom a bit small but you don't live there !
The big big plus is a wonderful roof terrace : what a view ! and you can have a drink or eat there while enjoying it.
You can also park your car in the garage if you are there on a larger roadtrip; a real plus as parking is so difficult in Athens.
This hotel was recommanded by a friend and I would recommand it too.

Room Tip: If you want more calm, room on the rear (little view on the Acropolis possible). Nevertheless the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens hotel. Being recommended by a customer who had a nice stay in our hotel is always a target. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy a drink at Thea Terrace Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I just recently got back from Greece and the Central Hotel in Athens was my first stop.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was always friendly and willing to help us with our needs. The hotel is located in the Plaka which is were all the restaurants and shops are at. Our room was nice and clean and the hotel offers free breakfast daily.
The best part was the rooftop restaurant which is incredible, you can see the Acropolis and take the most beautiful pictures.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens hotel. It is always a pleasure to have satisfied customers. It will be a greater pleasure to have you back in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is 4-5 blocks from the metro station. The location is great with many restaurants nearby and it is a short walk to the Acropolis. Rooms were crisp, clean and well appointed. When we reserved we asked for a room with a balcony. We were told that the balcony room did not have a great view and we should have listened. It was nice having some outdoor space but the balcony does not have a great view. However we loved the rooftop bar with the great view of the Acropolis. Breakfast was included with the room and they had a wide variety of options. Would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citycat60640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just want to start off by saying that the reception staff we experienced, especially at night, apparently were not fond of Americans. On the other hand, we still enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The elevator is really as small as everyone says. You can squeeze two people with luggage in there. The free buffet breakfast was substantial and delicious to say the least. The rooftop terrace was the highlight for my wife and I. We spent our last night in Athens drinking wine and having great snacks on the roof with the lit up Parthenon as the back drop. The rooftop staff were super nice. The location to Plaka and the sights was nice as it was only a short walk to both.

Room Tip: Spend an evening on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are located in a very convenient spot that can be the start of nice walks around the city’ s major attractions. We apologise for any inconvenience that might have occurred during your stay with our staff although they are very highly praised by our customers. A drink at Thea Terrace Bar is always a nice way to spend some time overlooking the Acropolis. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy it once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located near the Acropolis, the Plaka, and a bunch of great restaurants and stores. The staff, from Chryssa to the bar staff (sorry dont remember the names) were amazing. They were knowledgeable, very friendly and helpful. The view from the rooftop bar cannot be beat. The rooms are a little small, but if you're doing Athens right you are not there very much anyway. Kudos to this place for EASILY providing 5 star service!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank problemsolver235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and enthusiastic comments on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who enjoy their stay in our hotel. We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,307 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,979 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing