We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #27 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just want to start off by saying that the reception staff we experienced, especially at night, apparently were not fond of Americans. On the other hand, we still enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The elevator is really as small as everyone says. You can squeeze two people with luggage in there. The free buffet breakfast was substantial and delicious to say the least. The rooftop terrace was the highlight for my wife and I. We spent our last night in Athens drinking wine and having great snacks on the roof with the lit up Parthenon as the back drop. The rooftop staff were super nice. The location to Plaka and the sights was nice as it was only a short walk to both.

Room Tip: Spend an evening on the roof.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are located in a very convenient spot that can be the start of nice walks around the city’ s major attractions. We apologise for any inconvenience that might have occurred during your stay with our staff although they are very highly praised by our customers. A drink at Thea Terrace Bar is always a nice way to spend some time overlooking the Acropolis. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy it once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
There are newer reviews for Central Athens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located near the Acropolis, the Plaka, and a bunch of great restaurants and stores. The staff, from Chryssa to the bar staff (sorry dont remember the names) were amazing. They were knowledgeable, very friendly and helpful. The view from the rooftop bar cannot be beat. The rooms are a little small, but if you're doing Athens right you are not there very much anyway. Kudos to this place for EASILY providing 5 star service!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank problemsolver235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review and enthusiastic comments on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who enjoy their stay in our hotel. We look forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The location is fantastic, with short walks to all of the main sites, the big market, and the square where you can catch a metro to/from airport. Cab is 35€, metro is 8€ each. (Make sure you have a map when you exit the metro station, the hotel is tucked in the back roads a bit.)

The decor is very nice, clean contemporary, made it feel like a fancy pricey hotel, but for affordable prices. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was all very helpful as well. I was happy they had public computers, as I used them to move photos from my camera card to a USB drive each night. And I have to mention the roof top bar with acropolis views, it's fantastic. Worth every penny!

The only problem was one of the rooms. We stayed here twice, before the islands and after so we had two different rooms. The first room was a balcony room, which we liked a lot. They are small with very small bathrooms but clean and attractive so we were happy. The second room after the islands was not a balcony room, it was in the center of the hotel. We did not need a balcony, that wasn't the problem. The problem is the pipes. ALL NIGHT, what felt like non stop, the pipes were running when someone above used sink/toilet/shower. It wasn't just from the room above us, the water was running too often. It had to be where all the pipes met or something. Not to mention it wasn't quiet water, it was like someone was in our room running water. Stay away from first floor core/center rooms!! Stick to the balcony rooms and you'll be 100% happy with this hotel. I don't even think they cost much more.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good location, easy accessible from the airport and close to the major attractions. The room was remodeled, clean, modern and with a large balcony to the street. I did not have breakfast so, no comments. The staff was nice.
Outstanding roof bar with an astonishing view of the Acropolis. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: try to book with the Acropolis view. The upper rooms are most likely the ones..
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel and your nice comments on our services and Thea Terrace Bar. We will be happy to see you back again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This lovely, clean modern hotel is in a quiet street close to the Acropolis. Restaurants are nearby and it is a 5 mins walk to Syntagma Square via Ermou. The reception staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. The room was a reasonable size with a flat screen TV and Wifi. However our room was quite dark, so it is best to get one with a view of the Acropolis. Watching the sun go down over the Acropolis at night from the roof-top terrace, is an experience of a life-time.
A word of caution about Athens though. We always felt safe walking near this hotel and at the Acropolis. However near Hadrian's Arch (one of the tourist sites) I had my purse stolen from my handbag by a pickpocket.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are conveniently located in the city centre, close to the Acropolis, Monastiraki and Plaka. The view from Thea Terrace Bar to Parthenon is unique and this should be a great motive to bring you back in Athens soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel is clean and good value for money.
The staff are friendy and the hotel bar has a lovely view of the Acropolis.
The hotel is within walking distance of all the main Athens attractions and a large selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We will be happy to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

At first site this hotel doesn't seem to be different to many others. Ok, it's right in the heart of the city, the prices are ok, the rooms also (but the baths are tiny!), the staff is extremely nice and helpful, breakfast is about normal, although you will find more or less everything you can expect.
But than you go to the 7th floor where the bar is located and : WOW, there it is, the Acropolis right in front of you, and especially at night it is an incredible sight!
There is a big negative point, though: the bar closes for whatever reason at midnight, which is far too early especially on a warm evening!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitiRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,341 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,563 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,845 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,333 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 282 in Athens
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $81 - $1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing