We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #32 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great location. Close to the metro, all the major sightseeing places and top restaurants. Clean and quiet rooms. A rooftop bar with an incredible view of the acropolis. Cheap and perfect in this budget. Only negative are that we wish they had better bathroom toiletries. No body lotion included so better carry your own. And we had asked for a double bed but got joined twin beds (hate when that happens)... though the beds were big and comfortable.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jinx_Garima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I like the perfect windows view over Acropolis. Bed is comfortable, room is clean, good size of bathroom, and very nice dining area. The perfect spot for shopping and doing so many activity around town. I was there during winter time, the rate might be cheaper, but I thought I'd like to pay normal rates for such a perfect place like this.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Acropolis is a definite one have to choose, might be a bit more than other room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Aimartinmorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. We try to offer high quality services to our clients so that they have a memorable experience with us and they enjoy their stay in Athens. It would be nice to see you back soon to enjoy Acropolis once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

It is an excellent value for money. Very stylish, beautiful decorating, very clean, quite, very good service, very good facilities, warm and cozy. Breakfast very good and the roff garden bar with an astonishing view of Acropolis.
The situation also is very good being close to Syntagma and Monastiraki metro stations.
I would certainly recommend it and I would go again.

Room Tip: Look at location, rating and recommendations and relate to price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fotini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you liked our hotel and services and you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope that you will be back soon in another trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Hotel is stylish and modern with many facilities and generous public spaces. Rooms are not large but very clean and of good design. Roof top bar is fantastic with views of acropolis. Area around hotel looks run down but this is athens today! That being said felt very safe. Service was excellent from start to end. A good choice at a moderate price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review on our hotel. It is nice to see positive comments from customers that enjoyed their stay. We are located within the area of Plaka which is the oldest part of the city so it may not look that updated but it is still very picturesque with its architecture and the antiquities near by. As and you say, the area is quite safe with a lot of restaurants, tavernas and nice cafes and the shopping area just a few steps away. We really hope that you will be back soon to admire again Acropolis from Thea Terrace Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was in Santorini two days before, slept on a cold bed for two nights, and was not sure of using the super small shower in the hotel there, so arriving here was exciting. Couldn't wait to take a long hot shower without splashing the entire bathroom.

Here in Central hotel Athens the bathroom was good size, not too spacious but functioning well .The room was cosy with a window that open like a balcony facing the glowing Acropolis not so far away. From the airport you just take train to downtown Athens, cost only 4 euros one way per person. Location is only short walking distance from the Syntagma train station,no taxi service needed, surrounded by eateries and shopping area I felt like in heaven. Even if the hotel is in the middle of shopping area but it's quiet enough for you to sleep and resting. You can walk along the Ermou street all the way to Monastiraki square where you can find souvenier shops and cafes. Staff were friendly, free WiFi, breakfast included with good selection of food. There is a rooftop terrace bar where you can hang around late in the afternoon or in the evening gazing at the Acropolis.

I had a wonderful time in Athens, weather was superb, 18 degree celc in January...never happened in my country ;) I would definetly recommend this hotel, and if I could visit Athens again someday I would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms which have Acropolis view would be wonderful, definitely recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenLilleHavrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed review and your nice words on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you had a wonderful time in Athens and enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return soon for a coffee or drink out in the sunshine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel in the area of Plaka and very close to Syntagma square. The rooms r very nice and clean and there is parking for the car in the basement floor. The breakfast was amazing. There is also a roof garden bar with fantastic view of the Acropolis. The price was very, very good for what you get. For sure i ll go again and i strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eustace61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind review on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy that you appreciated our efforts on quality services and convenient prices. We hope that you will be back soon to enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It was an excellent location, walking distance to acropolis, yet on a quiet street, no noise at night at all. Room was very clean, we had a room with view, it was beautiful at night. Roof top terrace should never be missed, you can sit outside or inside in case it's too windy, having afternoon tea and enjoying the view. Breakfast was good, not fancy but had all the basics, staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a bus from airport to the area, stop is not far from hotel, very convenient, restaurants are plenty. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gugi_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. It is always nice to have satisfied customers who wish to be back. We are looking forward to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,413 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,403 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,411 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Address: Apollonos 21, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $81 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing