We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will Stay Here Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed in a room solo and it was just an oasis to have such a nice room to myself after nearly 3 weeks of being on the road in Turkey. I remember sleeping so well, there is no noise (that could hear) from my room (I was on the 2nd floor, I think 214 if I remember correctly). My first night I was so tied, I just stayed in and enjoyed the hotel (sadly, I only had energy to do just that my first night, but the room and balcony was so nice, I didn't mind.) Bathroom and amenities were good, room has a safebox, balcony has cute view of narrow street, and walking to the restaurants in Plaka is very close.

Also, you are about 8 minutes from the Syntagma Train station. Breakfast in the morning is pretty good, reception is very responsive, free wifi in rooms, and maybe it was just being alone in the room, but I had a lot of space to throw/unpack my stuff everywhere (it was great until I had to re-pack and leave).

Anyway, I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. If I return to Athens, I am definitely going to try to book a room here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed our services and breakfast selection, the free wifi, our amenities, our convenient location and you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. We really hope that you will be back in Greece and Central Athens Hotel soon to enjoy it once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    786
    197
    37
    10
See reviews for
251
842
120
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

As everyone says, the location is very good albeit the street is quite narrow and not that easy to wheel luggage along. Great roof top bar with great views and a nice spa/jacuzzi to relax in. Only a short walk from the main square where you can catch the hop on hop off bases and Los only a short walk to the Plaka shopping/restaurant area. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on Central Athens Hotel. Our location is very convenient for someone who wants to visit Athens attractions on foot. And after a nice walking tour we always recommend to visit the Jacuzzi next to Thea Terrace Bar to relax and admire the view with a nice glass of Greek wine. Come back soon to enjoy it, again since as and you say Central Athens is a great value for money hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in early June. Clean hotel with basic clean rooms. Fantastic roof top bar and terrace looking up at the Acropolis. Well located for Tourist Athens. Very good breakfast selection. Good meze to share on the rooftop and a barmaid who will take great photos.Friendly helpful staff

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments on Central Athens hotel and our services. Our staff at Thea Terrace bar will be waiting to take a few more photos of you next to the Acropolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old town
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms are rather small, but other than that the place had a fabulous roof top terrace overlooking the Parthenon, a nice breakfast buffet that had something for all taste buds and was very centrally located. And the price could not be beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLSCCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on Central Athens hotel and your comments on our breakfast buffet and location. We look forward to see you back soon to enjoy a nice stay with us overlooking Parthenon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Yes, the hotel is located in a run down area with most shops shuttered and closed and walls plastered with eyesore graffiti but it is a residential area and it is safe. The hotel, which abuts on to a large school, is exceptionally good value - clean, pleasant, with excellent breakfasts and a wide choice of food options, friendly, helpful staff, and a great view of the Acropolis from the roof terrace bar. It looked better than the three star hotel at which my nephew was staying nearby. Best of all is the location. It's close to all of the main historical sites and within walking distance of most of the museums. It is also seems to be the closest hotel to the magical traditional taverners tumbling down the slopes of the Acropolis five minutes walk from the hotel - superb food with very generous servings, wonderful service and inexpensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel and staff. Central Athens is very centrally located, in the heart of Athens, the Plaka area, which is the ancient part of the city with all tourist attractions in a walking distance. Now days it has become the spot of the city nightlife with a lot of trendy restaurants, traditional tavernas and nice wine bars. We are happy that you had a nice stay with us and we hope that you will be back soon. The great view to the Acropolis from Thea Terrace bar will be there for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here a total of 8 days - great hotel and great location. The staff were friendly and there was never a problem with the room or service. The rooftop patio has an amazing view of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barracuda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Central Athens Hotel and we hope that you will be back soon to have a memorable trip in Greece, once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Central Hotel in the Plaka area has a great location. We walked everywhere we went during our stay in Athens. Shopping, dining, sightseeing – this area has it all.

The hotel itself is nothing fancy. We were in a partial Acropolis view and it was really quite a nice view. But in the end, how much time do you honestly spend looking out a window in your hotel room? The Acropolis view side of the hotel faces a school and it does get fairly noisy around 08:30, but when we didn’t have anything planned in the morning, we were able to sleep through it.

We had a queen sized bed which was quite firm, but we slept well in it. There wasn’t much space to maneuver in the room once you put 2 suitcases in it though. The mini fridge was nice as we were able to put some leftover pizza in it from Mystic Pizza (see my separate review on that – a real gem!). The bathroom was clean and served our purposes fine. The internet also worked very well throughout the entire hotel and we had no difficulties getting connected.

Breakfast though – breakfast was…well, it was just bad. It is our favorite meal of the day so it was very disappointing to see how poor it was. There was some stale bread for toasting, some fresh bread to make sandwiches out of (not really my thing for breakfast), some cheese and cold meat, sugary cereal, rotten fruit, scrambled eggs with cheese that were like rubber and tasted the same, hard-boiled eggs that were cold and so overdone almost the entire yolk was grey, cold sausages that tasted worse than the eggs, and yoghurt. The yoghurt was actually my saving grace as you could put some walnuts and a couple of dried fruits on it, which tided me over until lunch. It was the exact same, all 4 days, in terms of quality and what was offered. A tip – go early as things aren’t quite as cold, just warm. You can also take the hot water for tea and put your hard-boiled eggs in them for 5-10 minutes to heat them up.

Would we stay there again? Probably not, but that’s not because we didn’t have an OK room and a comfortable stay. I think for the same price you could probably find something a bit nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are happy that you found our location helpful and you had the opportunity to visit Athens and most of its well-known points of interest easily. We have been making changes to improve our breakfast buffet selection in terms of product variety and good quality so that is why we have included different types of bread and cereals, croissants, strudels, cookies, cakes, cheeses, cold cuts and sausages, eggs, mushrooms, fresh and drained fruits and of course some typical Greek breakfast products like yogurt (full fat and light), feta and anthotiro (ricotta type creamy cheese) cheeses, spoon sweets and rizogalo (rice pudding). We are really sorry that in your case things didn’t represent our intentions so we will make sure that more effort will be given in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing