We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Bargain, and Hospitable!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, Bargain, and Hospitable!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our early April stay in Athens was a great one. The Central Hotel in Athens was great. We had no idea that for the price we were paying, we would be staying at such a posh hotel. The hotel was clean and the rooms were fashionable and cozy. We enjoyed having a drink on the rooftop terrace with a wonderful view of the Acropolis. The breakfast was amazing and the staff were so helpful.
Most important, the location was so convenient. It is a 4 minute walk from the Acropolis park and about 3 minutes to the happening market places of Plaka.
We felt safe at all times and would reommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieO222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel. It always makes us happy to have such nice comments on our services and our design choices paired with our convenient prices. We try to please most tastes on our breakfast selection and we offer a good list of coffee, snacks and drinks choices at Thea Terrace Bar for those who want to admire the view to Acropolis. We will be happy to see you back with your friends and family whenever you want to explore the attractions of Athens from our convenient location in the city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    819
    212
    41
    13
See reviews for
266
891
126
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel for a stay in Athens. The staff is helpful and friendly, the breakfast is great, and has plenty of options, the roof top terrace on floor 7 gives views to the Acropolis and the hotel is right next to Syntagma square (central Athens). They also offer free parking, they have their own parking space (which is convenient as we had a rented car). I can only warmly recommend it from our experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamochillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation on our hotel. We are happy that you found convenient our parking space and enjoyed our location, breakfast and roof top bar. It is always a pleasure to see that our staff was helpful and friendly, as usual, and we promise that you will have another nice stay in Central Athens Hotel when you visit Athens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel to get away from cold London on Easter holiday 2013.

The hotel was clean, staff really friendly. Breakfast average. But for the price I though it was really good value of money. Definitely would stay at the hotel again.

Location is perfect. So easy to walk around. We walked everywhere. And the view of the terrace bar is unbeatable. We sat there every day for a fredo coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel. The view to Acropolis from most of our rooms and especially Thea Terrace Bar is unique as well as our convenient location near to tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping streets and the heart of the city center. We do our best to offer high quality services in terms of interior design, personnel, facilities to make your stay comfortable and have you back in our hotel in a future trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Central is clean and well located, near shopping streets, restaurants, the Acropolis, and other historical sights. The rooms are decently sized, although the bathrooms are rather small. Our room on the 5th floor had a view of the Acropolis if we leaned out a bit. The hotel does not look like much from the outside, but don't let that put you off. The best aspect, however, is the rooftop bar witthe most fantastic view. Even if you don't stay here, consider stopping by for drinks: absolutely amazing unobstructed view over the Plaka to the Acropolis and all of Athens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel. The view to Acropolis from most of our rooms and especially Thea Terrace Bar is unique as well as our convenient location near to tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping streets and the heart of the city center. We do our best to offer high quality services in terms of interior design, personnel, facilities to make your stay comfortable and have you back in our hotel in a future trip to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Greece journey and then two more nights after we came back to Athens from the islands. It was at very good location, near Plaka area, too much food choices and near the shopping district. it was also near to the police station so we werent that afraid of the strikes and protest problems when we were in Oct 2012 even though the hotel was near to the parliament house.

we were able to walk to the acropolis from front gate and back gate, walkable distance to everywhere. The first room we had was kind of small and the bathroom sink was tiny. shower was a little bit old but the 2nd room we had was much bigger and spacious. every night we would also go up to the rooftop garden for drinks, dessert or titbits to enjoy the beautiful acropolis view. it was a very memorable time and we enjoyed it very much.

Breakfast selection was limited, as with european hotels. We were also able to get some cakes and cookies at 7am before we leave for our morning trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sephyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review on our hotel. We are very happy that you had a memorable time in Central Athens Hotel and enjoyed our beautiful Acropolis view from Thea Terrace Bar. Our privileged location serves well for walks around the city center, Plaka, Acropolis and the nice shops and restaurants situated nearby. We will be happy to see you again soon to enjoy Greece and Athens once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I give 5 stars to places that cannot be improved upon, or at least, not by much - also taking into account their unique circumstances. This is one of those.

The hotel, from the outside, doesn't look like much (see my photo). But EVERYTHING else is very impressive.

LOCATION - If you're in Athens to see the sights and the history, you cannot beat this loation!! This is the Plaka district - the historic part. Everywhere you walk, there are shops, places to eat, old ruins from bygone eras, museums, etc. This hotel is right in the middle of it, so it can't get any better. Also, it's very safe!

FOOD - the buffet breakfast is superb!! Period! Hot food (REAL eggs!), cold food, pastries, cereals, fruit juices, etc. Lots of choices and a beautiful place to eat. (Again, see the pictures.). Also, refrigerators are provided in the rooms
Looking for great, authentic Greek cuisine? Look no further! It's EVERYWHERE here! There are many quaint sidewalk cafes or restaurants to eat in.

THE ROOM - This is typical of cities in Europe, especially in districts like this. The rooms are not large, but privided everything we needed. Clean, great lighting, comfortable, etc. In fact, this room was larger that the one I had in Paris.

THE HOTEL - Don't worry if you don't get a room with an Acropolis view (which you can get, of course, for an extra fee). This hotel has a deck on the roof that is modern and second-to-none! The views are stunning! A great place to relax and soak in the spectacular view of the Acropolis, the upper portion of the Parthenon, and a great view of the temple of Athena! At nightime the sight is amazing!
Furthermore, the other aspects are great, too. The hallways, lobby, stairways, etc. are all modern, clean and attractive. The elevator is small, so don't expect to get more than two people in it. It's fast, though, so it's no problem with luggage. We opted for the stairs anyway - beautiful marble.
This hotel, like some others in Europe, uses the key as the sort-of "master light switch". No lights or outlets will work unless you insert your room key into the slot by the door. That way, as you leave and take your key, the lights will go out after a few minutes and conserve energy while you're away.

HOW TO GET THERE: I opted for the bus. It's cheap (5 euros, one way) and convenient. There are other ways, of course. The most convenient - and expensive! - is a taxi (30 euros during the day, and 50 euros at night), but it will take you directly to the door of the hotel. Trains and subways provide alternatives.
To get to the bus (X 95), walk to the far right end of the arrivals hall (I think it was door 5). You can purchase tickets from the booth outside. I bought both (the one into the city and the one back out to the airport) at the same time. Once on the bus, you will see orange boxes here and there mounted to the handrails. These are ticket validating machines. Simply insert your ticket until you here a "beep", then romove it.
It will take between 40 - 60 minutes by bus, one way (for me, it was around 45). The line terminates at a plaza called "Syntagma Square". From here, it's about a 6-10 minute walk to the hotel. It was simple and convenient. If you have lots of luggage, you might want to consider a taxi.
We had a very early flight the day we left, and the ONLY options are the bus or a taxi. The bus leaves the square roughly every 40 minutes (you can check the schedule on a board right at the stop) and drops you off right at the departure hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice and extended review on our hotel. You have pinpointed our major advantages like our location and Thea Terrace Bar, as well as other characteristics, like the marble stairs and the attractive and modern lobby and corridors, and presented them in detail and with photos so for future customers to see and do no other but choose Central Athens Hotel. We thank you once again and we hope that we will see you back soon to have a memorable stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wife and I stayed in Central for 4 nights and then 2 nights after away for 5 nights islands hopping. We stayed in the same room on the 3rd floor both times. Hotel was easy to find from Syntagma Square after getting off the X95 bus from the airport (we'd recommend using the bus rather than taxi and metro, very easy, frequent and termiates in the most central location). Checking in was simple and quick. The room and bathroom were both clean and fairly roomy. It has a view of the Acropolis which was a +. Buffet breakfast was good enough for us with 2 types of eggs and small frankfurter, croisssants, pain du chocolat and various bread/toasts with jams, cold ham/,meat and cheese, cereals, fruits and yogurts, fruit juices, tea and coffee. Minimum fess and you get on with helping yourselves. There is a safe in the room but we needed help both times (dry battery?). Shower was hot and strong but water drainage was a bit slow so don't expect to shower for ages. There was BBC worldnews on TV. Lighting was good in the room.

So far so good but there were a few issues for us and 1 was very serious:

1. Heating/Aircon - we had decent temperature in March there (c 18/19) but the central aircond was set to heating for the whole hotel. The only quilt provided was too thick and hot even with the AC turned off totally. We opened the patio door most nights and once had to remove the quilt and slept with just the cover. May be the AC temperature could varied a bit more for the comfort of the customer in Spring or autumn.

2. A few of the receptionists were friendly but one of the males on our last full day wasn't quite up to the mark in providing customer services. We asked for bus info (where the bus stop was and the timing of the buses) to Cape Sounion in the morning, and he simply marked on the map with a star and said it is orange in colour. To cut a long story short, we ended end wasting a fair amount of time both looking for the bus stop and waiting for the bus. We were sure that he could have been more helpful to his customers?

3. lastly this was a serious problem to us and I could imagine to most people and a show stopper. There was a fire/smoke alarm on the ceiling right above the bed with 2 continuous bright blinking red lights. When all the lights were off in the room these 2 blinking red lights were really distractive and unsettling, in fact highly annoying. If you were not tired enough the blinking would surely keep you up most of the night. We complained to the receptionists and they simply said it was required by the law in Athens for every room. Even so I have my doubt somehow as to why it had to be right on top of the bed. This is a major turnoff!

All in all, a well located, clean and decent hotel seriously let down by the non-stop blinking red lights. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the blinking red lights right on top of the bed if there is such a room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to make such a detailed review on our hotel. We pay special attention in cleanliness of rooms and public areas in our hotel while we try to serve breakfast that would cater to most preferences with emphasis on Greek culinary tradition. We try to keep a steady temperature that would be convenient for all the areas of the hotel according to the season and the outside temperature since the a/c system functions in a certain way. Please keep in mind that buses in Greece are not that regular especially the ones that cover the area outside the city limits so a fair amount of waiting time is usually needed. We are sorry for the inconvenience that was caused due to the fire alarm system but the Greek Fire Department has harmonized standards with the European legislation according to which the fire alarm system has to be placed within certain distances in a room and have 2 led lights showing their position and their function mode. We hope that you had a nice overall stay in Athens and the islands and enjoyed our country and culture hoping that you will visit Greece, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,525 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,843 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing