We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Central Athens Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #31 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Three friends and I stayed in this ideally located hotel in the heart of Athens. The rooms were small but comfortable and clean. Bathrooms were modern and clean. The only thing I wasn't sure about were the glass walls between the bedroom and the bathroom - you couldn't actually see through the frosted glass but it felt odd. I did not like the shower curtain. But the location makes up for these things. From the rooftop bar we could sit and gaze at the Acropolis for hours. It was firstly backlit by the sunset and then lit up at night. Almost close enough to touch it was a breathtaking sight. Breakfast catered to all tastes and included eggs and sausages, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juices, ham and cheese, chocolate croissants etc. Within walking distance of the Plaka District and its flea markets and so many great little restaurants and tavernas.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view and I don't know if they were there to be had. The view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillDV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Public Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to hear that our hotel gave you the opportunity to wonder round the picturesque city center easy and that you loved our rooftop view to the Acropolis. We created a modern design hotel with furniture in minimal style as is the mat glass openings - that you cannot see through between bedrooms and bathrooms. We will be happy to have you back in our hotel next time you visit Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in Oct/Nov 2012. Centrally located in Plaka tourist area. Best view of the Acropolis you could possibly have from the roof terrace bar/jacuzzi. We had a room at the rear of the hotel which also had a nice view of the Acropolis. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Great selection of hot and cold breakfast buffet. I've read various negative reviews regarding the size of the lift, yes, it is small but in no way did it affect our stay, don't be put off. Free wifi in room as well as pc's in the internet area.
Next time we return to Athens we will definately be staying at the Central Athens Hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms at rear of hotel have an Acropolis view/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We will be waiting for you next time you return to Athens so that you may enjoy our Acropolis view. We consider Wi-Fi a necessity that is why we provide it for free in rooms, lobby, bar etc. and despite the fact that we know that the elevator is small, the building’s construction gives us limited solutions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the hotel is near the central station, and it has many bars and restaurants around.
the room was clean and big, but the breakfast was poor.
the staff was a bit unpolite, especially the staff of the bar.
is a good experience if you need a good location, you can get to monastiraki or the acropolis on foots.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARLAREANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking time to make a review in our hotel and mentioning our great location. Our visitors usually consider our staff very pleasant and polite and our breakfast selection to cater for all tastes so we apologize for any bad moment you might had. We hope that you will have a better experience next time you stay at Central Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had stayed at this smallish but well located hotel 2 yrs ago. The new revamped rooftop terrace is a most welcome change. Great place for a view over Athens & the Acropolis. The hotel is small enough for great service from the friendly staff. Good breakfast and clean and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustralianVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to see that you preferred Central Hotel once more during your visit in Athens for its services and location. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I went to this hotel after 2 weeks in Greece, first I have to say that I felt in love with Athen, what a beautiful city. We also appreciated our stay at this hotel, the room was very modern and clean, we also had a bonus view on the Acropolis!! on the roof, there is an awesome terrasse and a bar, the staff is very friendly. I would return there anytime!

Room Tip: very well located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review and your comments on our staff, services and our great Acropolis view. We are waiting to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October 2012 and were very very pleased. centrally located in the Plaka and a five min walk from the underground train station which goes straight to and from the airport. (Cost 8euros per person per trip). The reception people were very very accommodating and were generally interested in us as tourists. The room was modern and the breakfast (get it included in your stay) was excellent!!! The Plaka is absolutely ridiculous (in a good way) .... the amount of shops, cafes, restaurants and people watching you can do here is amazing!!! Also catch the 'train' that goes right throughout the Plaka for 5euros per person - you'll see the whole area and you can jump on and off at various stops. We planning already for our October 2014 trip and we'll be staying here and for longer this time. PS. We visited Athens about 18mths ago (at the height of the election probs/austerity measures being introduced) and we found the city to be in a very dirty, filthy and bad state. Not this time - the city has transformed itself into a beautiful city once again. We love Athens and we loved this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an Acropolis View. However if you cant get one, dont worry - you will HAVE to visit the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your nice review and rewarding comments on our people and services. We are very happy to see that you loved the city and our hotel and you will be back soon. We are waiting for you on October 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Athens for 2 nights in October 2012 and was recommended to stay in Plaka. Central Hotel was convenient to all the locations we wanted to visit - 5 mins walk to Syntagma Square (parliament house and also departure point of airport bus) and Ermos st (shopping district), Acropolis, Plaka and Monastiriki markets. The hotel was new and very clean and plush, our room was very large and modern and very good value for money compared to what we have been paying throughout Europe. They have a business area and complimentary wifi which is always useful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Athens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It is always nice to hear that our visitors consider Central hotel a great value for money experience regarding services and location. We hope to have you back in Athens and Central Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,459 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Address: Apollonos 21, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#14 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $79 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing