We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2* hotel punching above its weight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #31 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“2* hotel punching above its weight”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. We chose it for the location and of course the cost and weren't expecting the standard to be so high - it's only a 2* after all. Our room was clean and had a fridge (decent size and not stuffed with overpriced drinks) as well as tea and coffee making facilities. It looks as if it's been refurbished quite recently and has a boutique type vibe. We opted for a room with a view of the Acropolis - only another Euros10 bringing our double room in at Euros130 per night, with breakfast. Pretty good value considering how close it is to the Acropolis and the new museum (about 10 mins walk) and loads of bars, restaurants and shops. There's a hot tub on the roof and a bar and you get some amazing photos of the Acropolis. We also found the staff to be really friendly and helpful and thought breakfast was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: The view of the Acropolis is well worth paying an extra Euros10 - it also means the room is off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    808
    208
    38
    12
See reviews for
257
871
125
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the Central for 3 nights in May. The location of the hotel allows easy access to all the sights and shopping streets of central Athens. The Central has clean, comfortable, modern rooms and a good breakfast. The roof top deck is the best part of the hotel!! Great place to have a glass of wine while viewing the stunning Acropolis!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My friend and I weren't expecting the hotel to be this clean and centrally located! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful! The roof top garden has an amazing view of the acropolis. If you're travelling to one of the islands for a day or two,you can leave your luggage at the hotel (free of charge). The location is perfect!! All the tourist attractions are at a walking distance

A couple of suggestions to the hotel:
A) add veges to the breakfast
B) have kettles in the rooms

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fakhria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The location of the hotel allows easy access to all the sights and shopping streets of central Athens. The rooms are a bit small, especially the shower, but overall is good value for money. Clean, modern (renovated) rooms with all the usual amenities. Breakfast is poor, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face the nearby school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peshlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Great service, friendly staff, best down-town location, stunning Acropolis' view from roof garden!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konjasmine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Really nice and just perfect for seeing all the sights. No complaints!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had 3 nights at the Central Hotel on the first floor. You'd be doing well to find a better location. It's in easy walking distance to all of the historical sites, you've got a great selection of shopping and restaurants almost at your door step and you've got 2 metro stations within 5 to 10 mins walk. The hotel itself is quite modern and very clean. Yes the bathroom is a bit small but still manageable. We also had a balcony overlooking the street which was nice to relax and get some air. As others have said, the rooftop gives you an amazing view of the Acropolis, well worth a look, particularly at night. There is a bar to be opened sometime soon on the roof top, but you can still go up there to sit, or to catch some rays on the sunbeds next to the jacuzzi. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

These are the only negatives we found with this hotel. Whilst the WiFi is good, it sometimes drops out which got a little annoying after while. We thought the breakfast was a bit average eg. if you had a later breakfast it didn't look like they replaced the eggs from when it was cooked first thing in the morning. We also had a broken shower head holder when we arrived in the room. Whilst you could still shower it was more difficult without the holder. We asked for it to be fixed three times. Each time it was up to us to find out what the result was with it being fixed because each time we checked it it looked the same. In the end they told us they had to take the whole thing out to fix it, so it still wasn't fixed by the time we checked out.

The hotel however was pretty good overall and I would recommend it. If they could just fix up those things I've mentioned above it would go a long way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSteel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
1,502 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,234 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 325 in Athens
1,306 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
1,976 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing