We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, clean and safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Central Athens Hotel
Ranked #30 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Central location, clean and safe”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We used this place for 2 nights, August 4-5. We chose it mainly for the location (the airport shuttle stops 5 minutes away) and we able to see all the main attractions in the city by walking the whole time. We ventured one day away from the hotel and we ended up around Omonia square which is a very scary place. We did shopping in Plaka (make sure that you take charge of the price, they will rip you off otherwise), and we enjoyed great food in the many restaurants in the area. It was safe to walk back to the hotel at night, but I would not recommend it, sometimes it is a matter of luck. The hotel is small, and the rooms that have a balcony don't have a view of the Acropolis. Our balcony overlooked a bunch of old buildings behind the hotel. Breakfast was average, and the drinks at the bar on the top of the hotel overpriced. The taxi driver that took us from the hotel to the bus terminal charged us triple (they ALL do that) despite the fact that I thought I could handle it after reading on the subject. I am surprised that the hotel called this guy, I am not sure if they work together or it was just a coincidence. The staff was ok, but they charged us for internet which I think it is ridiculous considering how much money we paid for the rooms. We loved Acropolis and Plaka, but we were not thrilled with Athens and its stupid cab strikes every other day.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view. You might not get it (we didn't, but at least you try).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janinexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    797
    200
    38
    12
See reviews for
255
857
122
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ingolstadt
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

wie immer super - alles in Ordnung ! Kann man weiterempfehlen.
Just 200 m from Syntagma and the Metro Station and x95 Airport Shuttle Bus - Friedly staff - roof garden with Acropolis view - quiet hotel in a small street without many traffic in a very good location - big rooms -, good greek breakfast - etc . I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The price is good value for a double room incl Breakfast. The only point is the management should start a renovation of carpets and bathtiles - it they don't care about this soon, the hotel could become in bad conditions in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The location is very convenient as you can walk to nearly all the places of interest in Central Athens. The area is also safe and the hotel is within walking distance from the Syntagma square where Underground (Metro) trains and buses from Venizelos airport stop…The rooms average in size, simple and clean, relatively well kept with LCD TVs and basic décor.. nothing fancy . 401 has a double bed, window looking internally and a small bathroom. Very appropriate for single occupancy. Room 410 much bigger with much larger bathroom very good for 2 people. Note however that the floor in all cases is hard carpet (some people allergic to carpets might prefer tiles or wooden floors). The breakfast room is nice with part of it to act as a sitting area (kind of a living room with arm chairs and couches) and the buffet breakfast adequate with all the standard goodies. The view from this area is only to a small internal skylight nicely decorated. Personally, although winter, I used to take my coffee at the roof garden of the 7th floor where you can enjoy unobstructed view of the Acropolis rock. The reception is actually a small counter on the right as you enter the building and there are no large lobbies or sitting areas where you can sit and watch people passing by etc etc. there is a small sitting area right behind the reception which is kind of depressing since there is no view to anywhere but the comfortable furniture and the décor as well as the free wiFi internet compensate to the loss of view ! Referring to free wifi internet, you can get the signal only in the ground area not in you rooms ( at least I didn’t get it on the 4th floor). I believe you have to pay to get internet in your room. Reception people were very very polite.. ( I noticed that no matter what they were doing whenever a guest was passing by they would immediately stand up !!). There are many shops and all kind of restaurants in the area for all wallets!!! Including a noodle bar that stays open after midnight and is only few steps away..
Its definitely a value for money kind of a boutique hotel !!
PS. The elevator is small (good for 2 people or 1 with suitcase)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

All in all, the hotel was clean and we had our own bathroom, which I believe isn't always the case in Athens hotels. Small rooms, a little noisy on the street front, bed was a small double and hard - what we have found to be the norm in Europe so far. Breakfast was included, OK if you want croissants, toast & cereal. Hot food was little sausages that looked like they came out of a tin and dry scrambled eggs- give those a miss. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you go up onto the rooftop you get a great view of the Acropolis. Free internet, front desk will provide you with a cable. Only wifi in the lobby. I guess it was a great location and for the inclusions and what you pay, a good all round hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street front are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Yes, the room was cozy, but that would not deter me from staying at this hotel again. As a matter of fact, we canceled a future arrangement with another Athens hotel just to return here. I don't have a lot of experience with European hotels, but other posters have mentioned the compact rooms are not out of line with other similar hotels. The hotel was clean as a whistle, bathroom nicely lit and equipped. Shower spray was plentiful. The bed was comfortable and the small flat screen television did the job. The rooms in the back overlook a school yard and there will be students out there in the morning making children noises. We did not find it bothersome (and slept with the window open – coming to regret that due to mosquitoes, not the school). Looking out the window and to the right, the Acropolis is in splendid repose. It's that view – and the Plaka location – that brought us back. The staff was friendly and helpful at every interaction. The breakfast was very nicely prepared. It does seem that management needs to get with the game on internet. There is no wireless at all and they charge by the minute for connecting to the hard wiring. The front desk keeps a supply of DSL cables, so at least you don't have to go to the museum to find one. Other than that, absolutely no complaints. Would go back again if visiting – and proved it. We did!

Room Tip: Back rooms view the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I spent two nights in november in this hotel in the Plaka area, center of Athens.
The hotel is clean, confortable and the staff helpful and gentle.
The room was nice, quite (it gave on an internal court), with enough space and a television.
The bathroom was clean and the shower really spaceful.
They often offer great deal rooms on the website.
I had no breakfast so no idea how it could be.
I only regret that internet costed me 2 euros per hour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgorla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Only stayed for a night. We enjoyed the location, just few minutes away from Syntagma and Plaka. You can go almost everywhere from this hotel. The area was quite safe ( we wanted to avoid the Omonoia area ) Very clean and modern. Good value for money. Beware of the mosquitoes!! The staff were excellent. We forgot some things in the hotel room and after we contacted them they had our things sent to Thessaloniki hotel! Good choice. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay_SKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Athens Hotel

Property: Central Athens Hotel
Address: 21 Apollonos, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Athens
#22 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Central Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Central Hotel
Central Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing