We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It's a lie” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel
Ranked #193 of 336 Hotels in Athens
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a lie”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Don't know where to start. I am a Greek American that travels to Greece at least every year, so I know the country well. I'm generally well traveled and have experienced accommodations from low to exceedingly high end.

Here's the reality of this "boutique" hotel: They've put lipstick on a pig, are calling it something that it is not, and have attitude about it. The web site is very well done, contains photos of the property but is not in any way a true portrait. It is very good at showing the lipstick while hiding the pig. The owners have definitely done a great deal to decorate the place (in questionable, very kitschy but fun taste) but not addressed the really poor (in quality and age) shape of the place at all. It's possible that the suites in the front are ok (I did not get to see them) but we were placed in a shabby ghetto like room (called a suite) with a 70's bathroom that was disgusting. The furniture I suspect was meant to appear antique-y but frankly was nothing more than cleaned up flea market standards. I was dismayed to find that the safe was never bolted down and I had no problem moving it (all 125 pounds on me). We had an interior window suite (I've had that experience before and I was fine with it) that overlooked a steel spiral staircase. ***Note that these are their "family suites" - they finally admitted this to us after we arrived, saw the room and requested an upgrade. It gave us full and intimate access to the conversations of guests waiting for the elevator or going to breakfast not to mention the full sounds of the renovation crew through the night as they carried and clanged aluminum ladders up and down the levels desperately trying to finish the decor of the next floor in time for the high season bookings. I think this is a great indicator of guest services attitude at this place. Another indicator was the breakfast crew telling us that they were shutting down when we showed up 20 minutes prior to breakfast ending and the buffet had already been cleared. We thought it amusing the next morning when we were having breakfast at a cafe next door and saw one of the hotel kitchen crew running between the hotel and a grocery store with food basics mid morning. We canceled our end of trip return reservations and warned our friends to do so as well (I had given them the idea to reserve naively thinking the web site could not have been that off). The location was perfect. But that's it. We are still referring to it as our Magna Disasta.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank forthright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    90
    36
    42
    38
See reviews for
34
147
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed at Magna Grecia in July 2009 for a few nights to explore Athens. Based on TripAdvisor reviews thought it's a nice boutique hotel in central location with all standard middle-class hotel amenities. Well, the location is central indeed. But the total lack of service and interest of the staff (room on 2nd floor, but noone ever even offered to help us with the luggage, no information about anything, no friendly greetings...), the disgraceful breakfast, the super-tiny room, ultrasoft mattress (basically a piece of foam) and questionable cleanliness made it a really disappointing experience. If you're totally desperate for location and don't care about anything else, this might be for you. But if you expect anything else from service, food or room quality for the relatively high price they're charging, stay away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmoLaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at Magna Grecia in Athens on our first night in Greece. The room was small, but had everything we needed - including an inward facing room not on the main road. The roof top terrace is quite lovely with good views of the acropolis, though the restaurant there is quite pricey. Magna Grecia is a short walk from two main metro stations, which is a real selling point of this place, as well as the location in a lovely part of historic Athens. The service here is also great - we left early in the morning before the buffet breakfast opened and the hotel staff packed us a very filling breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fortunecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I really liked this hotel, mostly because of the location. We arrived at the Syntagma Metro station from the airport and walked 5-10 minutes to the hotel. It was little hard to find since the only thing on the street level is a door---next to a carpet shop! The reception is on the 2nd floor.
We had an inside room, no windows to the outside, but that was okay with us. The room was lovely and more than adequate. The location is the best thing about this hotel. It is in walking distance to everything there is to see in Athens, and walk we did, so should you. It is the best was to experience this city.
Breakfast is served on the top floor (4th?) with a wonderful views of the Acropolis.
They even checked us out the evening prior to leaving so that we could catch the first train to the airport----very early flight.
I already miss the lamb at every meal!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

When we first saw this place from internet , we expected a boutique luxury with an amazing acropolis view.

But unfortunately our disappointments began when we stepped into the hotel. Maybe we were very tired since we carried our luggage ourselves from nearest metro station. But we expected a porter to carry our luggages to our room..

The high ceilings looks beatiful but needs maintenance. The double room with acropolis view is quite different. The french balcony is very sweet. But the beds were terrible. They had taken the shape of previous guests. Sleeping was noy comfortable. Actually it was our fault that we didnt complain this to the hotel.But for staying only two nights, we didn't bother...

Breakfast is nice, terrace view is beautiful.

Location of the hotel is very. Lose to the main shopping street. There are good cafe and bistros at the corner of the hotel.

İf you don't expect much luxury, this hotel will meet the expectations. Location, location, location...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Immediately adjacent to Syntagma Square, this hotel has good access to riot police, gruesome (though perhaps justifiable) protest imagery and the loud voices of unhappy people. The hotel refused to refund even a part of our stay for July 1,2 and 3, in the middle of riots and teargas. We chose to forfeit the money rather than risk staying in that volatile area. We had a booking for the last night of our trip, July 15th and stayed with the hope that things had settled down. I would say that it was relatively safe in the area if you stayed close to the very visable police presence (safe perhaps, relaxing no). On checking in we enquired about parking and were offered no directions or assistance. Our room (on the first floor) had a serious drainage problem in the bathroom that resulted in "brown" water flooding. When I spoke with the person at the front desk she was clearly aware of the problem and indicated it "was sometimes worse than at other times." It showed signs of repairs which had obviously been unsuccessful. Our trip was stellar in every way but for this experience. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caseyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This Hotel is rated 4 stars, but it should only be rated 2. The front desk staff are not good at directions, so don't ask them. We asked if there was a McDonalds up the road, and they didn't have a clue. They should know whats in the immediate vacinity. There are no amenities at all. What is listed in their ad is not what you get. At 2pm they locked the front door. There is suppose to be someone at the front desk 24/7 but there isn't. We waited 20 minutes one night to get in, banging and screaming. Not pleasant. Our room was a double panoramic view of the Acropolis on the penthouse. We only had 1 window, and a door, where they get double from that, is beyond me. Our terrace was shared with the Rooftop restaurant next door, talk about no privacy. The breakfast sucked. It's centrally located to the Plaka, Monastriki station, and Sytagma Square. Not worth the money at all. Very disappointed to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Spartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Adrian Hotel
Adrian Hotel
#100 of 336 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#25 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Plaka
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
BEST WESTERN Amazon Hotel
#45 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,760 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#35 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#74 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel

Property: Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel
Address: 54 Mitropoleos, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering amazing views of the Acropolis, this intimate 4 star boutique hotel is centrally situated in historic Plaka, possibly the most charming Athens neighborhood, 5 minutes' walk from Syntagma Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Magna Grecia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magna Grecia Boutique Athens
Hotel Magna Grecia Boutique
Magna Grecia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing