We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in Athens”
Review of Arion Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arion Athens Hotel
Ranked #31 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Penmarch, France
1 review
“1st time in Athens”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Before our stay, we did not realize how convenient the situation of Arion Athens Hotel was. We discovered day after day that almost everything could be reached by walking, which is very interesting to discover the different areas of the town.
The hotel itself was very good value even if the breakfast was always the same. Its is also well situated for bars and restaurants.
The staff was very nice, smily and helpful.
In our first room on the 3rd floor, it was impossible to get the Internet. But it was OK if we stayed in the corridor. On the 6th floor, we could have Internet in the room.

Room Tip: Room 605 : Acropolis view+ terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AzenKaouenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    333
    88
    17
    4
See reviews for
115
248
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hersonissos, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed 2nd time in this hotel with my wife for a weekend on a business trip. Overall nice hotel located in the heart of the city 3 min walk from the metro station Monastiraki. The downsides were some problems in W.C. (not enough room to place our staff, the glass screen of the bath was not water-proof), the T.V. which had no Greek channels (!) -we asked to have it replaced but they never did- and the public P.C. was out of order. We had no Acropolis view but the view of run-down neighbourhood and the breakfast was only basic. However, given the money we paid it was very good value -especially as we were given an early check-in service. Recommended if you want to visit the city and not spend a lot of time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for front (Acropolis) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILIOSTASI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice and spacious room with view to Acropolis. Excellent location with bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Bathroom seemed to be newly renovaded but door doesn't close completely. Breakfast was nothing special but OK.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jbflachsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel was in a good location. 15 min walk to main attractions and restaurants. The breakfast included wasn't anything fancy but was better than nothing! Staff were helpful and rooms were clean and simple. The roof top garden had a good view. We had a room at eh front of the hotel and the church bells ring right across the road at 7am! Other than that a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from four nights at the Arion and was really pleased with our choice.

It's in a good, central location, not far from Monastiraki train station and one of the starting routes into the city and main sites.

As other reviews have stated, the hotel is situated in what appears to be a run down area. Don't be put off by the graffiti on the nearby walls, it adds to the charm of the area - you're staying in real Athens.

We were fortunate as we we're given a great view of the Acropolis from our room but you can easily go the roof terrace and enjoy the view if you're not as lucky.

Breakfast is adequate - continental style and finishes past 10am so you don't have to rush. The noon check out time is a bonus.

Downsides - our room got awfully warm when the air con wasn't on, the towels had an occasional cigarette smell ( according to my wife) and the bells from a nearby church ring loudly early in the morning...

However, this just added to our great stay and adds to the charm of the hotel; as soon as you gaze up and look at the Acropolis, especially when it is bathed in light during night time, all the niggles are forgotten about, and you just focus on the as breathtaking sight in front of you.

Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sifeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to your Athens after returning from the Cyclades. The room was nice and clean, the location was great, and the staff was great. They helped us plan our day and arrange a taxi to the airport. Our room had two twin beds pushed together - I'm not sure if that's the usual layout, but I would have preferred a double bed! Other than that, it was just fine for what we needed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ginnyh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Arion Athens Hotel is within easy reach of all the places most people would like to visit. It has a fantastic view of the Acropolis from the roof terrace.
The majority of the bars and tavernas close to the hotel seem to be popular with young people, although the hotel is far enough away not to be to disturbed by the any noise from the bars or the traffic.
The hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Good value for the money we paid and we were impressed with Athens as a whole.

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Athens Hotel

Property: Arion Athens Hotel
Address: 18 Agiou Dimitriou (Psirri) | Plaka/ Monastiraki, Athens 105 54, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Athens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arion Athens Hotel is a modern, city centre hotel, a 2-minute walk from Monastiraki Metro Station, with direct access to the airport and the port of Piraeus. The hotel’s extremely convenient location provides easy access to the Monastiraki Flea Market, Plaka, Thiseion, the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum as well as Syntagma Square, the Parliament, museums and many more. Many restaurants, tavernas and bars can be found within small walking distance. Arion Athens Hotel features bright, stylish rooms and a rooftop garden with stunning Acropolis view. Free wireless Internet available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Arion Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arion Hotel Athens
Athens Arion Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing