We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, warm reception”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #129 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, warm reception”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in June 2013. Excellent value, rooms of appropriate size. The area maybe not the prettiest but we did not notice anything criminal. Taxi to major attractions is around 5 euros. We were treated not just like customers but as personal guests: we had to leave at 5 am and the owners not only arranged taxi to airport for a daytime rate (it is twice more expensive before 5:30 am) but provided us with breakfast. We would recommend the hotel to those seeking budget accommodations in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IVN_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    235
    152
    74
    42
See reviews for
136
386
52
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Hotelstaff very friendly..room comfortable and cool/quiet..breakfast okay.the price for this hotel was unbelievable low but this is probably due to the fact that this area of Athens,Omonia is plaqued by drugusers and other strange people..During the day no problem , at night ...use a taxi to go back.. From Plaka/centre 7 euros..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbertjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for four nights and it was perfect. It was so close to the Omonia metro station that we never felt inconvenienced to go anywhere. We even walked back to the hotel in the evenings instead of taking cabs and only once felt a little nervous, but I think that was preconceived notions from reading other reviews.
The area only looks rough, but we felt completely safe and at home.
If you are looking for a place that is conveniently located, with a comfortable bed, air conditioning, hot showers and a nice breakfast, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdees07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed for 4 days in that hotel in the middle of May 2013.The staff was excellent but the rooms were a bit small.The advantages of this hotel is the price and the central location of it. I will certainly book another room again in my next trip to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel!
First of all it’s very close to the archaeological museum and 5 min from omonia metro station.
The rooms are clean and well decorated.
Breakfast was excellent and above all I have never met more helpful and warm staff. I was very pleased with my stay there and I hope I ‘ll come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarita t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I checked into this hotel with a group for 5 nights.

On first impression, i was not very happy. I arrived around sunset, and the area around the hotel is so grey and depressing. Having just come from the Islands of Greece, i was not impressed. Everything just seems old and a bit run down.

My room was on the 4th floor in the corner at a weird angle. So i couldn't even open the windows to see the view. My room was dark, but the bathroom was clean and full white marble with a bathtub and shower. Sheets and towels were a bit threadbare and grey, but clean.

However, the shower head did not reach the holster, so i had to shower with one hand, while the other hand held the shower head. Not fun when you have to wash long hair.

Breakfast was standard, eggs, bacon (albeit a bit soggy), bread, cheese etc. not great, but ok. After 5 days it was a monotonous.

The saving grace of this hotel is the staff. They are friendly and very helpful.

Pros:
- very close to the National Archeological Museum
- decent size rooms
- marble bathrooms with adequate size showers etc
- good price

Cons:
- dark bedrooms
- threadbare linens and towels
- average breakfast
- location (only walking distance to the Nat'l Archaeological Museum, other attractions are further)
- bathroom shower head doesn't reach holster

I'm not sure i would stay here again. They need to do some up keep on rooms and change a few things like breakfast and linens etc.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chryaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I don't really have much positive to say about this place so I'll keep it. Location is good for the Archaeological Museum but thats ok. Whole are was dingy. Preferred not to look out the window actually! Rooms are dark and rather dirty although the sheets were clean.
The 'art' on the walls in just dreadful. Service is poor and totally uncharacteristic of our holiday in Greece. It was entirely depressing so we went home on a low instead of a high.
Also, if you are booking through an agency, don't expect them to have taken the money out of your account as stated. They take it out on your arrival which for us really screwed our budget.
When I return to Athens I'll pay more and go stay somewhere nice in the Plaka.

Room Tip: There's no wifi access on 4th floor but you can plug in. Don't opt for a balcony in rainier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OkeyDoke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#57 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#42 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Property: Art Hotel
Address: 27 Marni | Omonoia - Museum, Athens 104 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing