We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most special boutique hotel”
Review of Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel
Ranked #112 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I choose the Art Hotel (he is an artist) to spend my 50th birthday holiday! What an exceptionally lovely boutique hotel! The rooms were appointed in such a thoughtful manner. The hotel itself was filled with one of a kind art and hung thru out the lobby and dining room, halls and rooms. BUT most of all, the staff (A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL MY LOVELY LADIES) made our trip to Athens a huge success. They were helpful in everything... hailing cabs and ensuring we had a fair fare, dinner reservations (especially for the 50th celebration) at the Orizontes atop Lycabettus with a fabulous view of the Acropolis, directions, etc. They truly went the extra mile to make my birthday a memorable one! Should our travels bring us to Athens once more, The Art Hotel is a sure stop for us.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nyladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 861 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

My stay in this hotel was incredible. I arrived at the hotel early in the morning and I confess that I found rather strange location, but the hotel is close to the Acropolis and National Archaeological Museum. The rooms are very clean, the bed is good, window anti noise in the rooms. What impressed me most was that the hotel staff. Very helpful and friendly, hard to find in many hotels I've been in Greece. So if I go back to Athens, I'll be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating which made all the difference. It was above and beyond customer service. We wanted separate beds and they easily transferred us to another room. We even received a complimentary drink when we arrived. The hotel and rooms are unique. The hotel needs to be modernized and so does the Intercontinental Athens where I've also stayed but not at Intercontinental prices. And the one bonus, my room had a jacuzzi bathtub for free whereas the Intercontinental made me, a priority club member, pay entrance at the spa to use the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subcoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

THe overall experience with the hotel was good. The staff is very helpful. Its a very basic hotel and requires modernisation. I wouldnt mind going there again as it is cheap and as a tourist, I just need a bed to crash on.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bashaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The only saving grace about this hotel are the staff. They are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. You are greeted with drinks and a full explanation of what to see and do in the city and the areas to avoid - namely the streets directly surrounding the hotel! Its on a VERY busy road and is sandwiched between prostitute alley and the local methadone centre.
The rooms are small and basic for the price and the whole hotel needs a bloody good clean.
Thankfully the sheets and towels are quite clean, but the bathroom was mouldy, the toilet seat had seen better days and the windows and curtains have clearly not been cleaned since the hotel opened. You are provided with thin paper slippers, supposedly for 'your comfort', actually its so that you don't see all the dust and dirt on your bare feet.
Same at breakfast. It was quite rare to get a clean cup, plates or cutlery in the morning. There was quite a variety of food, but it was either tinned or from a packet and very tasteless.
All in all, I would class this as a 2 * hotel. Definitely not worthy of 4. If you are brave enough to go to Athens, I'd avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timbo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Art Hotel by itself is a great hotel but when you add the personal service that is provided by Miranda and her fantastic crew you get a home away from home! These ladies were so nice, we were greeted with drinks upon arival and a break-down of where to go and what to see! Miranda was so nice, she went WAY above and beyond what you would expect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The front of house service is exceptional, you are genuinely treated as a welcome guest. Arriving at 10.00a.m. your room is made available asap, leaving at 4.00p.m. your room is available for a shower before the flight from Athens to home. When arriving you are seated and given a glass of juice, wine, coffee or tea and all the information you could wish for a pleasant stay in Athens.
The breakfast room is delightful and the breakfast is varied enough to suit all tastes and of a very high quality. The hotel is beautifully fitted out and the beds comfortable.
The location is great with the main museum within 10 minutes walking, acropolis only a 5 Euro taxi ride away.
When visiting Athens you could not better this hotel for quality and price.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms, and they were all equally as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smmcilveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Athens Lotus Hotel
#57 of 282 in Athens
926 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#61 of 282 in Athens
945 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
625 reviews
Pythagorion Hotel
#74 of 282 in Athens
610 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel

Address: Marni 27, Athens 104 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $48 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Art Hotel is 4-star new elegant boutique hotel, operating in a renovated neoclassical building of 1930, situated in the centre of Athens, within walking distance from the national archaeological museum and Omonoia square. The 30 guest rooms and suites are designed and furnished one by one, depending on the room shape, the traffic flow, the focal point and the lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing