We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & easy stopover in Athens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ilion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ilion
Ranked #229 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap & easy stopover in Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in an excellent location right beside a metro station and 1 stop from the old part of the city's restaurants etc. The hotel could do with some modernisation but this is reflected in the cheap prices. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We found it comfortable, clean and quiet so overall with the cheap price, perfect for our short visit. Have rebooked for our last night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    12
    6
    11
See reviews for
13
19
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Walking distance to the Omonia station, shops/eateries all around, close to all sites, and clean. What more can you ask for if you are staying a few days in Athens. There were five of us us (three adults and two kids) and the two bedroom unit did us fine. The blacony looked on to the main street and you got a taste of Athens from there. Great for the budget traveller who likes to be at the centre of the action.

Room Tip: Go high up to avoid the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Ilion Hotel.We are a family of 5 with young children and is very difficult to find places to stay for our family. This hotel was one of the few offering family rooms for 5 at a fair rate.We got 2 adgoinig rooms for the 5 us, one room for me and my wife and one for kids, both in the same suite. Our kids loved the breakfast buffet served every morning. Room was clean, well equipped and had also a balcony with view to Lycabettus Hill. Location was perfect for all the major attractions, all within walking distance. Staff was extemely helpfull and friendly providing us with all the information we needed. We'll surely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

In the heart of Athens, Greece. You can find clean rooms and friendly staff. In central location in Omonia Square. 50 metres from Metro Station that can take you anywhere in all of Greece. Area is secured 24 hrs. by Athens Police. I stayed ten nights. Lots of areas to do your shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

The location of the hotel was very convenient, within walking distance from the metro station and all the touristic sites. Rooms were nothing fancy but were very clean and spacious. Free wi-fi is great. Staff was polite and helpful and did their best to provide us with all the information we needed. Breakfast was as well adequate. We really enjoyed our stay and if we have the chance to revisit Athens, will stay at Ilion hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hotel is right in the city center, it was really handy, all the main attractions, shops, restaurants are within a short walk.
We 've stayed for 5 nights. The first night we stayed in a room on the 7th floor with balcony viewing the main street ( and Acropolis from our window ! ). However, since we are light sleepers we asked reception to change us to a backside room. Dora at the reception was very helpfull and made the change immediately. Rooms are large enough and very clean. Breakfast had many options, we loved greek yogurt! Would choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We chose this hotel as we were a family with kids, looking for a * cheap * short * stay and were able to get an apartment like room (2 rooms + bathroom) with a balcony for less than €100 a night.

We knew following reviews on TripAdvisor and other forums that the area is not the best, but we felt secure and the hotel was located 50m from the underground station and both sightseeing buses had a stop there which was very convenient. You are 1 stop from a major square north at the north side of the Plaka and 3 stops from the Acropolis. Note that walking to the Plaka is just shy of 30min and probably (didn't try) ~1h to the Acropolis.

A part from the price, easy location and free wifi I can't further praise the hotel. Not all the staff in reception understood English and breakfast was not great. Value for money - probably it is.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Omonia
Diros Hotel
Diros Hotel
#178 of 333 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Omonia
Mirabello Hotel
Mirabello Hotel
#116 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#99 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Alassia Hotel
Alassia Hotel
#244 of 333 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 6 in Voula
2.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Omonia
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#144 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilion

Property: Hotel Ilion
Address: 7 Agiou Konstadinou | Omonia sq., Athens 104 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilion 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Ilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing