We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was sure that I had written this review already but somehow it disappeared...

This hotel is truly worth a review because it is spectacular! if you're looking for a funky, out-of-the-box place to stay, then this is the place for you. The art displayed all over the hotel is simply brilliant and makes you want to explore each inch of the hotel.

My fiancee and I decided to stay here to celebrate our one year anniversary. We were looking for somewhere that wasn't quite what we'd normally go for (my fiance loves the cheap and cheerful and I love the refurbished modern). We decided to take the subway to the hotel, since there was a bus from the airport to a nearby station. When we exited at Omonia Station on to a large square, there was a group of about 20 to 30 people (including someone in a wheelchair) engaged in a brawl. We hurried past them as quickly as we could, noticing a lot of sketchy-looking people as we walked by. The hotel was about a 3 minute walk from the station and we were so put off by the area that we were wondering if we'd made a mistake in our choice.

We stepped into the hotel and it was like stepping into a different world. There was someone to welcome us when we walked in and the decor was beautiful.The hotel staff is lovely and friendly, and they were very helpful when we had questions on where to go or what to do. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern.

Unfortunately, the Baby Grand borders a very scummy part of Athens - and our window was right across from a derelict building which had very bizarre goings on after dark. We witnessed police brutality, prostitution and drugs addicts right from our window! This was only after dark however, during the day it was all normal people going about their daily business. Please don't let this put you off because Athens is a great place with many beautiful gems to discover and this hotel is truly something not to miss!

Room Tip: If you want a forest motif, go for the fifth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishLovesHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 873 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been going to Greece every year for the last 5 years. We are a family of four-2 young kids aged 7 & 11. We stay in Athens for one night either side of our trip after visiting the islands. Upon our return, we always stay at the Baby Grand Hotel. The kids love this place for its character designed rooms. Our favourite is the Smurf room along with the interconnecting room beside it. The staff always remember us when we book which makes checking in a smooth transition. Breakfast is very good with lots of choice. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. We have never experienced noise from the street. The location is perfect for shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. The area is not as rough as other reviews described. The location is in a busy part of town with your usual walks of life. Just be cautious of your belongings and run ins with beggars as with any big city. Definitely recommend for families with young and older kids seeking a modern chic hotel!

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms. All rooms have different art murals on the walls which are int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After a day of walking through food markets and visiting Athens' wonderful piles of old stones, we returned to our hotel for an ouzo and there, in the bar, a fashion photo shoot was just starting up. The model was posing, the photog's assistant was light-metering and we were lounging. It was such a Euro-moment. The staff are kind and quick. The rooms are funky and not a sightline in the place is boring. Wouldn't stay longer than a couple of days, though. That sort of superficial flash is interesting but one can only take it for so long...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

You will either love it or hate this hotel.
The inside could only be describe as zesty with a classical twist.
Some rooms are traditional in decor, some are more modern and could almost be described as 'arty'.
I prefer the classical room and requested one.
The lobby in the first floor is very 'cool'. It has 2 mini's as desks! Breakfast was simple and healthy.. No lard in site.
Some people will hate the classical side such as the bar and the breakfast room.
Others will love the bright dining area (Orange, yellow and think green windows) and led lit elevators and monkey in the entrance hall.
The area around the hotel is hit and miss too, it's like any city hotel, take the 'rough' area's with the smooth.
It basically goes like this,, if you stand outside the hotel to your left it starts to turn into non-tourist area and to the eye it may look 'rough'.
To your right it starts to pick up and takes you too the nicer areas.
Oh and I still do not under the opening times of the shops in Greece!

Room Tip: If you like a traditional room then ask for one, if you like it zesty and different then ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. great service, lovely bar area and lovely rooms. It was a bit noisy at night though

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muinteoir9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Firstly, the foyer and rooms are quite pleasant and it is easily one of the better hiotels in Greece (this is not saying much).
We stayed here at the beginning and end of our vacation and it was very adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were quite helpful (once you find them located on the second floor - how odd!). People seemed to admire the graffiti in their rooms but we did not have any, which we were quite pleased about. However,we did have a chuckle at the Tintin painting on the fourth floor (at least we hope it was Tintin).
On the one hand, location was within safe walkinbg distance to the placa, however after around 6:00pm, unsavoury characters (prostitutes, junkies, dealers and seedy vendors) seem to populate the surrounding streets and roads. Be careful walking around unaccompanied as people will try to foist heroin on you.
Overall, good experience, but know where you are going once you leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking toward the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the grafittis are even more fun. We had a suite as we traveled with our children and they loved the Smurfs on the walls. The room was fully decorated for them with fun red and green chairs for each of them. The seperation also gave us privacy and allowed us not to have to go to bed as early as kids did.
In the last minute, we added my mom to the reservation so the suite they set us up in had 2 bedrooms (1 for kids and 1 for us) and a connecting room for my mom which worked out great for all of us.
The staff was ultra friendly, the bar was small and quiet but enough to have a drink before bed. and just like anywhere else in Greece, what kids and grandparents want, kids and grandparents get.....

Room Tip: Call for reservation, they are very helpful and rates were cheaper than online reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VA2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel

Address: 65 Athinas & Lykourgou Str., Athens 10551, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $106 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Athens downtown, Grecotel Pallas Athena is a place where luxury and feeling at home interweave to create a new hospitality experience: an art boutique hotel for luxurious downtown living. This luxury hotel is ideally located in the city’s historical center, next to Athens Town Hall just a short walk from Acropolis and the New Acropolis museum, the old city (Plaka) and most of Athens sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Grand Athens
Hotel Baby Grand
Baby Grand Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing