We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but needs a update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand but needs a update”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Nicest hotel I stayed in during my time in Athens. The paint job is sloppy, carpets needed to change or at least steamed (there were stained areas). It is a fun hotel, the paintings on the wall are interesting, but it wore off very quickly. I feel like for the price, we could have found something just as nice for a lot less $

But... There beds are super super comfortable, slept well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debthedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    266
    63
    20
    9
See reviews for
142
393
41
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

If you check out their website and photos you should have a pretty good idea if you are going to like the hotel. If you don't like pictures of Tintin and dragons on the walls, mini cooper cars for the reception desk and gnomes in the room, then this is not for you. That said, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Location great - walking distance, for us, to the Natl museum and Acropolis. Very short walk from Omonoia metro station to and from airport: Breakfast had an excellent choice of hot and cold dishes, coffees and juices. That caused an etymological problem: if breakfast is the first meal of the day and dinner the main meal, what was this: breakfast or dinner? Rooms not large but then this is central Athens and we did not notice the size when asleep. Near to mayor's office so strikes/protests occasionally closed street to cars but not a problem to walk.

Room Tip: check for discounts. we had 3 night, 1 free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wqxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Very nice hotel, excellent service from the staff. Rooms were clean and very well furnished. Nice spacious bathrooms, including hair dryer. Close to all the main sights of Athens. The free wifi was a big plus for me. The location was fine, but I was in a big group and rarely walked alone. Easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaoJao38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Baby Grand was initially chosen for accomodation in Athens for its' whimsical characteristics. However arriving there and starting right from the entrance, I must admit I have not seen anywhere in the world a hotel whereby the entrance is actually via the breakfast room!!! I had to enter, walk out and re- enter the premises twice, walked round half the block, to ensure I hadn't missed any other possible proper entrance, only to end up walking inside the empty breakfast room sometime during early afternoon. There was absolutely no one there, and so I ended up calling at someone from within the kitchen for assistance to direct me to the reception area, which was up one level at the mezzanine. There is no lobby at the Baby Grand, and the reception area is much smaller than what it looks on the website photos. I sat for a while in the bar area, which was also completely empty, but a cleaning lady vaccuming. There is absolutely no ambience reflecting in a rather wannabe design bar area.
As fot the rooms, those are attractive through their graffitti inspired drawings on the walls, but seeing them from near, again they are not as impressive as they seem in the website. The rooms are also extremelly small, hence the suites would be a much better choice. The service in general was good throughout my stay there. The biggest disadvantage of course is the location. During the evenings especially, the area is hardly a cultural pot, and neither provides means for a pleasant stroll in Athens. On the contrary, around the area one feels extremelly at risk, and personal safety is definetely not guaranteed. This is one of the contradictions of new, hip hotels in Athens. Despite their efforts to shine through a new generation of design hotels in Greece, they often remain in the mercy of the "ghettoish" surroundings. There is still vast room for improvement in the hotel industry in a city like Athens, and Baby Grand although making the effort to be unique, is somehow still trying to get there.

Room Tip: Choose a suite, rooms are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohi412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the Baby Grand for 4 nights in April; we arrived late at night and were upgraded into a suite - very pleasant surprise! The staff is very friendly (although sometimes not too savvy when we asked them for directions), rooms are clean and well-equipped - nothing to complain!

Location-wise, it is located near the Omonia metro station, but we didn't even use the metro to get to the main attractions - it is a pleasant walk to get to the center. We arrived at Syntagma square late at night and walked to the hotel from there, and experienced no safety issues at all. There are lots of bars and restaurants in proximity.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel is very close to two metro stations and is situated in the city centre. It was excellent in terms of cleanliness, service and staff. The breakfast was impressive, both in variety and quality. The bedroom and bathroom were quite spacious, but the sleep quality rather average. The hotel is located in a rather unsafe neighbourhood, and you must be very careful when walking around, especially during the night. It is recommended to rent a taxi for the night out. But anyway, if you are a group of 3-4 people, the neighbourhood wouldn't be such a problem to walk around, even during the night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eledem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Nice cozy curious hotel in a dump area in the city center of Athens.
Beware of drug addict people nearby, especially during the night..

The hotel staff is always serving the guests at their best.

i would recommend it, but mainly for vacations and tourism.

Nearest metro station: OMONOIA
Acropolis: 500 m, reachable with a good long walk

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StepfromItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,275 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,046 reviews
Hilton Athens
#23 of 326 in Athens
3,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel

Property: Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Address: 65 Athinas & Lykourgou Str., Athens 10551, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Athens downtown, Grecotel Pallas Athena is a place where luxury and feeling at home interweave to create a new hospitality experience: an art boutique hotel for luxurious downtown living. This luxury hotel is ideally located in the city’s historical center, next to Athens Town Hall just a short walk from Acropolis and the New Acropolis museum, the old city (Plaka) and most of Athens sights and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Grand Athens
Hotel Baby Grand
Baby Grand Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing