We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Plaka Area”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #3 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Our recent trip to Athens proved a big hit with our family, which included two teenagers, 14 & 16. The AVA Hotel provided all it promised, although the acropolis view was a little disappointing. Maybe other rooms offered better views. Nonetheless, the location was great, rooms were clean and had good facilities. As a family run business the owners take much pride in their hotel and looking after guests. This hotel maybe a little more expensive that others, but definitely worth it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jsbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2006

What an amazing hotel. We stayed at the Ava in August and I can honestly say that the warmth and hospitality of the staff (especially Eleni & Maria) at the Ava really made our stay in Athens unforgettable. The rooms were huge, the bathroom spectacular and the view from our balcony was unbelievable, to our left there was Hadrian's arch and to our right the Acropolis. The location of Ava was also a bonus, just a few metres walk from the shops of plaka and only a metro stop away form Syndagma square. Our time at Ava was great and we will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank toleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed at the AvA hotel in August for 10 days and loved it!
The hotel is just as others described it.We were in a family room for 5 people which had interconnecting doors to separate the bedrooms.The staff were very helpful,nothing was too much trouble for them.The location is excellent and we could see the Acropolis from our balcony which by the way is only a 10 minutes walk away.As hotel owners ourselves of a hotel in Florence Italy, we were not dissapointed.the rooms were very clean and well looked after.We highly recommend it and thanks to all the staff !.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MRXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

The AVA Hotel is really a set of Executive Apartments, and great for those who are repeat visitors to Athens. The location on Lysikratous Street is quiet, by Athens standards, and the upper level units have balconies with north views to Hadrian's Arch and the Temple of Zeus, and south views to the Acropolis.

The double beds are extremely comfortable, and bathrooms are large with modern shower stalls. The kitchenettes are great for making coffee, tea, or light meals.

The hotel does not have a full service restaurant, though the breakfast bufffet is ample and the dining area bright and cheerful. There are several banks and ATMs nearby for changing money, as this is a service the AVA does not provide. Staff is very helpful and pleasant.

The location in the Plaka is ideal for tourists and business people. The Akropolis Metro station is just two blocks away, with connections all over Athens and to the airport. The fabulous Daphne's restaurant is also conveniently just steps away.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank FQTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We're a couple with niece and friend (in early 20s) in tow. We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights starting our July/Aug trip to Europe (next: Santorini, Rome, Paris). The location was excellent, and the rooms large, clean and quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff (typical of the people we met in Greece). Buses for day trips a 10 minute walk from the hotel; Plaka District, Acropolis, Temple of Zeus and much more nearby. It was a great start of a fun trip!

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank Dave&Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Despite the fact that it is a small hotel and the wording of "apartments" is stretched, the staff more than make up for any shotcomings. Maria and Helena at the front desk go out of thier way to make you feel at home, and are a wealth of info on anything Greek. The willingness of these two ladies to respond to any request was remarkable, and made my stay enjoyable. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marcos54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

With all these glowing reviews what more can we say. Our family stayed in a triple room for three days in July 2006. The hotel is great and the location, on the edge of the Plaka, is absolutely perfect.

If the hotel is too pricey for you, try to find something else in the Plaka or south of the Acropolis. We wandered through the Omonia Square area, where there are many budget hotels, and the atmosphere was nothing compared to the Plaka.

We'll definitely stay at the AVA Hotel next time we are in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,887 reviews
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 281 in Athens
133 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $178 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing