We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Great Service”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Service”
Reviewed September 12, 2008

AVA Hotel & Suites is in a perfect location in Athens. It is in the city centre in the Plaka district, only a five minute walk from the Acropolis, 3 minutes from a metro station, and right beside the Plaka pedestrian streets which are full of great shops and restaurants.
The hotel room was huge and spotless. When they learned that we were on our honeymoon, they upgraded us to the executive suite and even brought us a bottle of Champagne. The staff were very friendly and willing to answer any questions that we had.
We will deifintely stay at AVA if we choose to visit Athens in the future and have already recommended it to friends who are travelling there very soon.

  • Liked — Location & Service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MattR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    231
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
385
901
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kortenberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This hotel is a great find. Every aspect of our stay was excellent. Our suite was spacious, clean and well appointed with free internet access. The views of Acropolis, Hadrian Arch and Temple of Zeus from the balcony of our suite were majestic. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for them. But above all the location was ideal and unique. In the very centre of the old Athens and steps away of the all restaurants, cafes and shops of the lively Plaka. Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely yes.

  • Liked — beach and sun
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

First of all the location of this hotel is absolutely wonderful. Plaka is a great area, with many things to see and do. We stayed in a spacious apartment with very nice view of Handrian Arch/ temple of Zeus on our left and of Acropolis to the right. The apartment was really well maintained and clean. The staff made us very welcome, always offering help and advising where to go, what to do. Breakfast was nice, with variety of fresh fruits, giving us a good start every morning. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — location and desk stuff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sutaiwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

It was the first night of our honeymoon on our way to the islands.

We were upgraded to a suite which was big, comfortable and clean with a huge balcony.

When they found out it was our honeymoon, they gave us complimentary champagne and chocolates.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location is great for a short stay because it is close to all the main attractions and restaurants.

  • Liked — The huge balcony with a nice view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luke_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Loved the location of this clean and bright Athens hotel - staff also very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LarKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I truly believe that the high rating this hotel got on this website is the result of some insider manipulation or fraud. Either that or my experience has been singularly disappointing.

Having returned for a 10 day trip through greece I can say that this was hands down the most unfriendly, overhyped and overpriced hotel room we stayed. And we stayed in a wide range of prices from 140 to 330 euro/night. Not to mention that the shower was broken and that the shower floor was covered in the dental floss and hair of the people who stayed there before us.

They claim great views of the Acropolis. Nothing could be further from the truth. You catch a glimpse of the back of the rock but I got better views from street corners.

They claim friendly staff. What staff? I don't believe that there were more than 2 people on staff at any time. This is a tiny hotel in a former apartment building, so I understand the need to maintain minimal staff, but when you have the only one receptionists happily chatting away in Greek on the phone for 7 minutes while you have a line of four (4) people waiting to be serviced, small staff can be a problem.

It was 250 euros a night - which is a lot given that the room resembled the cold perfection of a corporate conference room.

Location is great, but there are tons of hotels around the area. We moved after a night at Ava to the Athens Gate hotel across the street, which at half the price had similar rooms. Unlike at Ava where we had to wait uncomfortably long to check in, at Athens Gate they were very apologetic for a 10 minute delay and served us complimentary drinks on the rooftop garden with an unbelievable view of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank AlexandruNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We booked here based on TripAdvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. Friendliest staff imaginable -- ideal location -- large room and excellent bathroom -- quiet street yet quite close to the Plaka "action." When we planned to visit the Parthenon early in the morning (July was extremely hot!), the hotel staff arranged to provide us with breakfast a half-hour before the usual starting time.

Definitely take advantage of their fixed-price arrangement for airport transport - cheaper than standard fares, even if you can even prevail upon the average taxi driver to respect the published rates.

Plenty of pleasant restaurants nearby, with great outdoor dining (several offer spectacular views of the Akropolis). Let the hotel staff advise you. We concur with all the positive comments entered by others on this site.

Don't hesitate to use public transit from here to see other parts of Athens; several bus lines run along the major avenue a half-block away, and the Akropolis subway station is a short stroll from the hotel.

  • Liked — Location, staff, room size and amenities
  • Disliked — Air conditioning outlet directly over bed.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lever212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,201 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing