We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, comfort and service”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 2, 2014

One of the downside of choosing one the trip advisor top ranked hotel in a city is that is becomes difficult to write an original review. This is the case for the AVA hotel in Athens.

Let’s just say that we had an excellent stay there in October. The location is excellent as you can easily reach on foot most of the main touristic attractions. Our suites was very comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. If there is one thing which was not absolutely up to par with the rest, it would be the shower which was rather "ordinary" with a single standard hand held shower head with limited water pressure,

In one word you will not be disappointed if you choose the AVA Hotel for your stay in Athens

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

I selected the hotel based on the TA ratings and comments. It held up to it reputation and them some. The staff are amazing….helpful, cheerful and a complete delight. The rooms are very well equipped. Or room on the 3rd floor had a view of Hadrian's Gate/Temple of Zeus on one side and the Acropolis on the other. Take the breakfast option. It is so fresh. We sat outside on the balcony to enjoy the food and the views. Can't wait to return to this hotel and this City!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. You pay a few Euros more but it's well worth it. 3rd floor too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CAtrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We visited the Ava Hotel once again this year (2013-2014). It hasn't changed; it's as excellent as ever. What more can I say? The room was specious and convenient; the breakfast was excellent; the staff were very welcoming; the location was very convenient. We'd certainly like to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were looked after with special attention, even remembering our names and requests without any hassles at all. The room was upgraded to a suite and it was a beautiful room. The only down side was that the shower was a little small for a suite but the overall expansion of space and comfort within the rooms provided was wonderful. The service from all staff including the cleaners was always friendly and happy, and nothing was too difficult, they aimed to please you and they certainly did. The position was great, within walking distance to everything in the plaka, including sights, and restaurants. Breakfast provided was ample and many choices given. The price was excellent ...staying out of season is always a bonus, but the service and quality of rooms provided cannot be commended any more higher.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Athens for any reason at all.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LyndellandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent a night at the Ava hotel and enjoyed our stay. We were checked in by Stavros who was very pleasant. We upgraded our room which was a little pricey but we were completely satisfied. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable. We had aview of the Acropolis and Hadrian's Arch on our large spacious balcony, a great place to sit in the morning and take in the breathless view. The location is right in the centre of all the sights and action but it is pleasantly quiet.The entire staff were very friendly, the one that stood out the most was Vasiliki, she was at our beck and call our entire stay and made us feel special. We included the breakfast when we booked the room and it was worth the money. In addition to the breads, sausage, bacon, cereal, yoghurt etc, there were a vast assortment of fresh fruit and dried fruit. Vasiliki made sure the freshly squeezed orange juice was well stocked. Nina was also very helpful at check- out and gave us a lot of information on what to do. Ava Hotel, your staff is above all hotels. Thank you!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed this hotel 2 years ago with my family(wife&2kids)for 3 days.we Realy enjoyed it and i wanted to share it on tripadvisor as im just new here.
If you like to stay in a good location&clean hotel it sould be this one.

Hava a good day

Room Tip: Family suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent a lot of time trying to work out where we should stay in Athens. We put our faith in the TripAdvisor reviews and chose AVA Hotel. The location is absolutely ideal for seeing the main sites - the acropolis is effectively just beyond one end of the street, and Hadrian's Arch is at the other. But the stand out difference with this hotel is the service - the staff were absolutely fantastic and made every effort to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank methvengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 285 in Athens
151 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 285 in Athens
3,310 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 285 in Athens
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $166 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing