We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but nothing special.”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The AVA is a decent hotel and I had a decent stay there, but there really is nothing very special about it. It's on a street directly in the old Plaka so you can walk to almost everything. I stayed on a lower floor and my "great view of the Acropolis" was only of the wall supporting the Acropolis complex, not the Parthenon, and was ONLY seen from the balcony, not the room itself. My Executive Suite was very plain and needed an overhaul of the furniture. It had a small kitchenette and a "living" area which was separate from the bedroom, which I liked. No coffee makers in the room. The bathroom was very large but with a small shower in the corner with curved doors, which was strange considering they could've made it larger and more comfortable with all that space. The bath decor, with it's dated blue tiles, was ugly. Everything was very clean and the front desk staff and breakfast staff were very, very helpful and friendly. I did not dislike this hotel and would stay here again if I had to, I just was surprised that it's ranked number #1 on TripAdvisor and probably would've liked it more if I wasn't expecting much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChipTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this fantastic hotel in May 2013 only for one night. It is centrally located in a quiet area of the Plaka district and within walking distance from all major sights, shops and restaurants. Since we visited the Acropolis at a previous occasion, we just took a walk all the way around the foot of the Acropolis Hill, which resulted in great views of the Acropolis as well as other historical sights which one can easily miss.
We had the choice to upgrade to an executive suite at a minimal fee. This resulted in us having a large suite with a living room, kitchen, bedroom and balcony with a view of the Acropolis to the one side and Hadrians’s Arch to the other side. We also received a bottle of French champagne and strawberries as a welcome gift. We truly felt like royalty as we sipped our champagne as the sun set behind the Acropolis.
The service was great, breakfast was fantastic and the suite quite superb!
We would definitely stay in the Ava Hotel if we visit Athens again and can recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel with style, but not stuffy.

Room Tip: The executive suite has a living room, kitchen, bedroom and balcony with a view of the Acropolis to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiekahiekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful 2 week vacation in Europe...We kicked off the trip in Athens and AVA was my choice to stay among all the hotels in Athens based on other reviews here on TripAdvisor.com
Their were 3 people total in our reservation and we selected one of the suites. We couldn't have been more pleased with the size of the room...knowing most european rooms are not as big as american rooms. The room was very clean and really enjoyed the kitchenette...with the fridge and nice little balcony in the back. The hotel is really in such a great location...right in the Plaka and the staff (Stavros and Nick) couldn't have been nicer helping suggest restaurants and setting up transportation. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuck72883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a really nice and very well maintained hotel. It is in a fantastic location for visiting both the Acropolis and the excellent new museum and is within easy walking distance of Syntagma Square and the National Gardens. We stayed in a spacious, beautifully decorated triple suite with a large bathroom and a balcony. It was also a real bonus to have a kitchenette complete with fridge. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times, I would thoroughly recommend the AVA hotel and would certainly plan to book it again when I return to Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for two night prior to boarding a cruise ship. We had a spacious suite with views of the Temple of Zeus and Hadrian's Arch from the balcony in one direction and the Acropolis in the other. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location is excellent - right in the middle of The Plakka and within easy walking distance of all of the main historical sights. Breakfast was very good - the bacon in particular. We also were given a complimentary bottle of Champagne on arrival because we had "liked" the hotel on Facebook. Altogether a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesMulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Reasonable prices, HUGE room with kitchen for european standards, nice decor, in the heart of Athens so no car rental is needed, staff is BEYOND helpful, made to order breakfast. My husband and I can not say enough about this wonderful hotel. From the moment we checked in (we were greeted with a bottle of chilled champagne in our room) to the moment we left (4am with a special taxi to fit all of us and our luggage); Maria (hotel manager), Demitria, Petros and the many other staff members made our stay a dream. Keep up the great service AVA!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in one of the exclusive suites on the top floor. I don't regret the extra expense. By European hotel standards, the room is enormous. The bathroom is great too, with a gargantuan shower head.

This hotel is right in the middle of all the action, but tucked nicely away on a side street. It is wonderfully quiet at night, but only a few minutes walk to all the great restaurants etc. in the Plaka . I've only visited Athens one time, but found this hotel to be the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Exclusive suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toposophic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $172 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing