We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel in Athens”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 27, 2013

you would be hard pressed to find a better (tourist) hotel in Athens. we had a small suite with kitchenette (which was great since we kept buying olives and Fine Wine is just up the street). the staff are fantastic - super accommodating and constantly go out of their way to ensure your happiness. altho we never took them up on the offer of cooked breakfast goodies, the cold buffet was more than adequate anyway.

definitely, you could find cheaper places to stay in Athens (esp right now) but the price is actually correct at AVA for what you get. bed was super comfy, good aircon and good size (reminder we did have a 'suite'). only complaint on the room was that the showers was teeny - one of those curved door jobs. but everything worked 100%.

location is *amazing* you are "in" Plaka - took us all of 5 mins to get to the entrance to the Acropolis - but not IN amongst all the touristy crapp - just around the corner from it so when you hit your street on the way back to the hotel it's with a small sigh of relief. there is even a laundromat :) just down the street which we made use of since we were on a long-ish trip.

also, WiFi worked well. no gym, but doubt this is v. standard in Athens (if you need that 'full services' experience then go to the Bretagne)

Room Tip: did not check out the standard rooms but would recommend a suite if you will be there more than 2 ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johkollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We took a suite at this hotel and were delighted. The rooms were excellent and the staff couldn't have been better. Some of the local hotel reviews mention the Plaka area, we found that there is a side to Plaka that is more commercial, modern and can seem less welcoming. The AVA hotel is in the traditional part, very close to the attractions and we found some beautiful hidden restaurants full of locals which had amazing food and friendly atmospheres. The hotel staff can direct you to them. Easy to get to public transport and of course taxis are everywhere. A great base for enjoying Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Clean, fresh, and quiet. Nicely appointed rooms and bath within an easy walk to the Hadrian's Arch, Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, and the National Gardens. Professional staff always courteous, helpful, and efficient. Very accomplished hoteliers. Quite pleased.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet. Kitchenette works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the AVA Hotel for three days while we saw the sights near the Acropolis. We travelled with our daughter and a friend so wanted to stay in one room. We were able to get a suite with two separate sleeping areas which was perfect for our situation. The room was beautiful with many nice touches. The staff was friendly and helpful. The one night we splurged on room service, the food was delicious and very reasonable. We even found complimentary champagne on our arrival. I will definitely stay there again if we return to the Plaka neighborhood. Perfect location and perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgthompson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The service in the hotel and the quality of the room were just wonderful. Apart from this, the most notable characteristics of the hotel are its good location and the great view from the balconies of the frontside rooms (which are suites and which are very spacious). We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FP v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel was centrally located like a lot of reviewers say, within walking distance of everything you would want to see. The room was spacious, with plenty of room to put your luggage and move around. It was very clean, and also had a little kitchen/sink area that I could have ate breakfast in if I so choose. Out the door, you could see the Acropolis and all the sites were really close. Took the train from the airport, and although it was a little confusing to get to the stop, once there the hotel was easy to find. The one draw back on my room was the shower, I'm not a big person and still it was tight to shower in. The rest of the bathroom was large, just the shower small.
As for the service, one of the better hotels I've stayed in. Very friendly staff, very helpful, especially Dimitra who was working that night.

All in all a good experience, and I would definitely stay here again if I was back in Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this place is not worth it.
Stay at New Hotel in Plaka instead.

Good location but outside of that I don't understand how this hotel has done well in trip advisor.

Just a horrible experience overall.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank goweri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 282 in Athens
141 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $173 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing